We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Ibis in amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Excel Docklands to your Saves list
Ibis London Excel Docklands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #425 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Classic Ibis in amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a classic ibis, it's good value for money, the rooms are snug but clean, the breakfast is good there is parking and the DLR and jubilee line are a few meters away with all of central London mere minutes away. Only problem is if you are going to fly from London City Airport then it does require a bit off effort if you take the DLR as you have to change once, but even then that is no major problem. I love Ibis hotels, I've used them for years all over Europe. They don't pretend to be any more than they are and for the price they offer a very good stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Roobarb,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. As a frequent user of the ibis network, I am pleased to read that we met your expectations. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    475
    236
    72
    51
See reviews for
142
342
92
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ideal location staying if going to the O2. Easy to check into. Rooms basic, but bathroom felt like a cubicle in a caravan.
Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight - given loads of foreign students staying there.
However, if you want to get to the O2 easily, use the Emirates Air Ride - £3.20 if you have a travelcard and well worht every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered at breakfast and for the fact that you did not enjoy the ibis bathroom. I do, however, hope that we will welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great Service, clean roms, good breakfast and evening meals. A 5 minute walk from the Emirates Airline Cable Car and 5minutes from the Entrance to EXCEL. An hour from the centre of London by DLR. Slight downside is that is underneath the flightpath of City Airport but didn't experience any nightflights in my 2 nights there and room is well sound insulated anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Taras,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights room was guite small but ok . Shower was very good and plenty of hot Walter. Must say I did not sleep very well matriss was a bit hard for me and the rubber sheet had to come off . The breakfast was amazing food was hot and there is plenty of choice . I hope to stay here again but will have to request a softer bed . I had the green tie curry for dinner and my partener had the meat pie very good food

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Rob,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am sorry to read that you did not find the newly installed beds comfortable. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I am pleased that you enjoyed your restaurant experience. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for your second visit.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chosen for the location - next to the Excel Centre - and cheap price. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the place and really excellent customer service from all the staff. Also v comfy bed. Tiny but entirely functional bathroom cubicle - but had already been warned so was expecting this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the ibis product and that the staff looked after you during your stay. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here prior to seeing the Rod Stewart concert at the O2. We travelled there on the cable car which is very close to the hotel, as is the DLR. Nice clean hotel with everything you need for an overnight stay, great shower in the room too. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Wakeford,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fabulous stay at this Hotel - ideally located for events at the Excel but also very easy to get into central London either via the DLR or much more exciting trip via Gondla to the O2 and then a Clipper boat up the Thames - frequent services for both.

We had a triple room with a double and full size single - rooms were cosy, but very clean and modern, and served the purpose of a comfy nights sleep at a very reasonable rate. NB - we only had triple room allocated after I phoned to check on the layout of the room. Our 5 yr old has significant learning difficulties and physical limitations, so not all 2+1 configurations are appropriate - I believe a 2+1 option for this (and other London) Hotel is for under 11s to share their parent's bed which wouldn't have worked for us, so would be worth checking when booking.

Restaurant and bar are nice but there are also plenty of other options in the immediate vicinity, and the Dock is lovely to walk round.

Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jen,
Thank you for choosing ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am very pleased to read that the ibis product met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future. I can strongly recommend you to try the Cable Car, located adjacent the hotel, to the O2 on your next visit for a spectacular view.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#312 Family Hotel in London
#333 Business Hotel in London
#363 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 2*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Excel Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.