We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
Ashley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #795 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very clean and nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are many reviews on this hotel and i booked after reading some.
Lot's of the reviews are right, it is very close to railway and underground stations.
One day we did even all by foot, but if you do that 3 days would be to much :-)
The hotel is very clean, a very basic breakfast but good enough.
The only minus is there is no free wifi and the thing is almost everywhere in London you can acces free wifi :-)
The room is small but we only needed it for sleeping so i don't care, they are clean and a very good bed.
The noise wich some people are complaining we had no problems with this but i know what they mean. If a door closes it make a lot of noise but we had no issues with that in the evening/night.
Many bad reviews on this hotel but i personally think it was more then good, and i sleep almost 3 months a year in hotel beds :-). There are much worse places it all depends on yourself and your attitude ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    74
    70
    45
    73
See reviews for
47
68
53
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

So I did not get to review before checking in! Our room was 4 floors up a very narrow winding staircase with hardly room to drag a case behind. No elevator, the comment at the front desk was, "it will help you stay fit!" But more, the room was clean however we had no hair dryer had to go all the way back to front desk to borrow one and put down a deposit for it. There was no lamp just an over head light, no refills on the coffee in the room after the first day. No tissues, no wash for the shower. In fact at 100 pounds it was rather hard to fit in the shower! The keys did not work twice so down all 4 flights again to fix. Talk about cheap, the owner must just not care about the guests it must be all about the profit. there was a continental breakfast but we left to early to try it out. I would much rather have other necessities like light in the room.
Yes it is close to Paddignton and that's helpful when you need to get to Heathrow and the room did have new bedding but I would not stay here again. There are many other options just as close. Next time I will review other options before making a choice.

Room Tip: Keep to the lowest floors because there are no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A newly refurbished hotel, the room is good and confortable to stay. Very convinence for holiday maker as it is near to padington station walking distance to oxford street, main shopping area. Very near to Hyde park, one of the beautiful park in london. For Malaysian, very convinience to Malaysian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Read many negative feedbacks on this hotel before arriving. Was expecting the worst when me and a group of 20 + checked in. But to my biggest surprise they have renovated a all the rooms. And the bed sheets was clean. small but a better bathroom. All the rooms had TV and a desk. It was not the most fancy room, but totally worth the amount we paid. So please ignore the previous feedbacks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here as it was close to Paddington Station and I had missed the last train home due to a delayed flight. This place doesn't even cover the basics and there was no hot water so I couldn't even have a shower! and the staff were useless! worst place I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked this hotel very last minute, the day of check-in. The hotel we had previously booked was on London Rd in Gloucester, quite far from where we expected. This hotel was not bad; beds were comfy and clean, room was clean, breakfast was adequate. The location was a big plus. A quick walk to Paddington station, and a longer walk to most of the city. Many pubs and a variety of restaurants available in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side of the building, many pubs in the area mean it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel offers what you would expect for the money. Downset was a could shower the first morning and a bed a bit to short for my 1.95m.
Also the single glacing is a minus, especially in the colder season.
Walking distance from Hydepark. Paddington station around the corner, underground lines to take you everywhere in London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: 15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.