We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sussex Place | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #787 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic but Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here as part of an inclusive Theatre package. Room a little tired but clean. Breakfast basic but adequate. Overall a reasonable hotel, convenient for Paddington Station and close to bus/tube routes into the centre of London, front rooms facing Sussex Gardens a little noisy as it is a busy road. Would consider again for 1 or 2 nights at most.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Sussex Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    96
    186
    103
    86
See reviews for
101
169
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went there and checked in around 10pm... when we went to the room, the heater wasn't working. Somebody went to the room to take a look and left saying it will find a replacement. We waited for an hour and still no replacement. We called the front desk and said they are sorry they can't do anything and we just have TO BEAR THE NIGHT WITHOUT HEATING!!! we were dying and it was very late. A very bad service and the front desk wasn't even courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

On arriving to the hotel, £11 Taxi ride from St Pancras, the building itself looks very impressive. However on entering the reception area it was like going back in time! 20 years to be precise.

Check in was hassle free and we where advised our rooms where over the road in a separate building. We had booked 3 double rooms which where all on the same floor. The rooms and the whole interior of the building looked like something out of a 80's horror movie!

In fairness the room was a reasonable size and clean just very out dated. The shower was alright but remember to bring your own shower gel as only a bar of soap was provided. The view was ok over looking a row of cute town houses.

Breakfast was average and self service! Overall it was more of a hostel feel rather than a hotel, there are many better hotels in London for the price! I would only stay again as a last resort.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just got back from our holiday in London...whilst there we stayed at the Alexandra Hotel in Paddington. We were given a room on the top floor and at firat we had to go up 4 storages by foot because the lift was not working. We had to ask ourselves if the lift was working, if we hadn't asked no one was going to tell us. Our room was clean and tidy everyday but the bathroom was too small for us and was nothing like that showing in the picture. It was a nightmare using the bathroom. Breakfast was a basic one but we were always greeted by the employees working at the dinning every morning going down to breakfast. No wifi in the hotel, upon asking we were told that we hadt to pay ourselves to get it...what hotel does not have wifi nowadays for their clients?? Well I must say that I would think it over and over again before staying in this hotel. The satisfaction part was that we were very close to the underground and the station with loads of restaurants and everyday needs shop situated near and around the hotel. Hope my review would have its benefits for customers who will stay after us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I would strongly recommend anyone wanting nice accommodation in London, DO NOT stay here. Service was terrible, rooms not as described and after that a week later when I was back in Australia found I had been charged twice for the room I stayed in for only one night. Terrible experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel Location is great to access Paddington Station. Only a 5 minute walk! On arrival the reception staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient in allocating our twin room. I was visiting London with a friend for 2 days so wanted a hotel which was clean, comfortable, good value and offered breakfast. The bedroom was small and the shower room very compact not suitable for large people, good job we dont fall into this category!! On a positive side the beds were comfortable, the room was tidy and clean towls were provided. There was a good choice at breakfast. Overall the hotel was good value for a basic no frills hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked a double room 6 months in advance, only to arrive at the hotel late at night after our flight to find out they didn't have our room. They were not willing to help one bit, would not refund our money, and after 2 hours of arguing we were left on the chilly streets of London (this was during December) to try and find accommodation. We eventually found one, and went back in the morning to speak to the manager, who also would not give us a refund. Absolutely atrocious. If this hotel existed in Australia, the owners would be in jail pretty soon. During the 3-4 hours we spent there arguing, about 4 - 5 other customers came by in the time also to complain of other problems, such as cold rooms, things not working, and some guy who spoke another language was going ballistic at them over something, obviously they had screwed him over somehow too.

Basically - NEVER STAY HERE, and please spread the word to as many as you can so this place is shut down for good.

Room Tip: DON'T book this place. You will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 1 Sussex Place | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #787 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.