We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night London stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #433 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One night London stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We wanted a London hotel near to the O2 and our only criteria was that it should be clean and have the basic neccessary comforts. We noticed from other comments that people were maybe expecting a little too much from an express overnight accommodation such as fridges ...yes fridges and were expecting five star at three star prices.
In truth the staff we friendly and helpful, the room was clean, check in efficient and the inclusive breakfast more than adequate. Nice touches such as an ice machine in reception (usually only found in the U.S.) and a simple clean room layout were appreciated.
Only negative if more than one night (so my lady wife tells me) is bring your own hairdrier as the room supplied version only blew cold air.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Alf C

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    248
    114
    18
    15
See reviews for
120
140
40
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was very basic. The service wasn't too bad. The breakfast was very mediocre/disgusting and be sure to take your own outlets if you are traveling from another coutnry. We originally booked a room with two beds since there were two of us. We walked into the "Priority Club" room, which we were told was the best room that they give PC members. Upon arrival, we found ourselves in a small room with a full/queen sized bed with a sofa bed that had no bedding whatsoever. This hotel is located in a decent area, although at night it looks a little shady. It is next door to a concrete mixing company (they don't make noise at night, which was good) and it is close to the Limehouse DLR. For the price we paid (which was more than a Crowne Plaza) I was dissapointed in the upkeep of the hotel. The carpet needs to be replaced everywhere. Oh, and make sure to put your Do Not Disturb sign up on the door or else when house keeping comes in and sees that you're sleeping, they will actually call the room to make sure you don't want room service.

Only stay here if you have no other options or are looking for the basic necessities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SMarie_21

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we are sorry our hotel and location did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband booked this for a surprise weekend away and was really just used as a base between days. We didn't arrive till late in the evening after seeing a show, and I was looking forward to relaxing in the room. The staff were pleasant at reception, but I was a little disappointed with the room, are room was on a busy main road and the window had been left open all day and so the room was freezing(during the snow period) even with the window closed you could here the traffic, my husband had decided that he would just pack a toothbrush and some underwear for me and didnt think I would need anything else!! I was disappointed that the room didnt have shampoo and conditioner or even toothpaste that you expect to have when you go to a hotel. The room only had a shower when a bath would have been really nice after all the walking we had done.
They had complimentary tea and coffee, but no hot chocolate or biscuit was provided that you usually get(we dont drink tea and coffee, it would be nice for an alternative) There was a good selection of things for breakfast that you could help yourself to, although i would say the sausages were of a cheap quality. Overall, it was ok, but very no frills!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Holly C

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wasn't blown away by this version of Holiday Inn Express; I managed to acquire a good deal on the room and breakfast but some things weren't up to snuff! When we arrived, the computer system was running slow so we couldn't book in straight away and when we did, I was asked if my wife and I wanted two single beds! I asked for - and got - a double bed. The bed, as I've found in other Holiday Inn Expresses, was a little spongy and unfortunately the sleep we had wasn't too brilliant. Breakfast was fine, a little on the cheap side but fine and you could have as much as you like. Decor a bit basic but this an 'Express' sub-contracted out by Holiday Inn and not a Holiday Inn itself. If I'd been the charged the £225 per night shown on the rates board behind the reception desk, I would have demanded a 50% refund. At least. I know London is overpriced but this is robbery! Hotel is located near Limehouse station where a few eateries lie and you are between the City and London City Airport, so not badly located. I won't be using a Holiday Inn Express again though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mushatalantayyy

Thank you for submitting this review following your stay at Holiday Inn Express London Limehouse. I was disappointed to read that you didn't have a satisfactory experience at our hotel. Much time and effort goes into ensuring that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stays. I am sorry that on this occasion many of these points were found wanting, however, I will be taking this feedback to remedy the shortcomings that you have mentioned.

We are aware that there is much on offer when it comes to choosing lodging - I truly hope that this stay doesn't discourage you from returning to Holiday Inn Express London Limehouse or any other Express within our brand family inn the near future.

Many thank once again

Damien Le-Hoste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel has great location - you can take a great walk along the river to the Tower. Great place if you want to visit the city with easy access to City Airport.
Hotel is quite big, rooms are fine but price of wifi is rather a scandal - some horrible 10GBP or more? ( Ican't remember exactly). It is absolute disaster.
Hotel is quite noisy, it is located by the noisy street so better ask for a room far away from the street.
Breakfasts are of poor variety.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear maxima20

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife.the staff, from the moment we checked in to when we checked out, could not have been more helpful and always had a smile for the 4 days we were there....it is only a 5 to 10 minute walk/stroll to the DLR which was great for us as we had people to meet in stratford shopping centre only a few 5 minutes on the dlr and not too far from the city either, so to me it is very central without paying the city centre prices!!...I have seen people saying the staff were not nice but we found different..again very helpful and friendly..maybe we just got them on a few good days?...we would defiantly stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Munster-all-the-way

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your stay. I'm so pleased that you had a favourable experience. It’s really heartening to read a review like this given the hard work our team put in to offer-up fine service. I will be making the team aware of your comments. I was particularly happy to read your comments about the hotel being 'Central without paying central prices' and you are correct that we are only 5 minutes from the Limehouse DLR which makes London’s touristic trail very accessible.

We know that there is much on offer when it comes to choosing lodging in London so we are grateful that you have chosen us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express London Limehouse in the near future.

Damien Le-Hoste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have never seen a hotel of this nature with no fridge in the room!! Just because London is so cold doesn't mean I might not like a cold drink. Other than that the facilities of the room were acceptable, but nothing special. Also had to ask for toiletries - nothing supplied except for toothbrushes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Doug-HHB

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. However, please kindly be informed, it’s not a Holiday Inn Express standard to supply a refrigerator in guest bedrooms. Furthermore, whilst we do provide ‘forgot something items’, it is a Holiday Inn Express standard to dispense these items from reception on a request only basis.

Nevertheless, we are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Address: 469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse hotel, 5 minutes' walk from Limehouse DLR and 5 miles from London-City Airport. The modern Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse lies just outside the City of London and the Congestion Charge zone in the East London district of Limehouse. It's just a short walk to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) links for 20-minute journeys to central London and London-City Airport. The Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse's 4 meeting rooms can be tailored to meetings for up to 20 people. You can hop on the DLR train for 5 minutes to Canary Wharf and Bank stations, and get to exhibitions and conferences at ExCel exhibition centre in just 13 minutes. There's wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Drive just 10 minutes to The O2 arena in Greenwich for live music and entertainment. You can buy a London Travelcard to get to the city's sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.