We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for central London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison London

Save Saved
You added Malmaison London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-21 Charterhouse Square, London ECIM 6AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 1,073 hotels in London
Newark, Notts, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been staying in Malmaison hotels across the UK since 1997 and this one (when the refurbishment is finished) will be a feather in their cap.

Our room on the 6th floor was great value for central London and very quiet. Yes, the hotel is being refurbed, and the persistent smell of paint and glue can give you a headache after a while, but this is all transitory and will hopefully be gone by the next time we visit.

It's very well located, just a few minutes from either Barbican or Faringdon tube stations. There are some superb places to eat and drink, again within walking distance if you do want to get away from the paint smell.

If you fancy trying an unusual cocktail, ask for the Black Forest Gateau martini - I first had these at the Leeds Mal and they are superb...but on a 'secret cocktail list', so I'm letting you in on the secret!

We'll definitely use this hotel again when we need somewhere central and good value to stay in London.

Room Tip: Higher is always better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    179
    77
    21
    10
See reviews for
26
242
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Was incredibly confy. Great hidromassage shower. I feelt like in baby cot in that bed! And we couldn't believe that we found great wine and massage oils ... By the way, 5* staff, thank you Marta and Georgina.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked the Malmaison as we have stayed here before and also many of the Hotel Du Vin/ Malmaison Hotels across the UK. We are regular travellers and Malmaison fulfills our requirements very nicely. Yes there is some refurbishment taking place but it was unobtrusive and did not in any way detract from our enjoyment of the weekend.

Our daughter was celebrating her 21st and both our rooms were upgraded for free and we were given vouchers for a free cocktail which made her feel quite special. The bedrooms were as usual beautifully appointed, luxurious bed linen and fabulous monsoon showers as well as top spec TV and free wi-fi which is a bone of contention for many guests in other hotels - well done for leading the charge.

Breakfast was fantastic each morning and cooked to order rather than buffet style.

Overall another fabulous stay and we will certainly be back. Shame the Staff couldn't do anything about the rain !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the midst of a major refurbishment we stayed for a couple of nights around the end of August 2013. We were pleasantly surprised with many of the hotel's features. Pretty decor, good and personal polite service. We would highly recommend it for a stay in East London. Oh and the most amazing shower experience! We'll go back to see the bar and the restaurant areas when finished. Lovely green views from our room on to the Charterhouse Square! All around the lively neighborhood there are loads of nice bars and restaurants to try for a true London pop scene.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely, attractive hotel. Unfortunately, we were not advised when booking this hotel that it was undergoing major refurbishment. My room was fine but my friend's room had a lingering smell of paint which made her feel unwell after a night in the room. Also, the cocktail menu was very, very small in comparison to other Malmaisons we have been to, I understand that this was due to restricted bar area due to the refurbishments. We had selected a deal which included dinner as we have enjoyed good food in the past at these establishments. Sadly, there was a very restricted menu which I found difficult to choose from, I ended up with a fillet steak at £30.00 plus french fries at an additional £3.95!!!! I have had better steaks at chain restaurants for a lot, lot less!!! On a positive note, we enjoyed the breakfast (although rather pricey at £20.00) and the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Service was good. The area around the hotel has many bars and restaurants ...... it was such a shame we were tied into the Malmaison's food!!!!!!! Clients should be told prior to booking about the refurbishments to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was booked into Malmaison for business purposes. I would not have chosen this hotel on first sight - it is dark and gloomy, the reception area is depressing, small touches like a newspaper and a charger for my phone were not provided (and no regret was expressed). The rooms are small, garishly coloured and uncomfortable. The bar area is dark and depressing. Some aspects of the breakfast were ok - coffee, home made granola and bircher muesli but other items were of a low standard and dreadfully cooked and presented inedible in fact- supermarket sliced bread, pallid muffins, cold, undercooked poached eggs, - for £284.00 per night this represented a complete "rip off". I would NEVER go to this hotel again and will advise my clients not to book it on my behalf. £99.00 per night might be more appropriate just for its location in a trendy part of London (Charterhouse Square). It is being refurbished yet no discount is offered for the noise and inconvenience - terrible experience, terrible value - AVOID

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Malmaison in London for 3 nights and all I can say is that it was fabulous the room was on the 6th floor,one of the newly renovated,well appointed with everything you need, big screen tv, a very comfortable bed and a heated mirror in the bathroom so it doesn't fog up, dual shower and plenty of hot water and this is when the hotel is still undergoing renovations. The staff were also very helpful James and the front desk really looked after us and the girls in the dining room especially Jayde and Sinaide were great once again thank you very much and see you next trip to London

Fred W

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London ECIM 6AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#212 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.