We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Accomodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Court Hyde Park to your Saves list
Abbey Court Hyde Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #646 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tiny Accomodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in a single room which if described as compact it would be generous! On the top floor the sloping wall restricts access to the tiny bed and the way the bed was placed stopped the bathroom door being able to open fully. A huge step up into the smallest shower/toilet. Not sure how you would manage if you were any taller than me (5'2") !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here.
This is a very old building and we are aware that sometimes the sizes of the rooms don’t exceed the guest’s expectations,
However we are currently undergoing renovation in order to modernize the room as best as we can,
Nevertheless, if you were not happy with your room, the reception team would have been more than pleased to change you to a room that you would feel more comfortable in.
Despite everything we would like to have you here again with us and provide you a better stay than before.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    100
    70
    29
    20
See reviews for
65
68
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location between Hyde Park's North side and Paddington Station in Central London (5 minutes each way). The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite small and not very luxurious but then it's central London!
There are a couple of cafes round the corner to have breakfast at, and restaurants are close by for dinner in the evenings. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review!
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to have you once again in order to exceed your expectations even more.
We always take the comments as a constructive criticism & as a guidance to improve our Services.
We are undergoing renovation & the rooms are being modernized step by step.
Hopefully we will see you in a near future.
Best wishes,
Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the perfect location for tourists; 5 minutes walk to Paddington. This means easy access to Heathrow, and Paddington Underground station connects you to most Underground lines quickly and easily. The rooms are basic, no air-con, but tidy enough. Breakfast was actually rather nice, with buffet English breakfast options. The main downside was the wireless internet, which was weak and intermittent. Certainly not good enough for FaceTime or Skype. Many of the rooms clearly had poor wireless reception, as the hotel lobby was always full of guests with their laptops trying to get better reception (it was somewhat better, but not much).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our internet service as much as you wanted to.
Our wireless connection sometimes may be problematic due to the amount of people trying to connect at the same time,
However we are aware of that & we are trying our best to improve this issue.
Other than that, we hope you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again some day.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed by the condition of this so called "triple". There were three of us sightseeing in London and we thought we were lucky to find a triple so conveniently located just steps from Paddington Station. While the hotel did advertise that the second bed was a sofa bed, they should be ashamed to ask any guest to sleep in it. The mattress was thin and worn, and you could feel the rails of the bed frame poking through it. The room was in the basement, which would have been okay if you didn't feel like you were being sent to a dungeon. The hall and common area of our room smelled like cigarette smoke and the doors were so heavy we killed ourselves opening them. I would rate this terrible except that it was clean and had a good location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving a comment on trip advisor. We are very sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. If guests are unhappy with rooms and request to move within the same price range we move them whenever we can and on the basis we have availability.
We are a non-smoking hotel and it is an offence to smoke or knowingly to permit smoking in our premises.
The hotel doors are fitted according to the fire regulations.
A few of our rooms are located on the lower ground floor; however they are exact same standard as all other rooms’ located upper floors. All these rooms have windows and natural light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a great Family trip .Location of Abbey court is very convenient ,easy access to Hyde park ,National History musem.Accessible to Portobello Market .
Staff are very friendly and courteous.Continental food served is good..Ambience is comfortable.
My Kids love the fish tank .Tube station is nearby .

Room Tip: Room away from the life corner side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting such a positive review. We are pleased that you had a nice stay in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Best wishes, The Abbey Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a lovely hotel in a leafy street wit an air of opulence from the 1950s - althouhgh there was a busy road in front the hotel is set back from the traffic and this made all the difference. We were even able to park our car. But have to say how impressed we were with the location and distance to paddington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review & for sharing it with us.
Your feedback regarding your stay is very important to us,
As we are always willing to improve & provide you the best of our services.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best wishes,
The Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here with my young son as I needed a hotel close to Paddington station. I arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a very pleasant member of staff who checked us in. I was given directions to my room which was down stairs. I was very supprised to see it had a little kitchen, bathroom, lovely seating area and comfortable bed. I only had a quick visit but plan to book this hotel the next time I visit London and have told my friends about it too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback & We feel very happy that You have enjoyed your stay.
We are very proud of our staff as we continue to develop & grow in customer service.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best wishes,
The Abbey Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Court Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hyde Park

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Abbey Court Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.