We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the excel centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Excel Docklands to your Saves list
Ibis London Excel Docklands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #416 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the excel centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Freindly staff, clean, but the cleaners tend to knock and just walk in. The restaurant service left alot to be desired. Extremely slow and miserable. The hotel itself was in a great location and clean but slightly over priced in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Debbie,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I have taken note of your comments and I will follow up with our housekeeping and restaurant team to rectify these issues. Thank your for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    528
    260
    80
    53
See reviews for
164
380
102
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed here as I was visiting the Excel conference centre, so the location was excellent as it is only 150 metres away. There is parking at the Novotel car park which is literally next door to the Ibis which was reasonably. The DLR stations are also nearby and easily walk able.
There are a number of restaurants locally plus a Nisa shop on the opposite side of the road.
Initial impressions with the reception area were very good.
Overall the hotel is very modern and clean.
Rooms I would say are a bit on the small side, but do the job.
The bathroom featured a shower only no bath which I would say is standard across all.
Overall provides good value and excellent location for the docklands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Helen,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is a comfortable casual, informal hotel, but in the same time reach of business guests there because of the big convention center very close. People is kind and all needed is available, also a very nice little shop where you can buy all you may need of forgot at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a elevate dock side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Maurizio,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent location & service

Very much near to Royal victoria DLR station and Emirares Cable car.

The location and atmosphere of the hotel is excellent and you will never taxi to reach central london.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sankar,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for anothe stay in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went to the Ibis Hotel in Excel this Sunday just gone, the reception area has just been refurbished so your first impression is nice, however the first room i was offered had someone staying in it, that's because they have 2 of every room, they have 2 rooms called 319 (genius i know) when i finally found my actual room (the other 319) it had clothes left around the room, so i went back down and and was offered another room on the second floor, which was a twin room! it as so old it had chip paper on the walls, everything was cheap and old, the bathroom (which is basically a closet) stunk. The wifi is run by orange and is expensive and doesn't work.
I left after just 10 mins in the room and did a receive a refund, a premier inn would be a far better choice, i ended up staying at the 4 star Novetel Hotel next door which was far far better.

Room Tip: Don't bother, its a hole!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spotless room and bathroom. Twin beds a little on the small size (2' 8") but fine for a night or two. Great view if you get a riverside room. Breakfast was very good - plenty available and a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the ibis product and our breakfast offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another stay.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed again following the major refurb of ground floor areas and pleased to say that it provides a much better look and feel.
Great service from all staff especially the bar staff who worked amazingly hard dealing with the large number of guests arriving at once following the end of the premier darts event. Their efficiency and great service kept the atmosphere friendly and convivial and avoided creating an unfriendly environment.
Rooms are basic but efficient but should really have some better amenities. Does shampoo really cost that much that it cant be provided in the room?? Wifi should at least be free in common areas.
The hotel is ideal for the excel and the O2 and if you can get the budget prices it certainly offers value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear ReggaeLondon,
Thank you for choosing ibis London ExCeL-Docklands and I am delighted your positive comments about our newly refurbished areas; that the staff looked after you and met your expectations during a very busy event.
As for WiFi, I am pleased to announce that our network is being upgraded within the next couple of weeks in order to offer this service as part of our product. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#319 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 2*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Excel Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.