We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
Ashley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #792 of 1,049 Hotels in London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is located a few minutes walking distance from Paddington station, which means easy access to and from Heathrow. You can also walk to Oxford Street in about 15 minutes.

The breakfast was good. Service was decent, no complaints. The room was quite small.
The negative thing about the hotel was noise from other rooms and from the stairs. Outside there were some traffic noise, but not too bad.

I would recommend the hotel if you're not too picky about the room and you want an inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    79
    83
    48
    76
See reviews for
48
77
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean and comfy but shower etc. could have been cleaner. Breakfast was limited but alright Staff were friendly. Great location as it is in a quiet square near Paddington Station, plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

this review will be short and to the point.there are plenty of hotels in this area to choose from so avoid this one.my colleague and i walked into our room and walked straight back out again.when we complained at reception the lady said "well it is only for 2 nights".only after insisting on seeing the manager where we offered a nicer room which was up hill and down dale.look at some of the travellers photos they sum it up, enough said.

Room Tip: insist on a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet location with good tube access and rooms are clean
Although the tabletops in the breakfast room stick with gluey matter ,whatever it was

In my room neither hot nor cold water did not run nor did the sink work. They tried to make me pay up for another room. Another guest had to re-complain a non functioning TV that did wnot work since 2 days.
In my new room the electricity sockets did not work, The receptionist was careless about that complaint. During the 4 day stay it was not solved.

Internet access did not work 1 whole day ot of the 3 days which cost an additional 20 gbp.

Room exceptionally small, a shower where you have to press yourself to the walls in order to be able to close the shower while hunching down because the walls are already slanting under the roof. 60x60x180 cm is really not much for a shower cabin.

Anyone searching a basic simple, clean quiet place with running water and electricity: DON’T fo here. Management is too uninterested in customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed only one night, needed to be near paddington due to an early flight...stayed in the Ramada Docklands the nights before due to a congress and the change was SHOCKING...Seriously... the rooms had dirty carpet, the toilet door couldnt be locked, the position of the faucett in the sink made it almost impossible to wash one's hands.

The windows were super dirty. It was cold inside the room.

The only positive thing is its location near Paddington.

I have to say though, from experience, on a busy weekend in London, its impossible to stay on a decent place for a decent price. So i guess we have to suck it up and stay in places like THIS.

The girl in reception was very sweet and helpful, so i would give them a good rate in service. Because what can you fix on such a run down property? Looked like they were renovating so maybe we will see more positive reviews in the future!??

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Ashley Hotel offered a very good price, as well as other like hotels in the near vicinity. I had the single room and shared a toilet and tub, but all things were more than fine. In fact, never once was there a conflict in using times with another visitor. The shower/tub room is separate from the toilet room, so there are two different rooms for each. The hotel was quite cozy, with an awesome location (about 2-3 minute walk from Paddington Station), the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast kind of sucked, but was no big deal to me anyway. I just had coffee. I had read many reviews of this hotel before booking, and I'm glad that I did not permit the bad comments from deterring me. My view of Norfolk Square was lovely and I would so very easily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel was under construction while I stayed there, but other than the scaffolding outside, there wasn't much of a disturbance to the rest of the property. I stayed in a single room, with a shared bathroom. The room was the size of a double bed, and the bathrooms were awkward, with no shelf in the shower to hold toiletries. Also there isn't an elevator and the stairs are the width of a standard suitcase, not fun. What it lacked in amenities it makes up for in location, just a short walk to Paddington Station and it is on the beautiful Norfolk Square. Given how expensive everything is in London, I would stay there again, but only because I travel on a serious budget!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: 15 - 17 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #792 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.