We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast: the drink is for yourself.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Journeys London King's Cross Hostel to your Saves list
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Nova Iguaçu, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast: the drink is for yourself.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

At this hostel, you can have a good reception. The hostel is a bit small (3-floor building + basement kitchen/lounge, but all small).

The rooms are a bit small and there's no much space in the bed. There was no ladders to the second bed and I had to find a way to get to sleep.

The breakfast was ok.
Staff was ok and helpful.

There are lots of stairs, but they're only one way. Don't try to go up while someone is trying to go down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Shift Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
There should be a ladder leading to all beds, so just let us know when strange things like this happen, and we can get them sorted in no time!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    40
    24
    23
    31
See reviews for
1
22
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just needed a place to stay waiting to catch a train out of London. One night was fine, the bunk was comfortable, and each had it's own plug and light which was great. A little bit of a rabbit warren but easy enough to get your head round it. Would happily use them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had read lots of good things about this hostel so booked it for a night whilst visiting to see friends. The reception constantly has a sign saying 'back in 5 mins' so we had to wait until someone did arrive in 5 mins. The reception staff are friendly but the hostel itself has got things so wrong! I have stayed in lots of hostels in many countries but this place really did annoy me. In our 3 bed female dorm, our window was broken, so couldn't open it, thank goodness it isn't summer! There was 1 toilet on the first floor to service 4 dorm rooms of girls, not pleasant plus no toilet roll! The showers, of which there were 3, all had water pressure issues, I'm talking a trickle of water at most on full power. We told reception and they said it's better on the ground floor and the pressure gets worse the higher you go. I wouldn't mind but we were on the first floor, good luck to those trying to shower who are higher! Check out is at 10am and at 9.20am the cleaner was in cleaning the showers. Why clean the showers when you want people to check out? My friend was told to go and use the showers downstairs whilst she cleaned. She did not want to walk near reception to the showers in her pj's and take a shower when we had 3 showers right next to our room. The cleaner gave in and allowed my friend to use the showers next to our room, incredible!

The hostel is very noisy because people sit near the front door at night talking and smoking, the smell also wafts up into the hostel near the rooms, not pleasant when you are a none smoker and the smell of smoke comes into your room.

You also have to pay to leave your luggage when you have checked out. It's free when you want to check in but £2 when you've checked out and just want to leave your bag there for a few hours.

I would not recommend this hostel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Shift Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our cleaner does make the rounds cleaning the showers during peak times so that they do not become too unpleasant for our guests when they are under heavy use. There are showers on three of the building's four floors, so when one set are being cleaned there are alternatives. We have two sets of stairs, so you needn't walk past the reception to get there.

We regret that your window was stuck during your stay. We try to keep on top of any maintenance problems as they arise, but can only do so quickly if they are reported to us straight away. We have a maintenance staff member on duty five days a week.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Journeys, and hope that you would consider staying with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pros : The location was fantastic, just a few mins from St. Pancras station. Free breakfast and tea/coffee throughout the day. I only stayed here as a stopover, having flown in to Luton airport late in the eve so can't really comment much on kitchen facilities, services offered or helpfulness of staff but the guy on reception was friendly enough. Bed was comfy, bathrooms clean enough and felt secure due to the door codes for both the hostel entrance and room. Wifi also worked well throughout.

Cons : Wasn't a problem for me as I can sleep through traffic noise but hostel is right on a main road so its noisy even with the window closed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Great location near the King's cross subway station, Tesco grocery store across street, friendly staff, great price, good breakfast included, great wifi signal in 17 bed basement dorm room, comfortable beds with curtains.

Cons: Basement gets very hot in summer heat, 17 bed dorm was very messy with luggage everywhere, basement shower I used had almost no water pressure as well as visible mould growth on door and air vent, bad wifi reception in common area of basement.

I would stay here again but I would try to get a room upstairs rather than in the basement as it felt a bit claustrophobic with the lack of windows and the heat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff here are not friendly at all we thought we were put into a female dorm until one night when we came back to the hostel there were about 9 boys in this 12 bedroom dorm, the power points in the room didn't work, we stayed there for 9 nights and our sheets didn't get changed once I find this disgusting! Also alot of people get stuff stolen, it is in a good location but I don't think it is worth it at all!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate it a lot! We do not have 12-bed female dorms in our hostel therefore it is really confusing for us that you were thinking you are in a female dorm since the booking clearly states "12-bed mixed dorm". We also hope that our guest would report such problems as power sockets not working so we could solve that issue as soon as possible. We do change sheets every 3 days but only if there is nothing on the bed since we intend not to touch any personal belongings of guests. We do have lockers to rent which is highly advisable in any hostel environment! We hope otherwise your stay was nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

These beds were not for me, way too hard and gave a back pain every morning. Hard to use the fluffy blankets to soften the bed.Apart from that, ok for backpackers; 17 in a room and backpacks everywhere but no backpacker should complain, especially with the very good refreshing air system.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for taking time to leave your feedback, we value it a lot! We are sorry to hear you had bad experience with your bed. Most of our guests are happy with them and as you mentioned it is a backapackers hostel! We also have double rooms with more comfortable beds so if you visit us again please book that room and you will avoid any issues you had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journeys London King's Cross Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Journeys London King's Cross Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish backpacker's accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour's walk along the beautiful Regent's canal to Camden's famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and enjoying our weekly free pancake nights and the occasional jam session. The kitchen's well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV, comfy sofas and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light ,set of curtains and lockers are available for security . For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set ,flat screen TV\ DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast. King's Cross station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford street is just 10 minutes by tube ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Journeys London King's Cross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.