We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay at Ibis again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Excel Docklands to your Saves list
Ibis London Excel Docklands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #427 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Will not stay at Ibis again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Just been to the boat show at excel, booked online a week prior to he stay.
Got to reception and was told that the booking had not got through and would have to rebook. Was told that booking at the reception desk would cost £10 more that my online booking was costing. The receptionist was working on a computer which the guy should be able to book me in at the same price. I did feel conned and I was not the only one that this happened to.
Will not stay at an Ibis hotel again, the hotel next door (Novotel) where our breakfast was served was very nice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    473
    235
    72
    51
See reviews for
142
340
92
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wimborn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Never rated a hotel so low before and don't do it lightly. Just returned from one night at the London Boatshow and was appalled that they hadn't bothered to let us know that there was major building work going on…. like the whole of the communal areas were out of use. There isn't even a chair in reception to sit on and wait for a cab.

The whole Ibis experience is cheap and nasty … but this wasn't cheap so I definitely wasn't impressed. You don't want to book early as the rates get progressively cheaper the nearer to your date of departure.

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Novotel or Crown Plaza if you can or definitely don't pay over the odds fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during this important works to provide an ever better product and ambiance to our guests in the future.
I appreciate the fact that we do not have a bar and restaurant and our public areas are limited however our rooms are not affected as they have recently undergone refurbishment.
I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the ibis bedroom product. As the Novotel is in the same building we are offering all our guests to make use of their bar and restaurant as well as offering breakfast. With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nts when going to a concert at the 02 Arena. Perfectly located for that as it is a couple of mins to Boris's Cable Car which is a great way to get to the 02, especially in clear weather - excellent views. Easy to get back to the hotel by Tube. Again just a few mins walk away.

Also so convenient for visiting the Greenwich area. Cable car across the river then a couple of mins walk to the pier for Thames Clipper to the Cutty Sark, and on into London if desired.

Good views of the dock area, a couple of restaurants nearby but of course spoilt for choice in the 02 complex.

You know what to get in an Ibis hotel, basic but comfortable for a couple of nights. Very clean, great shower and comfortable bed. Hot drink facilities in the room.

This particular Ibis is obviously used a lot by Continental Coach Tour groups due to it's excellent location. It was also the weekend of the Sports Personality of the Year at the Excel Centre, a hop, skip & jump away from the hotel! So, breakfast was extremely busy but it was fun listening to the excited visitors around us. Food was topped up regularly so only had to wait a couple of mins once for more milk.

Room Tip: View of the docks if possible otherwise all rooms very standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. It is always a pleasure to read that our value for money exceeded your expectations and that your enjoyed a hassle free stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ibis Excel Docklands for the first weekend in January.

The hotel is located just around the corner from the Royal Victoria DLR station and the Emirates Skyline cable car which makes it perfect for not only the O2 and Excel but also commuting to central London.

The hotel itself is typically Ibid standard, no frills clean and basic. The beds are not the most comfortable being firm but are adequate for a few night stay. The staff are friendly and seem genuinely interested in ensuring you enjoy your stay.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment of the ground floor (bar and restaurant area). This means breakfast is offered at near half price rates at the neighbouring novotel. Good quality with plenty of choice. My advice however is to avoid the areas overpriced restaurants and venture off. We took a short trip to Woolich Arsenal and found a cheap and cheerful Wetherspoons which served our requirements nicely.

On the whole, if travelling on a budget, this hotel comes recommended. If you can stretch it a little, it may be worth paying extra and staying at the neighbouring Novotel or Crown Plaza for the extra comfort.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you during your visit.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here between 3rd and 5th January. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We went to watch Walking with Dinosaurs at the O2 arena which was quick and easy to get to in the cable cars. The room was clean and we had no problems. We only paid £44 a night so it was very good value. Our only complaint would be that on the day we were checking out we were woken 3 times by the maids. There was no 'do not disturb' sign in the room. The 3rd maid to come to the door asked us what time we were checking out which we found a bit rude as surely she could have just waited the 40 minutes until the check out time. Other than that we had a lovely stay. It's easy to get anywhere as the DLR is only a short walk from the hotel. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Bronya,
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for the O2 and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Nevertheless, I will address the issues you encountered with regards to the maids as this does not reflect our normal standards of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for four days over the New Year period.I booked the room with hotels.com.The hotel was easy to find at docklands in the Excel area.trains stop near the hotel it is only a 5 minumte walk away from the station which is the DLR link from the Jubilee line.on arrival the staff were pleasant and we were in our room on the top floor with a fantastic view over the Dock within minutes.the room was clean,airy and had all amenties of a good hotel room.as i booked it arly we had a good deal financially .All round very pleased .

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room on the left and you get a great view of the docks .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Katrina,
Thank you for your positive comments about ibis London ExCeL-Docklands and I am pleased to read that both our product and services exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

as expected for the price. Sytetic carpet but clean, good location for Excel!! What do yo expect in central London for the price? Very good for the money and as totall as expected.

Does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kristian,
I am pleased to read that you found our hotel good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#309 Family Hotel in London
#333 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 2*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Excel Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.