We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London bargain...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cardiff Hotel to your Saves list
Cardiff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #545 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“London bargain...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Cardiff Hotel is situated on a lovely old square about a block from Paddington Station. It is not fancy. It is basic. But it is clean and the people are very friendly and helpful. I arrived a little early, tired and exhausted and the girl checked and they got my room ready right away. I was very greatful. I had a single room. Again, plain vanilla, small shower, but I had a window overlooking the square. It was amazingly quiet in the room considering it is right in the middle of a very busy area. But the big pluses are the cost and the proximity to Paddington. It can't be beat. They have a very nice breakfast room downstairs. And there are plenty of restaurants right in the next block or so for dinner. The Cardiff makes London affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear mhmac,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in such a well thought out and intelligent way, your efforts are wonderful and in the true spirit of Tripadvisor.
If I may quote from you review : -
"Situated on a lovely old [garden] square"
" I was very grateful"
"Amazingly quiet"
"The big pluses are the cost and proximity to paddington"
"It can't be beat"
"The Cardiff Makes London Affordable"
We all think your brilliant.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    229
    140
    40
    28
See reviews for
122
84
114
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sask
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I loved my little room at the Cardiff Hotel. It was bright, warm, clean and pretty quiet which is all I need. It was small, but my suitcase fit easily under the bed. The bathroom is also small, but I don't need a big one. If you want a loo in your room, you obviously have to give up space. Travel lightly. All the staff were helpful. I loved the old-London feel to this hotel and kind of wish they wouldn't do renovations. I like upper floors, but keep in mind there is no elevator.

Room Tip: I always pick an upper floor that faces away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Emma L,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. All the team at the Cardiff Hotel love to read the honest positive opinions of their hard and often unglamorous work.
Your kind words will help to motivate everyone here to continue their best fantastic efforts.
We All thank you, and for that we all think your Wonderful !!
Best regards
The Cardiff Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just minutes walk from paddington station. The room is a bit small but you got what you paid for. The staffs are really helpful and the breakfast is free. You will get better connection to their wifi if you are close to their lobby, otherwise the wifi connection is really weak.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Cory K,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

All of us at the Cardiff Hotel think your generous and Wonderful !

You'll be pleased to learn that we have up graded our free WiFi system so it now has 7 transmitters and good download speeds plus extra incoming broadband lines, we now get requests from people staying in neighbouring property's to log onto our system so as they can enjoy a fast and strong connection...... : )

Thank you for your other points about our great central location,
Our all you can eat Free breakfast,
And our Fantastic staff,
All great points.

Warm regards from all of The Cardiff Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nicely situated close to Paddington station. The Courtyard opposite the hotel always seemed to be a hub of activity. The room was very clean, if a little on the small side. Reception staff were charming and seemed to know a lot about the area. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the reception for their tips on a good room. The girl at the desk gave me a pleasant one overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Elisabeth M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,
Yes we are proud of our great location in central London, especially as the hotel faces onto one of London's beautiful traditional garden squares, the location couldn't be better.
Our team take great pride in keeping the rooms very clean and our reception staff have a wealth of knowledge about London, indeed they often have people staying in other local hotels coming in to ask questions that other hotel receptionists couldn't answer.
We always do this with a smile...... : )
Best regards.
The Cardiff Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for a night, in a "triple room" consisting of a small double and small single. The room was clean(ish), the shower/toilet very "cosy". There were 2 of us sharing - I dread to think what it would be like with 3!
Breakfast was good.
Great Location (2 Mins from Paddington).
Cheap and Cheerful....I guess is the best description.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear 1BigSean,
Thank you for your taking the time review.
Our room size is the same or better than average for central London.
Without wanting to sound trite one of the many factors involved is the fact that Central London is one of the worlds most expensive property areas, if we doubled the floor area of our rooms we would have to double the room rates we charge.
If you want a bigger room they are available but you must be prepared to pay Substantially more.
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Excellent location, just 1 block away from Paddington station.
Reception area a bit old, and there is no lift, so you need to carry your luggage by stairs.
Very clean room.
Super small bathroom.
Good breakfast and very nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Alan R,
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our hotel.
You'll be pleased to learn we have plans underway to renovate our reception and hope you like it when you next stay with us, your correct that we have an Excellent location, Very clean rooms, Good breakfast and best of all Great staff !
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great situation to visit London with many public transport around. Nice hotel staff. Small individual room, MEGA-SMALL bathroom (the aircraft's baths are bigger) but very clean. Lobby and Reception área very very old. No lift and stairs are so tight and steep that a big luggage is very difficult to carry. This hotel is good enough for a very short stay in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear EstherGM,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Yes we do have a Great situation in the centre of London and love sharing this with our guests.
Thank you for saying we have nice staff, we all here at the Cardiff Hotel love hearing that our hard efforts are truly appreciated..... : ))
You'll be pleased to know that all the hallways have recently been renovated and look fantastic.
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#349 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardiff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.