We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devonport House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Devonport House to your Saves list
Devonport House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frome, Somerset
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would describe Devonport House as the next satge up from a Premier Inn. We used this hotel for a night whilst going to a concert at the O2. Yes there are slighjtly cheaper ones around (not much cheaper though!), but for value for money this was very good.
It is right by the National Maritime Museum and Cutty Sark in Greenwich. Great location for exploring the area, and with good transport links for the rest of London.
The O2 is a 10 minute bus ride away. The bus(es) go from the door of the hotel right to the O2 Arena (North Greenwich). One runs all night for late finishes.
There are a couple of decent pubs nearby, and a varying range of restaurants.

The Hotel looks old from the outside in a wonderful Georgian building (the old Maritime Hospital I believ), on the inside it is quite modern. The rooms were of a decent size (unlike hotels more centraly located in London), with the usual tea/coffee facilities. There is also a bath/shower that worked great.

There is a bar and restaurant which looked OK but we didn't use them during our stay, except for breakfast - which was very good as well. Choice of a Full English or continental style food.

Note if you're in a hurry, then don't get into a conversation with the breakfast supervisor Mr Grant! A very friendly chap whose life story you will know by the time you finish your toast. In fact all the staff were very good and very helpful.

Slight issues:-
Bathroom was tired, and a bit dated. Looks like it needs an overhaul. Cracked tile on the floor etc. Worked fine though. Odd, as the room itself was very good.
Bed side lamp on one side was missing. Didn't bother us too much but was obvious!

Parking is available at the hotel, however they will add £5 to your bill. Worth noting that Greenwich is not inside the congestion charge zone, so you avoid that cost.

Note the price was cheaper on De Vere's own website, than hotels.com etc.

Room Tip: Great view overlooking the Maritime Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. i am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location so convenient for your trip. Averton is certainly a character and does liven us all up in the morning! I have passed your feedabck concerning the lamp and bathroom onto our Head Housekeeper so that the faults can be rectified, my apologies for this.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport Hosue again soon!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    292
    125
    38
    8
See reviews for
114
406
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a marvellous location! The hotel is literally 5 minutes from observatory, maritime museums and the cutty sark. Situated in the heart of this historic part of London in a historic building the hotel is perfect for sightseeing, We used it as a base to get the tube into central London to do other attractions like the eye and museums. A "day rover" for all tube districts was £8.50 and well worth it. The Cutty Sark stop was a couple of minutes from the hotel.
Rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel has other thoughtful facilities including an Internet cafe with printing and photocopying machines - all free. Tea and coffee machine is always on in the Internet area and provides excellent drinks. The bar area is very comfortable, perfect for relaxing after sightseeing and there is a lovely courtyard area which I am sure would be great in summer.
Breakfast is very good and provides the normal range of cooked and uncooked options. The reception and restaurant staff were lovely. We had dinner included in our package which we were looking forward to....it was an unmitigated horror, whether this was due to staffing in the kitchen I will never know but food was charred on the outside and cold on the inside, risotto appalling....all was resolved satisfactorily by the restaurant manager And would still heartily recommend a stay, just give dinner here a swerve and visit one of the many great restaurants just on the doorstep!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and enjoyed the localtion, breakfast and complimentary facilities throughout the hotel. My sincere apologies that your evening meal was nto to the standard you expected, or indeed that we deliver to our guests on a consistant basis. I have discussed your feedback with the Head Chef to ensure such an occurrance is nto repeated in the future. The Valentines weekend was of course very busy and we have recieved great feeedback regarding the food accross the weekend which only makes it more dissapointing that we did not get it right for you on this occassion.

i do hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again soon so that we may have the opportunity to change your opinion regarding our restaurant.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Room was small but adequate. Room and hotel were well kept and clean. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Found the bed was comfortable and slept well. The area the hotel is located in is great for sightseeing. Numerous free attractions close by. Went into central London via the river cruiser, which was a far better way to travel than the tube. A great base for sight seeing. The room was overly hot at times and the bathroom smelt damp although it was very clean. I think there may not be an outlet for the steam.
Would certainly stop again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. i quite agree that the Clipper is a great way to travel into central London, you can actually book tickets at our Reception desk to avoid any queue at the pier. I have forwarded your comments regarding the build up of steam to our Maintenance Manager, thank you for bringing it to my attention. It is good to hear that you renjoyed the breakfast, hopefully it set you up nicely for a busy day sightseeing! There is also nothing like a comfy bed after a busy day in London!

I hoep to welcome you back to Devonport House again soon.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice and I would definitely recommend it because of its location, just a few minutes-walk to all the Greenwich must-visits: the Maritime Museum, Greenwich Park, the Royal Observatory, the Cutty Sark, Greenwich Market, etc.

You can also walk to plenty of shops and restaurants and also to the Picturehouse cinema, which is one of my favourites.

Greenwich train station and the DLR station are also very close, or you can even travel along the river.

The staff at the hotel have always been very nice and friendly and I have never had to wait for too long at reception.

The rooms are not a luxury, but they're comfortable and some of them have really nice views. I did find it a bit stuffy, though, because you can only open the windows a tinny bit.

By the way, one of the times we stayed at this hotel we took our small dog with us; I think they have a special room if you stay with pets, because it was pretty small and with views to the car park, but it was still OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, i am pleased to hear that you found our location in the heart of greenwich so convenient and the team here were so friendly.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again soon!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is our third visit to the Devonport. This was the first time that we had an executive room which was brilliant. The reception staff are always smiling and helpful! The rooms are comfortable. The location is excellent. It costs £5 to park and you can leave your car all weekend! All of the historical sites are within walking distance. So convenient and so homely. Just realise there is no air con so in the summer the rooms can feel hot.also the breakfast is good and the female waitresses and staff very helpful. However it dies seem a small room for a lot of people! It was a ten minute taxi ride to the 02! So simple! Great bars and restaurants very near the hotel! A lovely relaxing stay! Thank you

Room Tip: Executive room overlooking the park- you would have to ask for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our Reception team so firendly and helpful. Unfortunatly we do not have air con however come the summer er have a large stock of fans and cooling units for use by our guests.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again son for another relaxing stay!

Kidn Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We usually stay at this hotel when in Greenwich and the staff are faultless. It has great coffee & lounge facilities, in addition to a very good breakfast.

The drawbacks are hard beds, lots of noise at night in the far end of the hotel at night and they've introduced a £5 parking charge which is not mentioned anywhere on the booking site.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the far end of the hotel, which overlooks the old graveyard, as it is usually very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, i am pleased to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and enjoy our lounge facilities. Our mattresses are Sealy mattresses and whilst we recieve good feedback on their quality i fully appreciate that individual preferance does vary significantly. Our parking charges have been in place for over a year now and are very competitivly priced in comparison to other hotels in the local area. The information regardign parking is clearly displayed on our website under the 'travelling by car' section.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport House again soon!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights it was every thing it said on their web site and more,
staff were so helpful and nothing was a problem, the room was very comfortable the location was great and with Jamie Olivers Italian
round the corner it was great

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, your comments regarding the helpfulness of the team are particularly pleasing. I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House for another great stay soon!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in London
#235 Business Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
#320 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 94 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
Devonport House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonport House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.