We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London - Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #241 of 1,073 hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Mine experience might be a one off one but i list them out:
Heating did not work in sub zero degrees, only did when you leave the room. it was probably allergic to human beings, who knows

key card hardly worked, i thot i was in the wrong room

called someone to fix the heating, but never came and had to go down myself to get a mini heater.

staff were friendly however.

room was linked to anotha as a door was separating the two rooms ad i could hear the couple laugh..and so on...
overall disappointed for the price....
breakfast was good tho.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable night during your stay here recently due to heating not working in the room. I would like to apologise to you for the inconvenience this caused. I am also sorry to hear that your key didn't work properly and also to know that that you found your room noisy as it had an interconnecting door to another room.
Ms Harriett I would appreciate if you could kindly get in touch with us directly at your earliest conveninece as I would like to know more about your stay and hopefully rectify the shortcomings.

Kindest Regards
Mohammad Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    340
    136
    69
    38
See reviews for
131
311
54
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for a concert I attended at the 02 and it was OK. The rooms were nice with a comfortable bed but the price for drinks in the bar were very expensive. Didnt like the £16 car parking charge when they had a big empty car park and I'd paifd the standard room rack rate.

Breakfast was average but £20 for a buffet help yourself English breakfast is very expensive but the scrambled eggs were good.

Just because they are in a central position, they shouldnt sit on their laurels and not sure if I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your valued feedback. I will ensure that your comments regarding prices in the bar and the car park charges get communicated to the relevant teams. I am happy otherwise that you found the hotel location suitable and also happy that you were comfortable in the room.
We look forward to serving you again.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Guest services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in that hotel last year. We liked the room especially it was with the beautifull view to the river on the high floor. The staff was really kind and helpfull. I ordered dinner into the room, the service was fast but i was disappointed with the food which was overcooked so i didnt even eat it :(
The next day we visited bar, i liked the atmosphere there and beatifull design.
I was really happy with our stay in Crowne Plaza Docklands and will visit it again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you found your room good and also liked the view. I regret that the room service dinner didn’t meet your expectations. Please remain assured that we have forwarded this feedback to our kitchen team. Having said that we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Currently staying at this hotel. My experience.. the hotel room is perfectly functional, clean and meets the needs of a business visitor. I'm only giving it an average rating because of my experience in the bar. I've had dinner there for the last two nights. On the first night, I was served the wrong food - the person I was with had finished their meal by the time my correct meal was given to me.. I had to ask for the table to be cleared, despite the fact that a drinks order was taken in the meantime, General lack of attention to detail. Last night.. no napkins provided; no-one asked how my meal was (it was fine); no-one asked if I needed anything else (ketchup would have been nice..!).. again, a general lack of attention to detail.
See the other reviews.. At BEST, this hotel is average..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I aprpeciate you have highlighted areas that we need to review and retrainin our team in the bar with. I will make sure that your feedback is forwarded to them. I would like to apologise to you for the delay and inconvenience caused in the bar. I am happy that you found the rooms and other facilities otherwise acceptable and to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Booked a room in 2 months in advancea as having our Christmas dinner/dance there on the day rang to check if everything was ok to find out that room had been cancelled. Eventually they found us a room and upgraded it but no real apology. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, location was great for getting to London easily. All the staff were polite and helpful when we were there. Even with all that said I would go there again

Room Tip: View Rooms face the docks and you can see across London, room at back face DLR, no really quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Ms Sarah T

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise to you for the delay at your check in. I will share this with the team at the front desk. I appreciate that despite this you found the hotel and services pleasant and that you are planning to return.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I chose this hotel due to it's pool (which was quite nice). The one thing that drove me ***NUTS*** was every day when I went up the slow lifts to my room the keycard failed to work. Every single day I had to trapse back to reception to get my card fixed. Some times it took two attempts to fix it. The staff seemed to be under the impression that this was a natural occurance due to me being crazy enough to either go to the excel centre or a shopping centre with standard security systems! Funny that because Excel is the largest event hall nearby and the shopping centre is attached to the nearest large office district. None of the other hotels in my regular trips to London caused this inconvenience. The staff on reception rarely apologised for the problem (it was my fault after all!) Having a key/keycard is a really basic concept that a large hotel chain needs to get right and looking back at the previous guests with the same problem and the frankly weak excuses repeatedly being given make me think that the hotel is not bothered about inconveniencing it's customers and getting a problem fixed. Not what I'd expect from Crowne Plaza and unfortunately puts me off staying in any other crowne plaza's. The hotels shuttle bus taking you for free into canary wharf was quick and convenient.
I stayed here a while ago on Business for a week, mainly visiting canary wharf.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a crow bar to get into your room when the keycard fails (every day).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am very sorry to hear about your poor experience with our key card and more so that it was handled inefficiently by the team I would like to sincerely apologise to you on behalf of them. I would like to thank you for the review as it highlights the areas that we need to seriously concentrate on. Having said that I have discussed the issue with our team and also without saying I will be reconducting a training with each one of them. I am very sorry that on this occasion we werent able to provide our promise of a seamless guest experience but I would like to reassure you that we will try in all way possible to improve in the areas mentioned. I would therefore like to request you to give us another opportunity for us to prove ourselves.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the time we arrived (early) the staff could not do enough. Mohammad the Manager arranged for our room to be available early and took us through for breakfast. We were welcomed with a huge smile, and attentive staff.
Our room was spotless and the party in the evening was great.
Special thanks to Kelly on reception who was really helpful and capped off a great star.

Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Go for the river view - just adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Mr Tony L

Thank you for a lovely comment. I am pleased that you had a great time here I will let housekeeping know about your good comments and no need to mention I have already shown your great review to Kelly too. She is truly a great asset. I hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#199 Business Hotel in London
#204 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.