We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chamberlain Hotel to your Saves list
Chamberlain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130-135 Minories | City, London EC3 1NU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor 10% OFF
Ranked #382 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed overnight with our teenage daughters, on a theatre trip to London.
The location was perfect; 5 min walk from the Tower of London. The (luxury) room was recently refurbished, modern and colourful.
The service from all the staff we met was excellent; friendly and informative and all delivered with a smile. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    194
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
60
186
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in the city over the weekend and this hotel was a great base for sightseeing. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was brilliant. A little dated with the decour but from the photos on tripadvisor of the place it wasnt a shock

Room Tip: as this is in "The City" part of london most things around it will be closed at the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I have a flat/appartment a few hundred yards from Minories and are fans of the modern Fullers pub - esp The Parcel Yard at Kings Cross Station. We thought we'd give this place a try. Location is pretty good if you're using the hotel - buses from right outside and two underground stations under 5 mins walk for connections throughout London and beyond. The building is quite attractive and imposing fm outside - pleasing in an old skool style. Bar area is quite small considering the size of the outside, this is because it's all taken up with tables for dining... Beer selection is excellent, as with all Fullers pubs, prices quite high though. Food is pretty good too - the pie selection is quite well known and worthy of trying. It's not chain restaurant stuff either, each Fullers place has slightly different food. There is also a separate dining area at the rear of the building, which is not divided from the bar area. The main gripe about this place, which is otherwise quite good for both food and drink, is the bar can get very loud with city types blowing off steam. A quiet meal - prices of which are quite high - is unlikely during the week. Overall it's all a bit of a disappointment, esp compared to the aforementioned Parcel Yard, which is pretty much the prefect modern gastropub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I booked this hotel as it was close to a function I was attending.

The room I booked (a Club double) looked fantastic on the website, a gorgeous, light, contemporary room. The room I was given however was like something from the 1970's, incredibly tired, very dark, a rock hard bed and just very depressing, I cannot express how disappointing it was. I have since learnt that over half of the rooms have been refurbished but a lot haven't been touched for years.

Service in the hotel is ok, food was ok (if you like pub food) and the location worked well for me, but the room was just horrendous.

Finally if you do have the misfortune to stay here, insist on a refurbished room (the ones shown on the website) oh and take your ear plugs the hotel is incredibly noisy, with noise from the street outside and constant vibrations and noise from a nearby railway line.

Avoid if you possibly can

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has great location. Walking distance to Tower hill, Brick lane, Tower of London. The rooms are nice. Clean and pretty quiet to be in London. Helpful staff, and nice pricing. The breakfast is ok, but to expensive. The area have a lot of great pubs and dining places.

Room Tip: Rooms out to backyard is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is part of a pub so my expectations were fairly low. When I arrived I was greeted with all the extras but included in the price.(free wifi throughout the hotel, free bed robes, ice cold water in the fridge etc). The evening meal could have been made better with side orders (which weren't on the menu). Fairly good night sleep apart from vibrations from nearby trains/traffic. The decor and bedding made a very comfortable night sleep. The breakfast.... I can only comment on the hot food but it was beautiful and just the right amount on the plate. Would definitely stop again and recommend it but menu is a little limited .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel located very near tube stop. Room was lovely-very spacious. Turn down service at night, which was a nice touch, especially with a chocolate placed on the pillow. Bathroom was very big. Hotel bar was nice and was a good place to have a drink after a long day sightseeing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories | City, London EC3 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#300 Romantic Hotel in London
#330 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamberlain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.