We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club to your Saves list
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fulham Rd | Stamford Bridge, London SW6 1HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #480 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Stay in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Millennium. The room was clean and spacious and the staff very helpful. We were impressed with the breakfast buffet, lots of variety and set up beautifully. It was a convenient location with the Italian Restaurant right outside the front door,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    509
    233
    90
    66
See reviews for
141
477
83
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel since it opened, when it was originally run by the Football Club itself, and had thought when it was taken over by professional hoteliers that service would improve - sadly this has not really proven to be the case, particularly of late.

The car park charges have this year been increased again to £36 for 24 hours (this is run by the club rather than the hotel) - make sure you book a space if you need one when there is a game on, and check with hotel staff that they have given your registration number and make of car to security.

Staff seem to change a lot more frequently than previously, so often you are not recognised as a regular customer, removing that feeling of being valued for your custom. This is not always the case, and I would be keen to give a special mention to receptionists Lilian and Valeria, as well as some of the others who do go out of their way to provide a warm welcome ! The bar and restaurant staff are also mainly good, generally smiley, happy and helpful, again with special mentions for Nick and Aditya amongst others... Concierge are always helpful too, run by the lovely Joseph ! Lumi, one of the duty managers is immensely efficient and helpful too !

As for breakfast, quality is ok, full english and continental although quite expensive if it is not included in your rate as it is in ours, however, the music played constantly at a loud level whilst trying to eat it would be more usual in a late night jazz club !!

Our last two trips have included someone being allocated the same room as us, so we were woken up by them trying to get in at 11pm on a Saturday evening, and on this most recent visit, a dispute with a new duty manager over our contract, which led to me spending over half an hour of the two hour complimentary wine/drinks and snacks, having to access my own copy of our contract on line, to prove that we did have access to the said lounge, and entitlement to the drinks etc. ! This was made more irritating and embarrassing by the fact that we had friends with us also staying at the hotel for the weekend ! Also by the fact that instead of the duty manager agreeing to sort it out the following morning when her colleague took over, she insisted it had to be dealt with that evening. An interesting and unsatisfactory way to treat a long time corporate customer I am sure you will agree !!

Bedrooms are comfortable and of a decent size, with a small fridge provided, and please don't get me wrong, we have had, and do have some enjoyable stays at this hotel ! It is certainly worth a try if you are looking for somewhere different in London !

Other tips etc if you are considering staying are try Frankies sports bar/grill out, a good selection of pizzas, pasta, salad and burgers ! Not too expensive either ! Wi-fi access is available for the cost of £10 for twenty four hours. Come to the hotel by train or taxi if you can to negate the parking costs, Fulham Broadway tube station is only 10 mins walk away, and there are loads of cafes/fast food places around....

And of course the biggest bonus of all if you are a Chelsea fan, is staying at Stamford Bridge itself !

Room Tip: Don't think we have ever had a bad room to be honest in the Copthorne Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Two weeks ago we went to London for a pleasure trip and we had lucky to stay in this wonderful hotel.
Hotel staff was very courteous and friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean and the buffet breakfast very varied and a "real treat".
Soon we will return to London and sure at this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millcopchelsea, PA to General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is great to hear you had such a good time with us and found our staff to be so friendly and the hotel rooms to be of such a high standard. Your comments about our breakfast are also greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed fr 2 nights in room 219 (Copthorne) from 16 September, on a lastminute secret deal.

My own experience at this hotel was very positive. Most important for me:

1 The bedroom (double bed) was very well appointed. Good size, high quality modern furnishings. Bed very comfortable and made for a cosy sleep. Excellent bathroom. Quiet. At our price (about 50% off rack rate) it was excellent - quality-wise full rack rate is way too steep for this hotel however, except no doubt on match days when you wouldn't want to stay (or pay those rates) unless you were a footie fan.

2 The hotel is well located - 5 minutes to Fulham Broadway which is on the Wimbledon branch of the District tube line. There are several good restaurants within the same sort of distance, and a good sized Sainsbury's supermarket in the shopping centre by the tube station.

3 The concierge and receptionists were helpful, polite and friendly.

Downsides (smaller than the positives) were:

1 The lobby was packed with people using the wifi, which was free there. Elsewhere (i.e. in the bedrooms) it was £10 for 24 hours (via voucher from reception) - whilst not a ridiculous charge, these days I do think that charging extra for wifi in bedrooms is a mark of an antiquated hotel pricing structure. Wife costs very little to provide and is becoming a standard "want", like a TV (remember when hotels used to charge extra for them...?) Trying to fleece customers an additional tenner always leaves me with a slight sour taste.

2 The lifts - there are only 2 and they seem to have a mind of their own: go up instead of down, for example. They are inadequate at peak times e.g. 0745 in the morning, when it's a real challenge to get one when on the lower floors. Factor in an extra 10 minutes to get out of the building at peak times...

3 Some staff are rather full of their own importance. On one occasion a staff member ran over and rammed his hand into closing lift doors so he could squeeze into the already full lift and so go up one floor, delayng everyone. Staff should really be trained that this gives a really bad impression - like they're way more important than the guests!

On the whole, I would happily stay at this hotel at the price I paid. I would not stay at a higher price, in my experience there are better more central hotels in London if you are prepared to pay a bit more. That said, if I loved football, the hotel is adjacent to the stadium (inside the walls of the old stand) and I think I'd want to stay there as part of the match experience, if I could afford it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millcopchelsea, PA to General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments. We value all customer feedback and very much appreciate your detailed comments and your positive feedback in relation to the quality of the rooms, the good location and the polite and friendly service from the concierge and reception. In relation to your concerns over the wi-fi and lifts I appreciate your concerns and hope these issues did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer service and I have passed your comments on to team managers for reference. Many thanks once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's a very good hotel as it should be (two hotels to be clear, we lived in Millenium). Rooms are clean, well-furnitured (renewed), and not small. We had four different types of pilows (from the very soft to the rough) so be sure you'll get a comfort sleep
Don't be afraid about possible loud sounds during matches at Chelsea stadium, it is not heared inside the room (2 matches during a week). Fullham Broadway Underground station is 5 min walk, and there is an Oyster rooms pub over the Underground entrance where you can have a traditional breakfast only for £2.49. Free wi-fi is at the lounge area.

Note: having a deal from the Lastminute with "double or twin room" option, be prepared to have a twin room: they have a small count of double rooms, as they say.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millcopchelsea, PA to General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us – thanks so much for your positive feedback. I am pleased to hear you found the rooms clean and so well furnished. We pride ourselves on the quality of service we provide and I am pleased to hear on this occasion we did not disappoint.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just stayed here (Millennium building) for seven nights and were very happy with our stay. The room was spacious and clean, central air is a nice touch. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, no matter if we left early or late afternoon. The area is safe, residential, with plenty of shopping, restaurants and bars within a five minute walk. The Fulham Broadway Underground stop was also a five minute walk. The tourist sites of London are about a half-hour away via the Underground. We booked a Superior Room (through the hotel website directly) which was worth the extra money. The wireless internet worked great, no problems with that. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The price was great compared to other hotels around Earl's Court and others in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Millennium building. I don't know what the difference is between the Millenniu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millcopchelsea, PA to General Manager at Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your comments and your recommendations. We are very pleased to read you found the hotel, its facilities and the location to be to your satisfaction and the price so competitive. We look forward to offering you another warm welcome very soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club

Address: Fulham Rd | Stamford Bridge, London SW6 1HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in London
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium And Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club Hotel London
Millennium & Copthorne Hotels At Chelsea Football Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium & Copthorne Hotels at Chelsea Football Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.