We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Winchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Howard Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Winchester Hotel
9 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #641 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“London Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The price of this hotel, and the fact that the breakfast was included were the reasons we chose this hotel. The hotel was very conveniently located 2 blocks from the train station. (We had taken the train to London from Paris and were returning the following day). The hotel is very small and doesn't have a lift. It also doesn't have a bellhop so we were grateful that we only had one very small suitcase each to carry up the (very narrow) stairs. The room was very tiny and everything in the hotel was dated. It is difficult when you are working with "old" to get things as clean as I expect in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: The Wifi was available in the lobby with the password but wasn't a strong signal. There was at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    117
    118
    36
    31
See reviews for
62
78
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skegness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel may not be the biggest but we found it clean friendly with a comfortable bed and good breakfast would definitely stop here again we had arranged to meet 2 American friends who were stopping there also and the great location was a major plus point as we were arriving at kings cross

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for those who are using Eurostar, being only about 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross station. This area of London is very busy, however, the hotel is in a very quiet square away from the hustle and bustle. My wife and I have used the hotel on two occasions whilst seeing shows in London and both times were more than pleased with the quality of the hotel and the service provided. The rooms are spotless and welcoming, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts are excellent served in a very clean dining room. one very slight disadvantage is there is no lift, however, this is a very minor problem. I would recommend this hotel whether you are staying for one night or several nights.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel as they look out on to a lovely park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepperton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed one night to get the Eurostar next morning, The rooms are very basic, but spotless. We had a decent cooked breakfast in very clean dining room with friendly staff. There is not a lift there, but for us this was not a problem. Ideal location for St Pancras, ideal for a short stay.

Room Tip: Again, please be aware there is not a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights to visit New Designers and Collectif clothes shops lol. we both had single rooms which where basic and compact but very clean with a comfortable bed, (what more do you need) and a lovely view of the park. The staff very friendly, polite and helpful. The 2 minute walk to london underground was a god send enabled us to do all the sights in the four days we were there. will deffinatly stay there again and highly recommend it. Oh and the price was really great too well well worth it.

Only downside some folk might find is the stairs which are a bit much after a trashing day walking but its no different than being in a house and having to use the stairs there !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ideally located 5 minutes away from King's Cross Station, the Underground and the Eurostar. The rooms are fairly basic, but the bed was comfortable and the rooms are very clean. For the price you can't go wrong. There are a wealth of pubs and restaurants nearby for all budgets. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Only stayed one night, for easy access to St.Pancras and a trip on the Eurostar to Paris. That said, the location served us well, but I'd never stay there for extended time. It's a lovely small hotel on the outside, across from a park, near some interesting areas of the city, and the lobby and other interiors are quite stylishly decorated. However, the bathroom is an example of all the wrong design decisions. It has a flimsy frosted glass door (might as well be a gauze curtain) and there's no shower enclosure, just sloping floor and drain, no hand-held shower nozzle, just a high fixed outlet up on the wall. No shelves for toiletries, clothes. What a nightmare! And a huge closet/cabinet stuck in the corner of our room took up way too much space. What were they thinking?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Winchester Hotel

Address: 9 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Winchester London
Hotel Howard Winchester
Howard Winchester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.