We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on Gower Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staunton Hotel to your Saves list
Staunton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #481 of 1,049 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An oasis on Gower Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

A lovely hotel, excellent staff, spotlessly clean. Our rooms were large and clean with new towels and linens. The bathrooms were new and nicely done. They served a wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, and full English breakfast as well. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.
A nice sitting room in the reception area. Everything was bright and cheery.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    114
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
67
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

This hotel is amazing, large spotless rooms
great staff & the owner Mr Gigi is fantastic, so helpful, a real gentleman, I have stayed in many hotels in london over the past 25 years & this number 1 by a mile. great value for money.
Thanks for everything Mr Gigi & staff, see you in june 07

Gabriel Gabriel

  • Liked — clean large rooms , great staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

I stayed here for two nights while on business in London. The single room I was given seemed perfectly adequate. It fronted on to a side street off Gower Street but the traffic noise was hardly noticeable. A safe in the wardrobe was a nice touch and there wasn't an extra charge for it. Surprisingly however there was no hair dryer. It didn't matter to me as I had no use for one but they are generally part of standard hotel facilities at this stage. I had no problem sleeping: Gower Street is quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. The following morning however I experienced the one problem that has caused this to be a less than enthusiastic review: the shower didn't work properly. Try as I might I could not get the water above slightly lukewarm. The result was my being more refreshed than I wanted to at that time of day! After the generous full English breakfast I mentioned the shower problem to the lady on reception and asked her to have it fixed. On the second morning however the problem persisted. Another cold shower, on a cold November morning, to start the day! This is enough for me to seek alternative accommodation the next time I'm in London. A pity, because it is a pleasant enough hotel with friendly staff and the location is great for the West End.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

Stayed here in july 2006, had a very nice stay. Hotel is clean, private and friendly. I had a nice long conversation with the gentleman running the hotel. He always greeted me in or out and really knows how to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was good, room was a bit small, but we are talking about London. For the price, you wont find anything better. Nice area by the way, close to the British Museum.

  • Liked — Management
  • Disliked — small size of room
  • Tips/Secrets — close to british museum
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Had a great stay at the Staunton in September and would recomend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced centrally located small hotel in London. Located very close to the British Museum and also Oxford Street. Nice comfortable rooms and bathrooms and a decent hearty breakfast in the morning. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

The Staunton is a clean hotel with bigger rooms than you´d expect in this price range in Central London. If you´re on the top floor beware there is no lift in this hotel.
Staff are very friendly and efficient and breakfast, which is included in the price, is served within a few minutes.
The hotel is superbly situated in Bloomsbury, within walking distance of four tube stations (Goodge Street, Tottenham Court Road, Euston Square and Russel Square) and numorous bus stops. When going to or coming from places outside Central London there is always a train or bus taking you practically to your door step. Within a 15 minutes walk you'll find theatreland and a vast amount of restaurants, pubs and shops, so there is never a need for late night travel. Superb.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

We travelled to London with friends to see a show, have a meal and do some sightseeing. After viewing various hotels on the internet we eventually booked the Staunton hotel from the reviews it was given. We were NOT disappointed. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms very spacious, clean and ideal for what we wanted. The location was excellent for what we wanted, just off Tottenham Court Road. We had 4 rooms in this hotel and we were all very happy. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staunton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.