We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arran House Hotel to your Saves list
Arran House Hotel
77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great for price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while sightseeing in London. the hotel is a great base situated quite near to all the major sights but still being just far enough out to avoid the loud party streets and rumbling trains. tube stations are everywhere so you only need walk 5 mins either way to reach one. The British museum is just 10 mins walk down the road and the lively town just a little further full of hundreds of shops and restaurants. The rooms have a bit of a strange layout meaning we had to go up some stairs along a corridor then back down some stairs and along a corridor before finding our room but apart from that the room was clean, simple but characterful and had a decent shower, tv, kettle and comfy bed to crash on!! The staff were all very helpful and polite and would assist where possible and call for taxi's, they even gave us discount vouchers for local sights/restaurants which was nice. The breakfast room is self service and they offer a massive range of cereals, fruit, toast. jams, yoghurt's, juice and most importantly cooked breakfast including bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, beans and tomatoes which were cooked to perfection and the waitress/cleaner was very polite and helpful too. We did find that our room was a bit hot as perhaps close to boiler/heating?? but we just opened the window a little, better warm than cold i think?? Overall a brilliant hotel at a low price close to everything, would definitely stay again, thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    186
    72
    42
    35
See reviews for
128
99
78
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We saw mouses on the hotel 3 or 4 times. Or else there was good breakfast, nice beds and a fine hotel! Also it is a good lacation for the hotel. We used the underground, which is very effective. We got where we wantes to go, fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I booked a quadruple room with a private bathroom for one night on New Years Eve.
Before I arrived at the hotel I exepected it to be really dirty and horrible - if the other reviews were what I had to go by. But it was OK for one night, considering the price we had paid (much cheaper than other hotels). One night only though and this is what my review is based on. The room had a double and 2 singles.

Pros:
Location.
Bigger room than expected.
Room was clean.
Couldn't hear outside street noise.
Buffet Breakfast....but

Cons:
Breakfast - Cooks do not mass cook Bacon/Sausages etc. You are waiting for a long time inbetween cooked buffet breakfasts as theres not enough food left. The yoghurts are warm and runny as they are not on ice. Every meal tastes like they are cutting costs - Value bread, water based porridge, water based scrambled eggs - if thats possible.
Tiny Tiny Cheap Bathroom. Not impressed. About 1m*1m. No room to move around.
Room gets warm at night, no A/C facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don´t stay here. There are dirty and old carpets in the entry hall. Good staff and breakfast, but the room was very dirty! There are broken windows, dirty and old battery, trash in the drawers! This is very stuffy and dirty place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We like to make our base in comfortable, family friendly hotels near to most of our destinations. The Arran House was near the British Museum, King's Cross Station, two different Tube stops and a host of restaurants. After the included breakfast, we easily traveled to London sights and back again. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Arran House Hotel late at night by taxi after spending 2 days in Bath. Upon opening the front door, we knew we had made a terrible mistake... the overpowering perfume, the gobs of dust hanging off of the grasscloth wallpaper, dirty paint - and we had not yet left the foyer! Upon signin, we were required to pay for our 4 night stay in full. Thank goodness I used a credit card! Our 2nd floor room was up 4 flights of stairs and we had 4 pieces of heavy luggage. The shared bath was filthy, with wet towels strewn around the floor, the shower was dirty and the shower curtain had mildew on it. We went into our room with twin beds. The light blue velveteen headboards were filthy. The teapot was corroded and had some sediment floating in the bottom of it. The teacups weren't clean. The sheer curtains and windowsill were filthy. The faucet on the sink was corroded and mildewed. When I turned down the bedcover, there were crumbs of some sort in the bed! Because of the late hour, we were unable to find another accommodation until morning. We spent a sleepless night, not wanting to use the bathroom, shower, sink, or teapot. And we certainly would not have eaten breakfast there! It was an ordeal to be refunded for the next 3 nights, and I don't think I should have had to pay full price for the horrible night I had to stay there! London's department of public health needs to pay a visit, and require these proprietors to make some major changes if they wish to stay in business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

One night stay on the single room on the mezzanine ath the rear of the property with shared facilities. Very cozy despite the cold gale blowing outside and the place had a nice feel about it with a theatrical theme on the several posters dotted around. The communal lounge was good with a library and self service refreshments. Good free internet connection. Breakfast was a cooked self service option oncluding porridge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear as one-way Gower Street itself can get quite busy. My rear room had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Address: 77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arran House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.