We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great new style rooms would book again at the right price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London - Docklands to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #303 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“great new style rooms would book again at the right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night to see a bit of London. Its about 25 minutes to central London on the DLR and the Emirates Cable car is outside. We took the car over to the O2 and back again.
Great check in, they recognised my Platinum status and did upgrade to a front O2 view room. It was a bit on the small side but it is in London. It was clean, bed was mega comfy and I enjoyed the luxury of it.
Outside the hotel is a Tesco express and another Spa type place that sold breakfast items, coffee and take away type food. There was a couple of restaurants nearby. I never tried the swimming pool but it looked nice. It was a very strong chlorine smell though as you stood in reception.
Never ate breakfast as too busy to shop before my train home ! Grabbed a coffee at the kiosk at the DLR station. The hotel did give a free drink voucher for platinum status. The drinks were pricey and I thought £3 for a diet coke was a bit excessive.
I would stay here again at the right price. I got an absolute bargain at about £65 for a Saturday night in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear reviwer,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you found your room comfortable. I am also pleased to know that you are a regular IHG guest. Please note I will pass your comments about the internet and bar prices to the relevant teams.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards

M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    417
    165
    73
    54
See reviews for
159
380
64
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Felt very clean as soon as I arrived given the ground floor location of its swimming pool (the reception smelled like chlorine). Got a nice room with the view of the river ... breakfast was not bad (usual British fare: sausage, bacon, eggs, beans, bread, fruits, coffee/tea). Location is not the best if you plan to travel for leisure and go to downtown (lots of train transfers), but perfect if you're in it for any trade show at ExCel, as it is just a few minutes away by walking. By cab from the Tower Bridge it cost me around 20-something pounds.

Only 2 hours of free wi-fi per 24 hours by the way, then they charge differently per package you choose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank your for your feedback. I am glad you chose to stay with us. The hotel's location is very convenient for Excel visitors so it is for the O2 audience. Also with the Emirates cable cars there is extra conectivity to the Greenwich.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located near airport, boat docking and trains ideal for discovering London. Hotel with all the things your need. A bit simple but OK. Staff a bit on "the automatic pilot" but efficient and professional. We did not use the bar or restarant but they seemed OK.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room not just above the converence part because of noise and book a room with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for your kind comments. I am glad you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Docklands and were happy with it. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked through last minute secret rooms so paid a little less, good location for excel. Rooms nice clean and airy.
Leaving before 7 and disgusted that no breakfast is available when asking for nearest place that would be able to serve breakfast between 6-7 am I was told no idea probably nowhere offered 2 croissants for ten pounds!! Despite them offering full buffet breakfast for that price at 7 am!!! Tesco metro next door so been and got 4 for a pound

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I regret that we werent able to offer you an early breakfast option. Please remain assured that we have highlighted this issue to our Executive Chef and he will soon be setting up an alternative breakfast option. In the mean time
Thankyou for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel for anyone looking to stay close to the ExCeL Centre. The rooms were large, clean, comfortable and modern with all of the amenities that you would expect. Every member of the staff was very helpful from my phone call the day before arrival to my very last moments as I checked out. Aside from wifi being a bit expensive, there isn't another thing that I would change.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor. I am glad that you were happy with the hotel. Hotel's location is ideal for a visit to the Exceln exhibition centre. I am also happy that you found my colleagues helpful during your stay. I will certainly pass your feedback about internet prices to the relevant teams. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

With Best regards

M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza at Docklands for one night while attending the Playhouse theatre to see "Spamalot", lovely hotel, very, very, very comfortable bed we slept like babies. The breakfast was first class and plenty of it as well, yum yum! I used the swimming pool, sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi and it was great, nice and clean and very relaxing. The staff were very nice and helpfull, a special thanks to the young barman who made me a
non-alchoholic cocktail it was delicious, we also had a lovely meal in the restaurant, and it was great that we did not have to rush to leave as it was a 12.00 oclock midday check out. The hotel is ideally situated if your visiting the Greenich, O2 or Docklands area. The journey from central London was ok but we had to change trains several times, this was due mainly because the central and district lines were closed for maintenance but at least we know our way around now which is good for future reference. We would definately stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am pleased that you found the hotel bedroom comfortable. I am also happy that my colleagues were able to impress you with their services. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What can I say about crowne plaza London docklands, well firstly it's a very good hotel and would recommend to anyone. To start with the rooms are very nice, I booked a queen room and a twin room and I couldn't fault either of the really. In the twin the beds were nice, big and very soft (the way I like them). The view at night is fantastic with the Thames following just outside and the o2 arena lighting up the sky. The only problem with the rooms is that the London city airport isn't to far away but I only noticed one plane which isn't bad for two nights stay.
The service in the hotel was excellent with the breakfast staff helping my dad & brother, who both have coeliac disease, and got them a gluten free breakfast made from scratch. The buffet was good and had a variety of different hot items as well as your normal selection of cereal and pastry items.
With the emirates cable car outside of the hotel this is a great way of getting onto the jubilee underground line with a great view of the city if you go on a clear day. And if your not a fan of heights you could also get the DLR which is an light railway service which can drop you off at numerous different underground lines.
So overall I would give this 9/10 and it would be 10/10 if there was more to do around the area!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you and your family had a good time at the hotel. Yes rightly said the hotel has beautiful views of the docks and the O2. With station right at the back of the hotel you are also not too far from Central London connections too. We look forward to your next visit here.

Best Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#180 Family Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#207 Business Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.