We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Save Saved
You added Journeys London King's Cross Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is one of the closest hostels to King's Cross, at about 7 minutes away.
They have pubs and supermarkets nearby.
A lot better than their counterpart in Greenwich.
I had a fun time here.

The unisex showers are not recommended for conservative people :-)

Room Tip: The number of beds really don't matter because of the curtains, so unless you share a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    20
    18
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
18
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Two girl friends and I booked to stay here for two nights as we were having a weekend away in London. We are all students so obviously was looking for the cheapest place and not expecting much at all, but what we got for our money was AWFUL. The woman on reception was so rude and unhelpful, and when we got upstairs to the bedroom we thought it was a joke. Having stayed in lots of hostels all over the world, I thought I'd seen it all, but this was horrendous. 4 triple bunk beds in such a tiny room, no lockers or anything (you had to pay extra for them and they were in reception), there was one toilet cubicle, and 2 showers for girls in the whole hostel. We were so appalled we couldn't even stay there, (none of us are high maintenance, we just believed it would ruin our weekend if we had to stay in that room.) Please don't stay here- I wish someone had told me this as it would have saved me 40 pounds! Only good thing about it was the location, I imagine thats why they can charge so much, but if I was you I'd go further out and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are grateful for your feedback and are very sorry to hear that you didn't find the hostel to your liking. However, to say that there is only one toilet and two showers for females is completely untrue - there are several other bathrooms with many more toilet and shower cubicles available to females on the other floors. Downstairs is an entire recreational space and large bathrooms for all guests, the bed-rooms are purely an area for people to sleep.
To maintain a price bellow to £30 mark in zone 1 of london we simply must utilise all the bedroom space possible. Also we keep lockers (which take up space) as seperate as we do not want to add to the price for guests that do not need them. We have between 70-140 other guests that stay per night who find bunkbeds adequate for the purpose of sleeping. We hope you can understand our efforts to offer the cheapest possible central accomodation for shoestring travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and six other friends stayed in one of the 9 bed female dorms for three nights, and I think we got good value for our money. Even though the showers were cold and not much waterpressure and the breakfast was toast and jam, I had a good time at this hostel. The location of the hostel great, it is close to a Tesco store, cafes like Starbucks and Pret, and of course the underground and the train stationis only a smal walk away. The rooms are clean, so are the showers and the bathroom/toilet. The garbage is emptied every day. You can also leave your bags at the hostel for £2 a day. I would recommend this hostel if you need a central, cheap bed in London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Considering that this is one of the cheapest hostels in London, this place was a fine stay. We stayed in a private room with a double bed, and the room was about the size of a walk-in closet. Also, the Wi-Fi did not work in the room. However, the room was clean and had a safe for valuables, had a free breakfast, and free luggage storage. It also was located close to King's Cross Station and right across the street from a Tesco. Overall, not bad at all. Standard Hostel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Clean sheets, free Internet, breakfast included and the cheapest I could find. Reception staff very helpful and there 24hrs which was good for my late check in. On a fairly busy road but nothing some headphones or earplugs can't solve. Good size kitchen and living space, great place to meet people. Walking distance from Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston station so perfect for an overnight before catching a train in the morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I`ve stayed in this hostel few times before and this time it was the same as before, You get what You pay for, which is cheap accommodation which include bunk bed with clean sheets, hot showers and free breakfast in the morning, everything is basic but clean and the price you pay per night is pretty much one of the lowest I could find in the city. If You travel on a budget than I think it`s a good place to stay while in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Why?

You really can not sleep the whole night. I was there for only one night from Thursday til Friday and I could not sleep because it was so loud. It was not the traffic it was just the people and you could understand every word they said.
Then my room was next to the kitchen and you could smell everything.

Everything is so tiny and you do not have any space so I really would not recommend the hostel.

The only positive aspect is that it is just a 5 minute walk from Kings Cross station.

So if you are looking for an accommodation for more than 1 night then do not stay in this Hostel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCrossOperations, Guest Relations Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear guest, we are sorry you did not find your stay comfortable. In order to keep our prices at the lowest in the area we must maximise our space usage in the limited area that is central london. The demand for cheap bedding here is high. We are working on our luggage storage facilities to maximise storage space in the rooms over the next couple of months. We hope you will be happy to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Journeys London King's Cross Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Journeys London King's Cross Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Journeys Kings Cross, the perfect base to explore London on a budget and the ideal choice for young world travellers! Our location, just 1 minute from London's Eurostar Terminal at King's Cross St. Pancras station makes Journeys an ideal base for visitors, providing easy access and transport links to all of the city's most famous attractions, so you can experience London life to the fullest!Walk down Regent's Canal to buzzing Camden Town, famous for its alternative outdoor marketplace and vibrant live music venues, or young and trendy Islington is within easy walking distance. While you're in the area, spend a summer's day in Regent's Park and visit London Zoo. London's famous City and West End are easily accessible and full of things to do from Madam Tussuad's to the London Dungeons! So whether you're here to be part of the bustling nightlife, bask in the city sights and sounds, or to collect fond memories, Journey's King's Cross places you on their doorstep at a price to suit anyone. Ask one of the Journeys Team, who are always willing to help with London insider advice on what to see and how to get around. Also, find our Journeys group on Facebook for more local tips, events, advice from other Journeys Travellers and upcoming Journeys activities.Journeys Kings Cross guarantees you:24 Hour Secure Access.24 Hour Service at Reception.Free linen, sheet, Pillow , Duvet.Free Continental Breakfast.Pancake Sunday! Enjoy free self catered pancakes every Sunday :)Warm and Comfy beds.Luggage Storage Lockers Clean Bathrooms Free Wifi Internet.Lively Communal Areas:Communal Kitchen & Dining Room.Chillout Common Room Wi-Fi Internet Cafe Activities for Travellers:DVD Library.Organised Pub Crawls.Walking Tours. See Reception For: Free Luggage Storage Tickets and tour bookings.Airport Shuttle Transfers.Mobile Chargers and umbrellas.Towel Hire.Iron and Ironing Board.Please note that some of our double room will have additional single bed over the double bed, so the groups of 3 are welcome to use this type of the room. Journeys Guest Promise:Clean , Safe and Comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Journeys London King's Cross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.