We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Excel Docklands to your Saves list
Ibis London Excel Docklands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #422 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August. Ibis I find is one of those chains which in reality does what it says on the tin. The hotel was clean and comfortable and was a good price. There was certainly nothing to complain about apart from the air coniditioning not working properly but it was nothing special. It is in an excellent location and the area is quiet in general when there is nothing happening at the Excel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sallywt,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis ExCeL-Docklands in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    478
    239
    72
    51
See reviews for
143
346
93
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the paralympics. The transport was excellent but not sure how this applies the rest of the time. We had a slightly bumpy check in, thanks to the guy saying we are very full so I'm struggling to find you rooms. What he actually meant was they don't allocate rooms until check in and as we had booked 2 rooms he was struggling to find 2 near each other. We ended up on the same floor but not that near each other. Not a problem for all adults but probably good we had no small children! The rooms were ok but I've had better for less (again inflated prices for paralympics makes hard to truly judge). The rooms did have much better views than most hotels though.
We had paid for breakfast which I would recommend. It is buffet style with hot and hold selection with ample choice. The foo is also good quality. We saw a menu for the restaurant service later whih also looked reasonably priced and nice food! We also had a lovely walk along the rivet after breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Cordy Senior,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands.
We value the feedback from our guests in order to share these experiences with our staff in order to maintain our standards of service and product. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to ibis in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Good value for money, staff were first class!! They were very helpfull!!Rooms clean!! Bed very comfortably. Although could do with a couple of hand towel in rooms along with bath towels.. Location ideal.. I would stay again, will recommend it my friends...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Ibis Excel-Docklands. The team will be pleased to read your compliments. Look forward to welcoming you and your friends during your next visit back to London.

Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good clean hotel. Paid more than usual price due to Paralympic. Would return as would be cheaper and although out the city it is close to transport into city. Cable car just down the road to go to O2. Nice safe environment. Breakfast cheap and plenty of choice. Friendly staff. Rooms very basis but clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you found your stay enjoyable at Ibis Excel-Docklands. Our team will be happy to hear your compliments. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend as we were visiting Canary Wharf and it proved the perfect location. Very handy for Canary Wharf and DRL station for travelling around. The rates we got were very reasonable and the quality of the hotel was good for a budget hotel. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff were curtious and efficient. We parked our car on site and were only charged £7.50 for 24 hours.

If you are staying in Docklands I wold definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear HolySK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Ibis Excel-Docklands. I was glad to read that you found hotel location convenient during your visit and that the team met your expectations.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked this hotel against my better judgement, as last time I came we had been double booked and we had to be shipped off to Barking. However, the price was so reasonable, I thought I'd give it another chance.
Firstly, the security for the Excel Olympics was still set up ready for the Paralympics, so it was a bit of a bind trying to get to the hotel - but we did manage it. On arrival - guess what? We could not have an ordinary room, only a disabled room as all the rest were booked! This was almost deja vu. But we accepted the room, which was a little worn. Rust marks round the base of the shower cubicle and no shower curtain (although the shower curtain rings were there). Consequently, the whole room got wet.
We were woken at an unearthly hour by low flying planes, as it is within spitting distance from the City airport. But we did have great views of the dock.
The breakfast was good, though a little pricey for a hotel chain, but all in all, it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear SnowyP,

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for returning to ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. However, I must apologise for the inconvenience caused with regards to the allocation of room. Our commitment is to solve and address any issues to mutural satisfaction, hence I do invite you to contact me on H3655-GM@accor.com.
Many thanks in advance,

Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#303 Family Hotel in London
#333 Business Hotel in London
#351 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 2*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Excel Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.