We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a city trip to London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Abbey Court Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Court Hyde Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #671 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location for a city trip to London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location between Hyde Park's North side and Paddington Station in Central London (5 minutes each way). The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite small and not very luxurious but then it's central London!
There are a couple of cafes round the corner to have breakfast at, and restaurants are close by for dinner in the evenings. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review!
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to have you once again in order to exceed your expectations even more.
We always take the comments as a constructive criticism & as a guidance to improve our Services.
We are undergoing renovation & the rooms are being modernized step by step.
Hopefully we will see you in a near future.
Best wishes,
Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    78
    56
    26
    18
See reviews for
52
52
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the perfect location for tourists; 5 minutes walk to Paddington. This means easy access to Heathrow, and Paddington Underground station connects you to most Underground lines quickly and easily. The rooms are basic, no air-con, but tidy enough. Breakfast was actually rather nice, with buffet English breakfast options. The main downside was the wireless internet, which was weak and intermittent. Certainly not good enough for FaceTime or Skype. Many of the rooms clearly had poor wireless reception, as the hotel lobby was always full of guests with their laptops trying to get better reception (it was somewhat better, but not much).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a comment on trip advisor.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our internet service as much as you wanted to.
Our wireless connection sometimes may be problematic due to the amount of people trying to connect at the same time,
However we are aware of that & we are trying our best to improve this issue.
Other than that, we hope you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again some day.
Warm regards,
Abbey Court & WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed by the condition of this so called "triple". There were three of us sightseeing in London and we thought we were lucky to find a triple so conveniently located just steps from Paddington Station. While the hotel did advertise that the second bed was a sofa bed, they should be ashamed to ask any guest to sleep in it. The mattress was thin and worn, and you could feel the rails of the bed frame poking through it. The room was in the basement, which would have been okay if you didn't feel like you were being sent to a dungeon. The hall and common area of our room smelled like cigarette smoke and the doors were so heavy we killed ourselves opening them. I would rate this terrible except that it was clean and had a good location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving a comment on trip advisor. We are very sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. If guests are unhappy with rooms and request to move within the same price range we move them whenever we can and on the basis we have availability.
We are a non-smoking hotel and it is an offence to smoke or knowingly to permit smoking in our premises.
The hotel doors are fitted according to the fire regulations.
A few of our rooms are located on the lower ground floor; however they are exact same standard as all other rooms’ located upper floors. All these rooms have windows and natural light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a great Family trip .Location of Abbey court is very convenient ,easy access to Hyde park ,National History musem.Accessible to Portobello Market .
Staff are very friendly and courteous.Continental food served is good..Ambience is comfortable.
My Kids love the fish tank .Tube station is nearby .

Room Tip: Room away from the life corner side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting such a positive review. We are pleased that you had a nice stay in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Best wishes, The Abbey Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a lovely hotel in a leafy street wit an air of opulence from the 1950s - althouhgh there was a busy road in front the hotel is set back from the traffic and this made all the difference. We were even able to park our car. But have to say how impressed we were with the location and distance to paddington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review & for sharing it with us.
Your feedback regarding your stay is very important to us,
As we are always willing to improve & provide you the best of our services.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best wishes,
The Abbey Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here with my young son as I needed a hotel close to Paddington station. I arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a very pleasant member of staff who checked us in. I was given directions to my room which was down stairs. I was very supprised to see it had a little kitchen, bathroom, lovely seating area and comfortable bed. I only had a quick visit but plan to book this hotel the next time I visit London and have told my friends about it too. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback & We feel very happy that You have enjoyed your stay.
We are very proud of our staff as we continue to develop & grow in customer service.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best wishes,
The Abbey Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed back in December 2012, for four nights using the hotels pay in advance cheap deal. In all we were very happy with hotel, breakfast and location. Note, reception at the time informed me that the 2nd floor was the only floor to have been fully refurb and so my review is based on the room on that floor (at the time, do ask!).

We had a triple room for me my wife our 3 year old and 1 year old. Cot was provided and room was clean, nicely presented with on suite toilet and shower (very good). Road noise was minimal (but this is London after all)

Pros: Great location for Paddington (we live in Wales), easy access to Hyde Park, Exhibition road (Science and Natural history museums) and bus routes dead easy to go into town. Also not far from Portobello road markets. Also Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast served in basement and while continental in style was lovely and made extra special by the HUGE fish tank along the back wall (kids loved it). Lift in hotel was very handle for buggy. General presentation of hotel gave a feeling of grandness (I've stayed in a lot of hotels on business, this was good for money).

Cons: Very little, room might be considered small but this is central London and we only used to sleep in (not hold a barn dance). No desk area for working but not presented as a business room, so that’s OK. No fridge in room, but window sill worked just fine in December.

Overall rating : Well use again definitely.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have been fully refurb, ask about progress of this work on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you you very much for your nice, positive and honest review. Please note that we are going through a process of renovation in all bedrooms in order for us to provide the best of our services in the Hotel. We are proud of our new renovated rooms clean fresh and new refurbishment. What is more we never forget about our small guests and we always offer them our Baby Cots. We also have a small surprise for them in the Restaurant where they can find big, live fishes in aquarium. Please note that we do our best to satisfy our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hyde Park

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Abbey Court Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.