We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you have a limited budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arran House Hotel to your Saves list
Arran House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 536 London B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value if you have a limited budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

IArran House Hotel is a place where you will find clen room, good bed, a litlle garden and nice personell!
It is placed in a quiet place, on a long street with others hotels. You can find a Tesco not to far from it, in case you need some necessary little things to buy.
I was there 19 years ago and I return this year - the building sems to be in a better condition. It is close to Goodge tube station and there are a few buses near, that can help you with transportation.
There are a few pubs nearby, an italian little restaurant, an indian restaurant, a japonese one, in case you want to eat something on your way to the hotel.
The breakfast is very good- yogurt, ceareals, coffe, sosages, beans, fruits, omlette, ham, toast, milk, hot chocolat, juice - and it is buffet. You can eat in the little garden, if the weather is ok. You have tea and coffe in the room, if you want.
You have internet in the lounge, for it you must pay. In the room is wireless free internet.
You can pay with the card for room reservation.
The only problem I can mention is the bathroom. As we take a room for 4 person - the bathroom was inside but it was very little and I understand that the other rooms share the bathrooms, located on the corridor.
I didn't like the reception - seems it needs to be rearenged, the entrance launge as well to be more welcoming.
The amount we paid for the room was good.
If you have a limited budget you can try this hotel.

Room Tip: The room for 4 has the bathroom inside, even if it is small. And it is located at the entrance, if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    197
    79
    44
    39
See reviews for
137
105
82
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I suspect that one's experience of staying in this hotel may vary largerly with the kind of room one gets. I booked a single room, and got one whose surface was less than 3 square meters: just barely enough place for a (single) bed, right next to the entrance door, and a tiny passage next to it. It felt like sleeping in a box. There was also lots of noise from waterpipes, etc. Also, despite its size (or maybe because of it) the room wasn't properly vacuum-cleaned; there was, for instance, hair on the carpet. Breakfast is mediocre. The only good thing about the hotel was its location (that is to say, in my case, as I was attending some events in Bloomsbury).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Only stayed 1 night - single room shared bathroom - cheap but adequate. Service good, very central to where I was going, buffet style breakfast included in cost which was good. Seemed clean and well looked after. Lounge was good too.

Only problem was traffic noise - my room overlooked Gower Street and the noise started at about 5am - checked windows which were secondary double glazed but clearly couldn't cope. Didn't notice any other noise from inside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed with my daughter for 3 nights in October. The hotel is close to Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston stations. Walking time about 30 minutes. The location is very good for the price straight down the road for 20 minutes and you are in Shaftsbury Avenue the heart of the theatre district. A 20 minute walk will take you to Oxford Street where there are loads of shops to dip in and out of. A 5 minute walk takes you to Goodge St tube station which is on the Northern line in Tottenham Court Road from there you can connect to most other lines at Leicester square. Tottenham Court was closed for upgrading while we were there.
Teh hotel itself is well kept and clean. the staff were very friendly and helpful. We shared a toilet and shower with 2 other rooms and always found them to be clean and fresh smelling.
The room we booked was a triple although there were only 2 of us and we still paid less than £50.00 a night. The breakfast was more thatn adequate. there were cerals, porridge, toasts jams, bacon, sausages, eggs, beans and tomatoes. Yoghurts, fruit juices cheese. Teas, coffee, hot chocolate etc. More than enought to give you a good start to your day.
We enjoyed it and do not have and complaints although sharing toilet facilities is not something I would choose to do.
I would recommend the hotel and would say that if you had any problem whatsoever to speak to the staff they were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: The further away form the front door the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Arran House Hotel in London this past March and had a mediocre experience.

First the pros:
- Good location - very close to the British Museum and Oxford Street; walking distance to many places (if you have good shoes), otherwise the Tube is also very close.
- Good breakfast
- Internet

The cons:
- We were put in the basement level, directly next to the kitchen where the staff prepares breakfast in the morning. The amount of noise at 5 am was really quite offensive - the staff could have been quiet, but were very loud. Not only that, but we had to walk through the basement kitchen to get from one side of the building to the other, which was required if we arrived back after midnight.
- We did not reserve an room with an in-suite bathroom, and I felt as though the bathroom was not professionally cleaned regularly enough given that it was shared. Like the other guests left their dirty towels, etc. in the shower before I went in to shower.

I guess we got what we paid for (although there was no discount for being in the "basement level" - we just got unlucky there).

Room Tip: Specifically request a room that's not in the basement, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

While the double room we stayed in was small, it was clean and well presented. The bathroom was outside the room but was clean. We cant comment on the breakfast as we didnt have it. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a lovely garden out back. The location was perfect, approx 15 min walk to Soho/Leicester Sq area.
In summary, great value for money for central London.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk County, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great breakfast, clean bedding, towels and bathrooms. Nice employees. Close to subway station and bus stops. We had a room at the very top of the building which was a hard climb, but what you get with Expedia. No a/c. and it was noisy sleeping with the window open.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on lower floor as stairs are hard with luggage and after a hard day of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#579 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#550 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa
Arosfa
#83 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#263 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#125 of 536 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#157 of 536 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Address: 77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arran House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.