We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid These Rip-Off Artists” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Court Hyde Park to your Saves list
Abbey Court Hyde Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid These Rip-Off Artists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

AVOID THESE FOLKS IF YOU VALUE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HONESTY. I stayed for 1 night 6/21/13 on a reservation originally made for 3 people. My traveling companions left the trip early for an emergency, and when I checked in I asked if it was possible to take a single with a refund of the difference. I was given the single (a very tiny 10x14 foot room-including the bath) and then at checkout was informed that no refund was possible. Three different staff members at three different times could have confirmed no refund and left me in the larger room, but none did. Instead, THEY TOOK THE OPPORTUNITY TO SELL ME A SINGLE AT A TRIPLE RATE AND RESELL MY ORIGINAL TRIPLE FOR THE NIGHT. I should have realized from the evasive staff replies at the start that they were not honest about a refund, but assumed that nobody would be that DELIBERATELY DISHONEST. BTW, avoid Booking.com for reservations since they will do nothing to try to help resolve problems like this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    90
    63
    28
    19
See reviews for
56
61
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The lobby looks big but the rooms are extremely small even for my standard as a traveller. However the bathroom was even smaller as in when you're sitting in the loo you can actually wash your hands??? thats too close for me. Further its not cheap because for almost GBP180 I think that was just too much to pay for the room quality. Thank god I only stayed a night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. Guests can choose to upgrade their accommodation subject to availability when they are not satisfied with their room. We do offer different room types and if you are not pleased with your room please come to reception. Our staff will do their best to help you. They will change your room or they will try to upgrade you. Please note that we are in the middle of high season and the prices are much higher than during low season. Therefore if you stay with us next time you are welcome to call us and enquire for our current rates. Our Reservation Department will offer you better price than on the website. Hope to see you next time and proof you can have a pleasant stay with us.
Paulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Traveled with my sister. We are both over 60 but agile. :)
Advantages are:
Close proximity to Paddington Station, a hub to go everywhere else on the Underground system and the station for Heathrow Express. Clean, attractive, relatively quiet street (Hyde Park "hotel row"). Felt safe. Lovely reception area, big breakfast area & full breakfast with lots of staff. Our room & hotel public areas (even outside) were scrupulously clean. Unlike some hotels in this area, this one had a lift - given our luggage, this was an essential, deciding factor in choosing this hotel. Has hair dryer, lotion soaps/shampoo in wall dispensers. WiFi worked fine in room, although I had some concerns about lack of a security certificate on the site and staff couldn't answer questions about it. Note: you must get new username & password daily (that was not explained at check in). Staff were courteous, though not effusively outgoing. Beds were comfortable for us (we are both under 5'4".) Good to have closet.
Disadvantages:
Small size of room. We had a twin room and for us and our luggage it was a juggling act to be able to move around, although we got used to it. Everything but one bag had to be on floor. One chair provided for the little shelf-desk had to be relocated to allow movement in room. Everything in room was reduced to most compact components - e.g., instead of bedside tables, small acrylic shelves attached to walls; tiny sink & toilet tank to conserve space in very small bathroom. Splashy sink. Shower was regular size, however, & the water temp and pressure were good. As I said, everything seemed clean and new. I like clean. We were fine overall, but I think taller/larger folks would find everything a tight fit in this room. No facial tissue provided.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and it was fine, surprisingly quiet, could open the window for fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for the second time. All I can say is never again. The way we were treated by the staff on the reception desk was an absolute disgrace. Totally inflexible. The manager would not even come out from his office to speak to us, pathetic.
I will not recommend is hotel to anyone. I suggest that management and staff undertake customer service training ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Where do I start!
We had initialy booked this hotel for 2 nights via Booking.com but decided we wanted to stay in London another 2 nights so contacted the hotel direct and asked if we could add to our existing booking for a total of 4 nights, reply back over the phone and also via email was "yes that is fine, not a problem 4 nights booked" but they didn't have a twin room so would a double be ok which we said yes (as it was mother and daughter travelling together) We checked in and made our way to our room which was a double bed and a single (a triple) Apart from the small shower everything seemed ok. Then after 2 nights and on our 3rd day we were asked to check out at 11am and could not check in until 2pm, confused?? yes we were.
