We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh it was so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abercorn House to your Saves list
Abercorn House
28 - 30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House) (Hammersmith / Fulham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ehhh it was so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff was friendly and let us choose which room we wanted. The whole place seemed very clean and smelled like a hospital...although we did find a cockroach in our room. The all white rooms gave it an insane asylum feel. Overall it was okay. I would probably look for another place if I went back to London though.

Ps. Did not get clean linens daily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    112
    109
    66
    65
See reviews for
33
163
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just got back from staying here for a week. I think the biggest thing to remember is that this is a hostel, not a hotel. If you are expecting a hotel, do not stay here.

Pros:
The room and the bathrooms were very clean, although the cleaner smelled terrible. All our clothes smelled like it.
The room came with a fridge, which we were not expecting.
It's in a safe area. It's 2-3 minute walk to the tube station and right next to a private school. The tube station is great because it services 3 lines, so you can get wherever you need to go fairly easy. It's about 20 minutes on the Picadilly line to the center (Covent Garden, Picadilly Circus).
The pillows, towels and linens were good quality.

Cons:
Super unhelpful/unfriendly staff.
There was never enough toilet paper and no way to get any. I ended up taking a full roll to my room and keeping it for myself.
It was so loud. The walls are super thin. We had a room right next to the staircase and door, so anytime someone came in we would hear the door slam. This is also a hostel, so a lot of younger people would come in really late and yell and laugh in the hall. This is not the hostel's fault, but it is something to think about if you want a quiet place.
The showers sucked. There was no hook or shelf to put your towel or clothes, so they got wet. The water temp is not ajustable and the water only stays on for about 20 seconds at a time. You have to keep pressing the button to get it back on.
The site says they have free wifi. They do not. You can buy an hour for a pound, or 5 hours for 5 pounds. However, with so many people using it, it wasn't very reliable.

Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience. I have stayed in hostels that were far more disgusting. For the money, this place is perfectly acceptable. I probably won't stay here again, as it was much too loud for me, but if you just want a clean place to sleep and don't mind the noise it's worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell and doors, so the noise won't keep you up at night. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here between the 9th and 11th of June and we both agree that it was great value for money.

Pros:
Located really close to the train station.
Cheap dining options in Hammersmith.
Easy access into Central London.
Feels secure with the CCTV and really is in a safe area. Someone else mentioned that it was a dodgy area, which is strange as it isn't. My mum and I came back to the hostel when it was dark outside, and we felt perfectly safe.
Acceptably clean.
Comfy beds.
Fairly quiet at night.
Well maintained.
You get soap and shampoo.

Cons:
Staff could have been friendlier.
Would have been nice to get more soap and clean towels during the second day.
More toilet paper in the shared toilets.
The water in the shower was not hot and there's nowhere to put your clothes so it gets wet and you have to press the button every 10 seconds.

I would definitely recommend this place and I am planning to stay here again next time I visit London.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 117 which was a Twin Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location is a bit outside of the heart of London, taking about 20 minutes to get into the center. For that you get a lower cost.

Upon arrival there were 2 people at the front desk behind a glass/plastic pane which raised a few red flags and I had to wait about 5 minutes as they finished counting cash. You must pay in cash upon check-in. A bit sketchy if you ask me.

After a 5 pound key deposit we were off to our private double room with bathroom which was actually pretty nice and clean. All furniture is IKEA quality and the design in regards to lighting, placement is just awful. The shower did not have any racks or anything to place soap or shampoo and there were no towel racks to be had (although it was nice that towels were provided). We did have our own bathroom but it was tiny compartment with shower, sink, and toilet with literally no room for the garbage can.

Also note, although WiFi may be advertised on booking sites, it is not free. You have to buy hourly or daily cards to get access.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hostel is far from the centre, but it has good options of public transport. The bedroom is ok, but they use a very stinking product to clean it! There are a hundred of kitchens in the hostel, but all useless because they expect that the guests will bring saucepans in the luggage! So there are stove, micro-wave, fridge, but NO utensils! The staff don't help with any turistic information and they charge you for wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent in Abercron House in May 2013 for 3 nights. We had double room with shared bathroom. Considered it is a hostel, we had nice stay. Rooms, toilets and bathrooms were very clean. Buffet at the enterance has very cheap and friendly prices for meal, drinks or cosmetics. Hotel is close to bus and underground station where TESCO and some fastfoods can be found. The only minus is no free wifi and kitchen without any equipments, so you have to bring your own pots and pans which is not practical if you are tourist.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

booked it one day, tried to change days but they were full so was forced to cancel. I was charged the full amount because it was within the 48hr arrival period, but they could have sold this room to someone else, and probably did. Will not dream off using such money grabbers again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Address: 28 - 30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London
Abercorn House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abercorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.