We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Jade to your Saves list
The Jade
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convenient location and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights occasionally since our flights were cancelled and need to find a hotel immediately at the airport. We chose there since it was on the Picadilly line that we can directly access from the Heathrow airport. It was just a 2 mins walk to the Earl's Court tube station and there was a big Sainsbury supermarket nearby and about 10 mins walk to the Natural Science Museum.

The room was not big but spacious enough for a short period of stay. It has a microwave so that we can buy some microwave meals and eat inside the room. The room was clean and kept in good condition. Sound proof seemed good too cos I didn't hear much noises from outside. We were provided a password for the wifi and the speed was good. No need to log in from time to time.

For negative points, the mattress was not good enough that I feel my back very tired after woke up. They didn't change the bed sheet during our 3 night stay. The sink in the bathroom was not that well designed and easily get all wet. They have replaced many shampoo for us but no shower gel even it was used up.

Overall we enjoyed during the stay and recommend this hotel if you are looking for one at reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
32
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the jade on a few occasions and as always staff are friendly, rooms are bright and clean, over all I would recommend The Jade to anybody hoping to stay in London. Nearby tube station is 2 mins walk and earls court is a stones throw so yes the Jade ticks all the boxes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2013. We reserved a double room.
Herewith out positive and negative points;

Positive
+ Clean room
+ Close to earl's court underground station (5 min walk)
+ nice neighbourhood

Negative (-)
- Very small room (smaller than the 15 m² mentioned on booking.com)
- Noise from the trains passing (there was noise from the trains passing the hotel, we had a room at the back of the hotel)
- Doors did not close properly, the hallway light entered the room at the bottom of the door
- Small double bed (only 1m40 width)
- No wifi access, however this was mentioned on the website, we think the wifi did not reach the back of the hotel
- Room was renovated and clean, some buttons in the bathroom were not properly attached and came of...
- We had 1 window at the back of the hotel, the view was awfull, we looked at a dump of the used materials of the renovation

Room Tip: As for a room at the front of the hotel and choose a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This property recently was completed renovated and their hard work really shows. Everything in the new is brand new and worked very well. While the room was a bit narrow, it really had everything that I needed for week in London. The refrigerator, microwave and sink were a big help for those morning and nights when I just wanted to heat something up in my room. The front office staff was outstanding! If only every hotel could learn from this group! My bathroom was very nice with a beautiful shower but the toilet was in a pretty confined space. WONDERFUL and REAL air conditioning! A real help as it was really hot and I heard many other tourist complain that they had poor A/C in their rooms. Easy walk just down the street to Earl's Court restaurants, grocery stores and the tube station make this a great choice. Book with confidence!

Room Tip: Take a curtain clip with you as the curtains do let in a bit of light in the morning if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

An acceptable price in central London, 2-3 minutes to metro station. Got a double room, with air conditioner,shampoo ,soap , MICROWAVE , small FRIDGE, surprised me a lot. Free wifi is given with room card. My room has stairs, so it makes the room more big in vision (about 15 square meters). The tv is big, nice room for this price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located. It's just a70-100 meters away from Earl's Court tube station. The check in was quick. In fact they had everything ready and the check in was complete in less than a minute. The room, a double room. It was a small room. Keep in mind that this is London and the rooms in most hotels are really small. I have stayed in similar hotels in London before but this room was 2/3rd the size of double rooms in similar hotels I have stayed in. The room was comfortable, clean and well lit. There is a TV and DVD player. You can borrow DVDs from the hotel DVD library. The closet is very small and has an in built sink and a microwave oven in it. The bed was comfortable. I didn't eat at the hotel. There are plenty of eating options just a few meters away from the hotel. They had free wi-fi. I liked the hotel because of the price I paid, the central location and because it was neat and clean. Lastly I stayed here in July and the airconditioning was a boon. Most other London hotels in the same price range do not have airconditioning. I would definitely stay here again. Its perfect if you want a nice place to crash at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room was a standard double which was very small but ingeniously designed to provide a very clean, boutique feel. It provided a great shower, microwave, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. However, the double bed was small and it would not accommodate a larger built couple. Sadly our room 105 backed onto the railway line which did interrupt our sleep. I would certainly recommend the hotel which is in an excellent location but suggest you select a deluxe double which I assume would be to the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Address: 52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jade 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Court London
Hotel Green Court
The Jade London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.