We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for the Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
Ashley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #793 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Price for the Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Ashley Hotel at the beginning and end of a long vacation to England. The first stay was unpleasant as we were put on the 4th floor. The rooms on the 4th floor are MUCH smaller than standard London rooms. When you have to climb across the bed to get to the other side of the room and have NOWHERE to open a suitcase, you know the room is small! I could not even bend over in the shower to shave my legs! The second room were were in was on the 2nd floor, and it was FAR more spacious! We could walk around the bed and place the suitcase on the floor. I was even able to bend over in the shower without hitting my head! Overall, both rooms were very clean, the staff at the hotel was nice, and the breakfasts were decent. Note: The wi-fi is now a free service, but it only works in the lobby. The best part about this hotel is the wonderful location! It was steps away from Paddington Station and was surrounded by convenience stores, pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor!!!!!! The rooms on the 3rd and 4th are far too cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    74
    72
    47
    73
See reviews for
47
70
53
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Ashley Hotel with my mother for 3 nights for a weekend away late August. We stayed in a twin room (203) and its safe to say the room attendants do their job very well, perfect bedding, comfy beds, if not on the small side. The management are obviously mid refurbishment, as the furniture was highly missed matched. Another qualm we had would be the size of the ensuit facilities, we're not the biggest of ladies and we found the shower room highly clipt and a tad on the claustrophobic side... Shower pressure a bit dodgy too.. But all in all a good room for what we paid for. Just bring a pair of ear plugs as the pipe work isnt the greatest and clonks at all times of day! You are provided with a fan but if you cant do hot rooms.. this is a forwarning! Reception service can not be faulted one bit! They all were highly attentive and helpful. Just remember £5 if you're borrowing a hair dryer! Breakfast is a bit of a let down, I work in hospitality and this is where they really let themselves down. The ladies who work in the breakfast room don't appear too fussed about being there. No warm welcome, no good morning, and asking for toast, well you may as well talk to the wall, that would have more interest towards you than they would. Surely as you enter you could be offered toast, or even put a rotary toaster on the buffet? It may make things a bit easier than having to trouble the lacklustre staff? ( Note to staff, you work around food.. Your hair should be tied up and facial jewlery and nail extensions should be removed, surely?! Also, the plates and cutlery are on the side, not on the tables.. That took us a while to work out whether breakfast was over or if we just picked up what we needed! All in all, the hotels perfect for a short stay, if you sleep like a log and can squeeze in small spaces for showers, you're on to a winner. The location's superb for Paddington railway and underground and is an ideal place to commute from if you're making the most of the city! Yes I'd come back, just depending on price but I'd probably skip breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was the exact thing that we needed when traveling to a city. Just a place to sleep. The hotel was nice and simple at a fair price. First the hotel itself. No air-conditioning. That is something that we noticed at many of the establishments that we visited while in London but was not an issue with the temperatures staying in the mid 70s while visiting during the month of August. With the window open at night and a slight breeze the temperature stayed around 75-81 during the night.
The room was very small that included a bed, TV (basic channels), phone (didn't work) and a small closet (where we did find a small fan that helped with the temperatures at night). The bathroom was small but nice. Shower had hot water but was very small but did have good water pressure. There was a vent (fan) in the bathroom but didn't seem to be very effective.
Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. Small room in the basement of the hotel that included breads, cheese, pastries, and cereal. Front desk was nice and accommodating.
The area around the hotel was perfect. Right in front of the hotel was a nice but small park. There were many restaurants and pubs one block away. Also one to two blocks away were coffee shops, an internet cafe, and many currency exchange locations. The Heathrow Express station is a two minute walk from the hotel that will take you to LHR in 15 min.

Overall this was a good hotel if you just need a place to sleep and is centrally located in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly ROI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel In May 2013.
like most budget hotels in london its small but cheap.
staff are very friendly and helpfull and when checking in the receptionist even gave me a room on the groud floor without even asking(as i was on crutches)

Hotel is hotel undergoing renovation so the rooms are up to date and new looking.
Location is fantatic 2mins walk to paddington tube/train station.

Would have no problems to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here twice in July. Gluten for punishment for returning.
We did 1 night en-route to Heathrow, purely for the express from Paddington. Upon arriving our room was not ready so we left our cases and came back later on. When we returned to continue checking in the staff were trying to check us out! Even though they had taken our info previously. We booked a double room but were given a triple room which wasn't to our taste, especially as the from was still full of dust and to top it off the shower didn't drain so when used you were standing in a bath of water.
I advised them of the errors and the disappointment and was advised by Yana that this would not happen on our return stay. Haha who was she kidding, they offered us a triple room again upon arrival to which I was not happy again. The poor guy on reception did all he could to help and gave us a basement twin room. Better than nothing I suppose, we'll not really it was filthy.

In my opinion, the hotel needs a good clean from top to bottom and whilst I appreciate its cheap for the area, there are much better hotels for only slightly more.

I will definately not return here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked a nice little get away.....great you say. Shame we chose the Ashley Hotel!
Was given a basement room (704) which had no natural daylight and was extremely claustrophobic, window overlooked what you could only describe as a builders site (see picture). Room was cramped, bed was a tiny double, walls and floor a state, bathroom tiny!!! Only positive was the location.
We certainly wouldn't go back :0(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just registered to tripadvisor to put this comment so no-one has the same terrible experience I had. Usually I'm quite easy going, all I need is a matress and a hot shower and... the noise level to be acceptable for me to sleep. If you have any choice, avoid this hotel, they are refurbishing it but that won;t change the constructs. I stayed in room 206 and the iolation between rooms is so bad that when people open the door in another room upstairs or same floor you can't stand from looking at your door to see if people are not getting into your room! In addition they have installed some pump that runs everytime someone takes a shower or go to the bathroom and, again, due to bad isolation, your hear it so much that it waked you at night... the result is I slept 3 hours from 3 to 6 am!

Room Tip: Not sure there are rooms that are so much better but avoid room 206 and any room close to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: 15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.