We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a three star establishment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sussex Place | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #741 of 1,073 hotels in London
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not a three star establishment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here one night part of a rail/hotel/show package. Expected a three star only got a one. The outside looks good, reception good and clean. Bedroom! Miniscule comes to mind. Ok it has everthing you need but on a tiny scale. One full size single, one bunkbed size, side by side with about 18 inches in between which you have to squeeze through to small vanity table and wardrobe and then into bathroom. This was the depth of a toilet with a very small sink and tiny shower cubicle all of which were clean but very shabby and mildew and cracked. Hence we did not shower. As if was only one night it was ok, but as I had booked as a treat, I was not impressed. The worst was the breakfast. We were told it was served between 7.30 and 9.15 am. We went down at about 8.50. Again they had utilised every inch of space , drinks under what looked like a stair area. We had to sit in the narrow corrider section, the only seats available at the time.Cereal available, two juices, a yoghurt on the table and Cold boiled eggs, one choice of cheese, one ham and one ? White toast made by a member of staff, and jam. This was adequate but basic. However they started to clear everything away at 8.55. By 9.00am they had stripped all the equipment, washed it and returned it. The last of the toast that had been made was placed on a plate to get cold. All the cups plates etc were put away. A party of four arrived to ask about breakfast and were told it had finished, ( They had at least another 15 mins.) They left disapointed. Then another couple arrived and they would not be put off, as quite rightly they had payed for this and the time was not up for breakfast. They asked for cups etc. They were very grudgingly given a cup and saucer, but then had to ask for tea bags. They made a cup of tea and had to use a saucer to enable them to get a piece of cold toast and butter it. The staff were looking very annoyed with everyone left in the room. They then proceeded to start hoovering up, and the ( funniest?) last resort was them bringing out a bucket of very strong smelling disinfectant and proceeded to mop up. It was all very embarrasing and as a lot of the guests were foreign, they must think our British hospitality awful. We left the room just before 9.25, felt very rushed and annoyed. If you are just wanting somewhere to stay overnight, don't mind it being tiny and don't really want any breakfast then you might choose this hotel, but if you want a nice experience then I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    121
    191
    103
    78
See reviews for
93
150
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for 3 nights only in early January. It is close to Paddington train station and Hyde garden. However, the washroom is unacceptably small that it is impossible to take a bath properly as one may clean up two walls and the shower curtain as well ! Besides, one may need to open the washroom during use or one may knock his head. Not to mention the overall size of the room is pretty small and the beds are uncomfortable. Will never stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel was part of a Theatre/Hotel package deal. Very convenient to Paddington Station. Small twin room but clean and comfortable. Bathroom could do with a little TLC ie shower cucible was shabby.
Buffet breakfast was very good with five choices of cereal, boiled eggs, ham and cheese. The toast was plentiful which was done by a cheerful member of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel we stayed in for 8 nights and were ecstatic about the high level of service and immaculate cleanliness of the hotel. Our double room came complete with a high definition 48 inch plasma...spectacular city views greeted us from our spectacular window. The bathroom was out of this world!! Never have. Seen a cleaner more spacious bathroom. The shower work amazingly...just the right temperature. We were surprised to find the heated indoor pool along with the 24 hour fitness facilities. Anyone staying here must try the full English breakfast...the most delicious I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a bad experience and spoiled our 5 day stay in London for the poor quality of this accommodation.

The only good feature of this hotel is its location, but with thousands of other units - better and cheaper - on its door step there is absolutely no reason to choose Alexandra.

The welcoming was poor, the staff was never very willing to be nice or helpful.

The room, a twin, was dark, damp, no storage and had a minimal shower where you can hardly fit in. The cleanliness was also poor and for our amazement, we were told that the heating was switched off from 10pm to 6am!

The breakfast was incredibly basic, with no variety and cold bread being served.

Avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This property is quite clean and the staff are very friendly, but unfortunately not an ideal place to stay if you are travelling with a great deal of luggage as the room was quite tiny. Also, the appliance maintenance seems quite inadequate; the television could not be used as the power point seemed either blocked or else damaged some other way. I didn't mind as I don't watch much tv when I travel, but I did think it was rather a dangerous oversight. Also found myself facing a rather rude housekeeping staff member who seemed unhappy when she came to service my room and I asked if she could return later. I gather the kitchen/cleaning staff don't speak much English which caused some confusion on the day I arrived.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Was initially put off by comments on trip advisor but having travelled a lot glad I knew what to expect in London hotels. Small but very clean room and bathroom. Close to many tourist locations and Hyde park/ padding ton station. I think he value is good as you get what you pay for-room was very clean, staff were helpful and think it should be noted -don't expect an hotel in London to be similar to a room in North America. I will stay at Alexandra again-location was great- I stayed for 7 nights and no issues! Thanks for a great stay in London !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 1 Sussex Place | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #741 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.