We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious accommodation with good location to O2 Arena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London - Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #241 of 1,073 hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fife
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spacious accommodation with good location to O2 Arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked twin room and it was spacious for London. There is meant to be complimentary still & sparkling water, although only still bottle was there.
Had to fight hard to get breakfast included, even although my booking stated "complimentary breakfast buffet" on hotel description. Eventually this was granted but I really did have to stand my ground to achieve it. Waitress at breakfast was wonderful, very cheerful and polite - just what you want to start your day. A good selection for breakfast.
The aircon had a dripping/clicking noise which drove me mad and I eventually had to switch off during the night.
There is only 1 pillow each. You can phone for extras, but why not put them in the wardrobe like most other hotels?
The Emirates chairlift is just across the road and takes you right to the O2 - a nice experience in itself.
Concierge were very helpful in organising taxis and luggage.
If they sorted the small points out then I'd have marked them 4/5 (very good), but at £190 a night then I expect a higher level of detail in which case, they only deserve "Average" rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am grateful four your valued suggestions. I have taken them on board and forwarded it to the relevant teams. I sincerely regret that there was a confusion about your inclusive breakfast and it took a while to resolve this at your check in. As far as the airconditioning noise is concerned I am very sorry to hear these. Could you please forward me the room number at mohammad@crowneplazadocklands.co.uk so I can have the room checked with our maintenance team. I am however also pleased that you found the team and service in the breakfast room and concierge team friendly and to your liking. I will pass this on to them personally. Once again thank you for taking the time out to give us a feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Thank You

Kindest Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    340
    136
    69
    38
See reviews for
132
311
54
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great hotel in a top location. The staff care. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Out of town but well worth the easy ride on the DLR. Compares really well with Canary Wharf hotels and much better than City centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also that you liked the location. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Drove to the hotel which was very easy to get to and has a paid (half regular price) car park which you can pay as add on to your hotel bill. Check in was exceptionally friendly and helpful as was reception throughout.
Easy access to the South Bank via the Emirates ski lift across the Thames or of course Tube if you prefer or coming back later at night.
Spa was fantastic well equipped, staff very helpful - I didn't use the gym area but lots of people did seemed very popular.
We ate in the hotel one evening , service was slow but that was no issue for us and the food was worth waiting for - it was really good.
Room was well equipped clean and housekeeping were most helpful for extra coffee etc
There are also a couple of shops nearby - minute walk - one is a Tesco Extra if you need to get snacks for a day out or travel with kids and need any extras
All round I really couldn't fault it for us it had everything we needed and the service was great, friendly and informative .

Room Tip: We were overlooking the car park but hotel very well insulated so no noise at all and great black ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Ukmisssixty,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write about your stay.

It makes me very happy to know you enjoyed our services and your time with us to the fullest. It is our aim to create a perfect stay every time and it seems we have done just that during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Best regards,

Mari Irazusta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Docklands for 1 night for my boyfriends birthday. Upon my arrival, The smell of chlorine from the spa hit me so hard, it is extremely strong and even travelled the floor we were staying on.

I was greeted by the rude receptionist who had asked me to pay £50.00 deposit by card, I told him I would prefer to pay cash and I was advised before my stay that I could pay cash. He completely ignored me and I felt he was rude.

I checked into my room- it was spacious and the bathroom was lovely. There was only ONE robe on the bed, when it was a double room for two. Also, the heating did not work and had to wait for someone from maintenance to come fix it. This was not ideal especially due to the recent freezing weather. Eventually, it was fixed but it did not meet my expectations. Another issue I had, was at 1030am the maid charged into my room without knocking properly, even though it clearly states that its 12pm checkout.

All in All, my experience was not the best but luckily, my boyfriend enjoyed the weekend, that was the main aim.

Room Tip: avoid 3rd floor- u just overlook the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Ms Claire823,

I thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I have shared your comments with the relevant colleagues who will be able to ensure your experience is not repeated.

I would like to thank you one more time for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as I wish you will give us an opportunity to look after you again.

Kind regards,

Mari Irazusta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for 1 night over the Christmas holidays. Hotel was extremely clean and our room was spacious and newly decorated. Staff friendly and helpful. A good selection at the buffet breakfast - hot and cold food. Good location for getting to O2 and into central London. Swimming pool and spa was immaculate and helpful being able to borrow towels at no extra cost. Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Ms Christine B

Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here during Christmas. Thank you for mentioning that you found the staff helpful and friendly. I have also taken notes of your comments about the breakfast food and the Spa service. I will pass it to both the morning team and the leisure teams here. Yes, the hotel's location is superb with great views of the Docklands and is very handy for a visit to the O2 if needed. I look forward to seeing you here again.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 1 night as we were flying out early the next day. We had a very good experience, with a quiet room, on site taxi company for traveling to the Airport and quality service when needed. A great option if looking for an Airport Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you chose us to say with us during your recent stay before your early morning flight. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel room and services comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recently returned from a stay at this hotel. Booked through 'hoteldirect.co.uk' 18 days before and even emailed this hotel direct to confirm my booking details which they confirmed 10 days before my stay.
Arrived to be told "all double rooms, booked, the hotel is full because of the boatshow. I can offer you a twin room?" When I enquired why as I had booked a double??? I was told "sometimes with online bookings by the time the booking request is received by us it is too late to guarantee a double" When I explained to the receptionist that I had actually received an email from 'Crowne Plaza' Docklands 10 days before my arrival confrming my booking details stating a double room" she just shrugged her shoulders and said 'sorry, its a nice twin room" !
On a more positive note the hotel and our 'twin room' was clean, staff pleasent and helpfull, food in the brasserie was fine, ice maker didn't work on the 4th floor and our bathroom was very dark -too dark to see properly to put on make-up or shave? The bottom line is if they had told me they did not have a double room in their email, I wouldn't have booked !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your original room request wasn't honoured at check in. I also would like to apologise that the team couldnt offer you a better alternative room. Please remain assured that I have forwarded your comments to both the reservations team and the front desk team to look into.
In the mean time I thank you for your feedback and I also request you to give us another opportunity to prove that we can overcome our shortcomings.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#199 Business Hotel in London
#204 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.