We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chamberlain Hotel to your Saves list
Chamberlain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130-135 Minories | City, London EC3 1NU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor 10% OFF
Ranked #381 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for a few nights. Nice room on 4th floor, comfortable, clean and pleasant staff. very busy in the local area during the week but quiet on sat and Sunday. very good links for tube and DRL, and you can walk across tower bridge to the other side for a pleasant stroll, and handy for tower of London. we dint eat here but there is plenty of local places and not far to walk up to old spitalfield market area which has plenty of places and a nice buzz about it. good value too, only complaint was lift out of order.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    194
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
60
186
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed as a solo female business traveller on a number of occasions, plus with my husband. The staff are invariably courteous and friendly and always make me feel welcome and comfortable - even when I brave the pub on my own! The rooms are so comfortable and I love room service breakfast. Public transport is so convenient - the bus to my City office and DLR to City Airport. Looking forward to my next trip in mid March.

Room Tip: Not had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in February 2013. We are Londoners who now live in the north of England so, unlike some other reviewers, we understood that central London would not be the quietest place to stay.

We found the staff at the Chamberlain to be friendly and very helpful. Our room was a good size and very clean. The bed was huge and very comfortable. It was easy to use the heating controls to change the temperature of the room. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room.

Our room was at the front of the hotel. Surprisingly there was very little noise from the street or the Fullers pub underneath. We could hear the tube trains rumbling in the evening, but they had stopped by the time we went to bed. Buses were running outside our window throughout the night but again they did not wake us at all.

I am disabled, and we booked this hotel because it has a lift. The main lift wasn't working, but the staff were happy to show us the service lift.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The service was brilliant. The food was ok but was quite expensive for pub grub. The range of real ales was excellent and my husband and sons enjoyed trying out some of the different ales on offer. I think if we were to stay here again we would probably walk a few metres down the road to a better restaurant, and then come back for the beer afterwards!

I don't think the hotel was particularly expensive but a continental breakfast should have been included in the price of the room, with a 'full English' maybe costing a little more. We bought some fruit and pastries from the Tesco Metro across the road and had them in our room in the morning instead of paying for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was at the Chamberlain in February 2013. The hotel is conveniently located not far from Liverpool St and it's a short walk to get there. Although it is very quiet also in the night, the street has some restaurants (in particular a nice Thai restaurant) and bars. The rooms are spacious (for London standards), perfectly fitted, clean and spotless. People at the reception are friendly and there is also a pub enclosed in the hotel, with a wide range of draught beers. The only problem we had was that the lift wasn't working and wasn't fixed during our stay (3 days). Given the location it is probably fairly priced. Aldgate is the closest tube station is just 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is overrated. First off, the staff are not friendly, the bathtub drain was plugged and the sink drain was broken. After addressing this issue with staff, nothing was done.

The room was nice, and bed was comfortable. For the price, breakfast should have been included.

Room Tip: A room that had a proper drain system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights when I was in London on work. I agree with some other posts here that say its good for business travellers when you probably just come back to the room for a nights sleep. The location is great, close to the bust stop and tube station. However the staff is quite clueless or maybe don't want to talk so much. They could not give us any directions or tell us anything about the tube stations etc.

The rooms are average - quite clean and the house keeping do a good job daily. Beds are ok, not great but if you are tired after a days work , you don't care. We never ate the food here because there are so many options outside anyway.

There is something wrong though with the lift. It was alway out of service and the staff kept opening a really smelly and dirty back door lift for us to use. They also seemed really pained when we asked the, to do this although it's really their fault that the lift wasn't working. They could not seem to service a simple lift in over 4 days that we were there which is very surprising.

For the cost, I think its ok. Don't expect a lot and you will be reasonably satisfied.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss the issues that you have highlighted.

Kind Regards

Liz McLelland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night weekend break. Hotel in a great location and within a few minutes walking distance from Tower Hill, Aldgate,and the DLR. There was a lot of variety for breakfast which basically set you up for the whole day. Our room was on the first floor on the corner of the building and was large - a bit cold at first but as soon as we mentioned it to the receptionist a heater was placed in our room immediately.

Did not venture into attached pub however at the bottom of the street we went to a pub called Minories which we can also highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed their stay with us. Perhaps on your next stay with us we can tempt you into trying some of our excellent Fuller's ales.

Kind Regards

Liz McLelland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories | City, London EC3 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
#332 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamberlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.