We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arran House Hotel to your Saves list
Arran House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband, 12 year old daughter,and I stayed here for 3 nights. I was concerned I had chosen the wrong hotel after reading recent reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. We had the family room on the first floor which was cramped, but not unusually so for London. It looked out on a delightful little garden area that was open to guests during the day. Because of this, we had no traffic noise and could sleep with the window wide open. We easily got wifi on our phones after getting the password from reception, and found that the staff was helpful with just about any request or need that we had. Breakfast was great, and I loved the buffet that allowed us all to have exactly the type of breakfast that we wanted. The breakfast room itself tended to be cramped and crowded, but the staff did a nice job of clearing tables and keeping the food well stocked. The hotel is located in a convenient neighborhood close to the center of London. There are wonderful little restaurants within a few blocks and it's close to several tube stations. Great choice if you're looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    198
    81
    44
    39
See reviews for
138
106
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in a very comfortable quad room June 23 & 24. Our luggage didn't arrive until 36 hours after we did & the managers, Rakesh & Abdul, were EXTREMELY helpful in our dealings with DELTA, letting us use their phones, Internet service, etc. Rakesh even gave us his personal phone card when we were out sightseeing. The breakfast had a HUGE variety of hot & cold foods & was tasty. Yes, the en suite shower was tiny, but we actualy used the large shared bathrooms & showers, which were delightful. ( & never had a wait) I highly recommend the Arran House & would stay there again. Thank you, Rakesh & Abdul, I hope you see this!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

After having read recent reviews of this hotel, we were somewhat apprehensive about our stay. However, our room was very comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom, as is the case in these converted townhouses, was very small, but functional. There were ample choices of food for a typical full English breakfast. Be aware that there is no lift, and also that Gower Street is busy, so there is traffic noise. For London, the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I found myself in the Arran House when a single without bath was one of the few rooms in London available at any sort of reasonable price during Wimbledon fortnight. The room was at the back of the building and quiet, and the bed comfortable enough. Breakfast was not very exciting, but perfectly edible. Wi-fi didn't work on my smart phone.

The location is good, I needed a place near the University of London, one block away. The British Museum is nearby and the very useful no 24 bus runs from across the street to prime tourist locations at Trafalgar Square (National Gallery) and Parliament Square.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Arran House Hotel is a small hotel in a great location (Bloomsbury area), and offers excellent value for a reasonable price. Our room was on the main floor at the back of the house (garden view) so was very quiet. As usual in London, the room was quite small but big enough for our needs -- besides, when you are in London you aren't going to spend much time in your hotel room! Bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, and the ensuite bathroom was fine (but tiny). Desk staff was friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at the Arran last year when in London and were so impressed that we decided to book again for this year. Big mistake! It seems to have changed for the worse and as another reviewer states the breakfast has changed and the good bits seem to be missing. Part of what we liked about it last year was the ability to use the kitchen as eating out daily for a family of 4 can be expensive so we would cook up meals in the kitchen and store food in the specially marked guest fridge. Now it is a no-go area and for staff only it seems which really dissapointed us.
The staff were friendly enough, if a bit sullen at times and it feels like the whole atmosphere of the hotel has changed. I don't know what brought on these sudden changes but it's had it's effect. As for the wifi - no commment. Was not working properly half the time despite assurances it was being fixed.
We had a wonderful room, clean beds and linen but the bathroom is like on an aeroplane - tiny and cramped and it's not like any of us are "large". Other London hotels have managed to install larger bathrooms so not sure why they opted for these tiny add-ons.
Sadly we will not be going back as this last visit was not pleasant nor what we expected compared to our last visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was the third time I stayed in this hotel. It was great the first 2 times. However, this was after 14 years since my last visit. The place looks old and dusty. A little rundown. I booked ensuite however, its not worth it. As I found the toilet outside my room is cleaner and much bigger. The toilet in my room span from my 8 yr old daughter's right fingertips to the left one. This space contains the toilet seat, shower and sink. It feels worse than the airplane toilet.the walls and carpet looks old. Breakfast was ok though the room can be a little cramp. The ventilation in the kitchen must be really bad cos I stayed on the top floor and every morning I smell breakfast in my room as early as 6+. There's a garden but you need to get past the receptionist to go in.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#569 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#572 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa
Arosfa
#85 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#518 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#129 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Address: 77 - 79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arran House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.