We showed the reception staff our email that stated 4 nights accomodation but they said the person had made a mistake and we had to check out as the room was required by another traveller and it was a triple and we were only 2 people. (We didn't request a triple, the hotel put us in a triple!)
We asked to speak to the manager and after the front desk person went out the back she returned and said nothing could be done we needed to check out! After much discussion and getting nowhere as the staff did not want to help at all, we packed our bags checked out and went out for the day returing to check in again.
The fact that the manager couldn't / wouldn't make himself available to speak to us was very poor customer service! We just wanted to discuss our probelm and see what could be done.
The front desk staff are rude and made you feel like you were an inconvenience to them, worst customer service I have ever encounted.
The final blow was we asked for a late check out ( an extra 3 hrs) and they said we would have to pay another "full nights" accomodation! usually in other hotels it's a half day rate or a small fee.
The room was tiny, no A/C and not much room for suitcases and the bathroom not much better. They did have wifi but the connection was weak and frustrating.
The one redeeming value of this hotel was its close proximity to Paddington Station and Hyde Park and a couple of ok restaurants close by.
Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any misunderstandings you may gone through.
Our records show that you have originally made a reservation for two nights for a Twin room and then and then you have phone the Hotel to extend your stay for a further two nights, you were then advised that the only possibility to an extension would be to take a different room type which was a double room (double bed) as the twin room was not available and you agreed with the condition, we would have let you stay in the same room you originally check in to if this would be available however it was not possible therefore receptionist asked you to move the room as agreed.
Our check-in time is at 14.00 Hours therefore any room movements should take place before that in giving us the chance to have the rooms cleaned on time for guests on the arrivals list, this is the reason for which the receptionist politely asked you to have your luggage packed and ready for change.
Our reception team is trained to support our guests with their queries on a friendly and professional manner, we proud ourselves of this service and guests positive reviews are on display on tripadvisor.
We do appreciate that other Hotels have different policies and services this is unfortunately out of our jurisdiction however we only provide what is advertised on all portals, if you expecting to have a room with air-con you should have inquired about before making the reservation and due to the popularity of the Hotel and the given fact that it is full most every single day we can not offer late check-out to our guests as we have the responsibility to honour all other reservations. Although that there is flexibility of an extra hour allowance to check-out a full day late check out fee applies to guests who vacate their rooms after the stipulated check-out time.
I regret the fact that i was not available to speak to you at the time when requested but I can assure you that I spend many hours at the office in the Hotel and surely would make some available time to speak to you if this would be requested again.
Is our aim to provide our valuable guests with best service and comfort and we sincerely hope to have you accommodated with us again in the near future and have a better experience.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in a single room which if described as compact it would be generous! On the top floor the sloping wall restricts access to the tiny bed and the way the bed was placed stopped the bathroom door being able to open fully. A huge step up into the smallest shower/toilet. Not sure how you would manage if you were any taller than me (5'2") !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here.
This is a very old building and we are aware that sometimes the sizes of the rooms don’t exceed the guest’s expectations,
However we are currently undergoing renovation in order to modernize the room as best as we can,
Nevertheless, if you were not happy with your room, the reception team would have been more than pleased to change you to a room that you would feel more comfortable in.
Despite everything we would like to have you here again with us and provide you a better stay than before.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location between Hyde Park's North side and Paddington Station in Central London (5 minutes each way). The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite small and not very luxurious but then it's central London!
There are a couple of cafes round the corner to have breakfast at, and restaurants are close by for dinner in the evenings. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review!
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to have you once again in order to exceed your expectations even more.
We always take the comments as a constructive criticism & as a guidance to improve our Services.
We are undergoing renovation & the rooms are being modernized step by step.
Hopefully we will see you in a near future.
Best wishes,
Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hyde Park

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Court Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.