We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princes Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Princes Square Hotel to your Saves list
Princes Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-25 Princes Square, Bayswater | Off Ilchester Gardens, London W2 4NJ , England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #657 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Why - surprisingly? Because I got used to the fact that most hotels in London are crappy, but nevertheless expensive. I've read lots of reviews before choosing this one, most of them were positive. But still I had doubts. My trip to London was right before and during the Olympics, so I didn't have much choice. Princes Sq. prices seemed decent, and location was good. So I took the risk ))
Double room was not too big, but considering this is London we're talking about - good enough. Furniture looked new. The hotel in general looked renovated. Clean bathroom. Comfortable bed. Big-size mirror in the room! Not too much space in the wardrobe for two, but we survived. Helpful staff.
Location is good. It's close to Bayswater, but keep in mind that District and Circle lines have more delays than other lines, especially in the morning. So it might be easier using the Central line instead - Queensway station is just extra 3 minutes walk.
The area is nice - lots of shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants around. Very nice greek grocery just around the corner - fresh fruit and yoghurt - good substitute to hotel's breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VarvaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear responses from our guests and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Location of the hotel was quite good, very close to everything. Parkng close to the hotel is quite expensive and Internet connection is at nine pounds a day. Room extremly small for a double and the area was quite noisy due to youth hostels near by, so be prepared to sleep quite late. Toiletries are very basic, just a soap and some used shampoo. Breakfast was too basic but at least fresh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We pleased to say we have now reduced our WIFI rates due to feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for four nights. Location was great. Very close to tube station, area felt safe. Room was clean and nice, but one problem was that our window opened onto a balcony that was shared with other rooms, thus we felt we had to close the window when we went to sleep and the room got quite stuffy. Noise was also a problem. Walls seemed very thin. Interior and exterior noise was a problem some nights. Breakfast was very basic but fine. The location really was great, overall the stay was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear responses from our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Was here for 4 nights in a twin with a friend. We were at the front of the hotel with a balcony. Room was tight but well appointed. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine nb. They dont provide any products. Hot water required a little working out. Hotel was refurbished not so long ago. Breakfast was fine, basic. You could pay £5 more for an english. Location was very good. 5 mins to bayswater tube. Right near kensington gardens.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear responses from our guests and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hot, even when the weather was cool, and loud. You can open the window, but there's no breeze. So, stay out all day and when you have to come back, remember to pickup some earplugs and a cheap fan. Location and access to the tube and Kensington Palace Gardens kind of hedge the hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123jimBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have stayed here fot the last 2 weeks, 3 days at a time in double room , 207 and 407 both a bit different however well maintained and very clean nice comfortable bed and compact shower rooms/toilets, clean towels every day. Friendly reception especially Tina. It is near Bayswater and Queensway underground and within walking distance of Notting Hill. Plenty of bars resteruunts nearby serving a variety of food. Continental breakfast included in price. Fully booked next week. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Any of the two rooms mentioned do get street noise but to be expected in this vibrant location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear responses from our guests and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catford, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Even if it was a bit difficult to find, it is very close to Bayswater - and Queens Way stations. A lot of cosy pubs and shops around, The hotel itself is very clean and in a good standard. The price was amazingly low!
A bit annoying that the breakfast starts from 7:30h, which is o.k. for holidaymakers; but not for business people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesuk, Manager at Princes Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback that we receive.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
#424 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#565 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#645 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#633 of 1,059 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#458 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Square Hotel

Address: 23-25 Princes Square, Bayswater | Off Ilchester Gardens, London W2 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#361 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Princes Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Square London
Hotel Princes Square
Princes Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing