We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for purpose.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village to your Saves list
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for purpose.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arriving late at this hotel the receptionist was friendly and pointed us towards the bar where we were just in time to order food from the 'special' bar menu. The bar staff were again very friendly and welcoming and the food was above average (the lamb curry was lush!) Our room was standard double,clean and had lovely views over the common. We would come here again if we need to visit that part of London .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Caroline W, thank you for your review and I am very pleased your stay was enjoyable. I am also pleased you had time to enjoy a drink in our bar and some homemade food. Chef has made a Chicken Korma for tonight - which is in competition with the lamb and mint sauages and mash. Hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    156
    92
    26
    14
See reviews for
85
89
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The first night I had such a small room there was barely enough space for my friend to visit. The room was right on the flight path between the main stairs and the entry door to the first floor which meant there was a lot of bangs through the night but more from 5am onwards. I asked to change room and the staff were really quite helpful. 2nd night asked for a second cup and some tea making supplies. 20 minutes later it still wasn't with us, when I called reception I was told the porter had a lot to do and was very busy, which I don't know why they simply didn't tell me that to start with?? The rooms a very hot! Even with the radiator turned off. Fairly clean but very dated. I'm
Not sure that it was really worth what I paid for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear ladylowlife, thank you for your review. I can see you have mixed comments, but I am pleased to inform you that we will be redecorating our rooms again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When you book a comparatively cheap London hotel, you don't expect to find it bordering a large park within walking distance of a delightful village and some of London's most important attractions. The Clarendon sits adjacent to Blackheath, a few yards from the village which offers a range of independant shops and restaurants, several pubs and belies its place a few miles from central London. Across the park and down the hill is the Cutty Sark (well worth a visit) the Grennwich Observatory and Mritime museum.

From the moment you arrive, the staff at the hotel are helpful and attentive. Rooms are a good size generally clean, thought some of the upholstery had suffered from spillage which had not been thoroughly cleaned. We stayed in the garden wing which was very quiet once the elephants upstairs had been put to bed.

Breakfast was inclusive and set us up in good style for a rigorous day walking in the rain down to the Cutty Sark and across the Thames through the walking tunnel.

This is a hotel we would return to quite happily and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want the views go for the fromt of the hotel, but if you are a light sleeper we suggest the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear OldPierre, thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding area. Blackheath and Greenwich are my 'home town' and I have to say - the beauty, history and charm never tire me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Almost everything was very good. There were plenty of staff in dining room at breakfast time, and an excellent Full English Breakfast with plenty of choice - cerials, fruites, juices, as well as eggs in various ways, bacon, mushrooms etc. etc..
The main downside was the shower - a little sparse on water volume!, especially considering the size of the shower head - (as big as a plate!) - but adequate, and reception staff a little slow to acknowledge the customers awaiting attention.
I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Gunnerpancho, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would return. Blackheath is a gem of a place in busy London. As I write we are currently changing a boiler in the hotel which will result in better presure in the showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent to nights at this hotel for a wedding in London. The staff were nice and helpful. The room was nice but evenwith the heating off it was too warm. The problem with opening the windows was the traffic noise which I accept bearing in mind the location, but what was not exceptable was the noise from other guest between 2 am and 4 am which included the smashing of glasses, banging of doors and screaming at the top of their voices.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear David W
thank you for your review, I am sorry there was outside noise during your stay, I totally agree with your comment and appologise sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took a taxi to the hotel as we had difficulty finding it. The receptionist was efficient but perfunctionary, lacking warmth of welcome. The room had good storage. Although a little dated it gave charm to the room. The bathroom was small but clean.
My favourite part of the hotel was the dining room- crisp linen, pottery teapot and traditional table settings. There was an excellent choice of dishes for any palate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Suelinz
Thank you for your review and for warming to our traditional charm especially the restaurant. Linen is a must for our restaurant tables - breakfast through to dinner. Bare pub tables are ok, but it is so nice to have crisp linen every now and now.
I am sorry our welcome was not warming, your review will be discussed at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Our room was large & clean & had a view over the park, but the bathroom was tiny & the shower had very little water pressure & was, at its hottest lukewarm!. Blackheath village was lovely & has some really nice cafes & shops & a nice farmers market on Sunday

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Fergie 0744
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed Blackheath Village with it's many shops and restaurant. Very impressed also that you visited the farmers market, we love to share this sort of thing with our guests, and support our village.
We do have a floor where the water presure is not maximum. This problem should be eradicated soon as new boilers are currently being fitted in that section, and will improve the pressure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel has 180 bedrooms and overlooks Historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite and facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.