We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade to your Saves list
The Jade
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel) (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Europe
1 review
“noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

the room was ok, clean and functional. I was given a ground floor room and was glad of it as the ones in the basement looked really tiny.
My night was almost sleepless due to the continuos noise, it sounded like water going through pipes. Also, i was nextdoor to the lift and the "doors closing" message was very loud.
The bed was comfy and the general cleanliness was very good. The shower room was modern and the shower very good.

Room Tip: do not get the rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    63
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
43
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NRW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Clean and modern room and bath. Saw some comments about noise from the nearby tube line, but rooms ending with 01 and 02 to the front of Hogarth road, are quiet and very comfy. OK, there is not too much space for 2 of you, but everything else is very OK for the price... ! Short way to the tube station Earl's court or to Bus 74 on Cromwell road to Knightsbridge. Nice restaurants, pubs and supermarkets just around the corner.An empty fridge to fill, microwave oven, cups, glasses and bowls to be filled and a sink, to wash up. Bed was just 135 cm, but comfy,TV flat and of a good size.There was NO noise from the tube or other guests. Booked online via Agoda and it was just 130€ for the standart double.The only concern is the missing storage room for lagguage. The friendly staff, will only store the suitcases just in front of the desk of the lobbby...no idea, wether this is a really safe place, when other people are coming in and outin busy times.
But I´ll come back again for room 202. I loved it! And the price as well, for that location.

Room Tip: ask for room to Hogarth road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in a single room on the 4th floor with big window. It was absolutely clean, neat and tidy. 5 mins walk to the nearest tube station, plenty of restaurants, cafes, grocery stores in the neighborhood, Couple of stations to Harrods, 15 mins by tube to Oxford and Bond, and 25 mins to Heathrow. House-keeper should pay more attention to detail. During my stay, they kept replacing the wrong things, they either didn't replace the things that I'd used or they replaced those things that I didn't even need, e.g. shampoo, tea bags...So at the end of the stay, I ended up having 6 bottles of body lotion and no conditioner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The main problem with this recently renovated and practical hotel is the noise from the nearby train. My room was small but it was all modern, clean and I had space for everything.

In the closet there is one part for your clothes the other has a small fridge, sink and kettle with instant coffee, tea and cookies. Since there is no breakfast served at the hotel this is very thoughtful. Plasma TV, tiny desk, small but stylish shower room and comfortable bed.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and the lobby is very spacious and welcoming.
It is a very short walk from Earls Court station but this is really the main reason I would not come back here again. I did not particularly like this area and the noise was awful while trying to sleep at night. I woke up every hour or so! The next day I purchased earplugs but I still slept badly. In the morning I had to turn the TV on so that the train noise wouldn't bother me.
I am very sensitive to noise so this was driving me crazy!

Apart from that the hotel is lovely so if you are not bothered by the noise and like this area then do stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in process was straightforward, and wifi was free. Unfortunately the positives stop there. The room was tiny, a single bed pushed up against the wall and being able to lie in bed and reach the other wall indicates how small. The "kitchenette" was a sink and kettle shoved into half of the wardrobe. The microwave was placed so high I couldn't reach it. The remaining wardrobe space was so small that I could only hang my clothes in sideways so as not to crush them. The room appeared clean on first look, but subsequently discovered long black hairs in both the bedding and the towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was so small, there wasn't enough room to dry myself on coming out of the shower.
No restaurant on site, so no breakfast or dinner options available. Disappointing considering the price being paid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights and loved our stay. I requested for two twin beds and a window since they also offer rooms without a window. The hotel has free wifi with good signal.

The room was clean and had modern decoration. The pillows and sheets were clean and crisp.

The bathroom was tiny but clean. My only complaint here is that the bathroom door was made of frosted glass. It's weird that you see whatever the person is doing inside the bathroom.

The front desk was also very helpful and friendly.

The location was very convenient. It's safe to walk from the station to the hotel at night. A quiet neighborhood. It's approximately 5-minute walk from Earl's Court Station. It's also in the same tube line if you are taking the tube from Heathrow, ride is about 30 minutes.

All in all, when I re-visit London, I will definitely stay at The Jade again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had the impression that I had booked a hotel apartment; found a small sink and a microwave in the wardrobe. Other than that, the room was good, clean (amazing bathroom!), shame the noise from the tube and from other guests.
Staff are friendly and easygoing, its hard to tell whether they are if they actually work there. May go back, but Ill look around a bit more in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Address: 52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jade 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Court London
Hotel Green Court
The Jade London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.