We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but disappointed with the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #179 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location but disappointed with the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel recently for my son's Birthday. I had booked via another site and was unsure about the room we'd been allocated so I e-mailed the hotel twice, on 13th and again on 19th Feb asking what type of room we were in and if we could have a room overlooking the lock. I never had a reply to my questions, even after phoning up to check I'd got the correct e-mail address. When we arrived, we'd been allocated a family room with two double beds (room 128) but the only view from the window was of a solid brick wall and the room was very dingy because of this. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable and we didn't spend much time in it.

The hotel location is great, for us it was straight on the Northern Line from St Pancras to Camden Town and then just a five minute walk through the bustling streets. There are loads of places to shop and restaurants nearby.

We had breakfast in the hotel which was brilliant. We were given a choice of tables and seated immediately. The food was of good quality and there was an extensive choice too.

Hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming throughout our stay and after checking out at 11am, we were able to leave our bags until teatime so that we weren't dragging them about all day.

I'm not sure if I'd stay again, as I like to try different areas of London and felt let down that the hotel never replied to my e-mails, but the staff there were lovely and the location is great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We were definitely off to a bad start, but I'm glad your stay made up for it.

I am looking into what happened with your emails, because they are supposed to help us communicate; so rather worrying. Now, for our 'double doubles' (or 'twins'), they all face inward for a guaranteed beauty sleep for the whole family. Should you have an opportunity to come back for a romantic London weekend or concerts in the area, we'll make it extra special by upgrading you to some stunning views!

Thank you for your honest and detailed review. Please accept our apologies for the breakdown in communication.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    382
    87
    21
    21
See reviews for
255
307
73
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and two daughters stayed at this hotel over the weekend and found it as they had expected a first class hotel.
It was clean, comfortable and ideally situated in the heart of Camden with the centre of London easily accessible. The staff were very friendly and helpful which makes the difference when on a weekend break.
The room was spacious for London standards and the beds comfortable and until we checked out would definitely stay there again.
After they checked out and left their bags at reception, going out for a bite of lunch one of my daughters remembered she had left one of her tee shirts in their room(321)After checking her bag they approached reception. They made some checks but told them it was not there!
I am informed it was left in the room and we do not understand why it was not found?
It was only a tee shirt and not of much value but it is the principle of the thing and will make us think twice about returning!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for all the very nice comments on your feedback. Thank you also for taking the time to express your frustration, we heard.

I shall be conducting my investigation first thing tomorrow morning, but I wanted to confirm you that we are indeed listening to what you are saying, and that we always make our best to build relationships, and not undo them.

I shall hope the T-shirt may reappear, although if it was white, it has most probably gone with the linen, which is what often happens with guest's towels, etc. when just as plain white. I shall nevertheless contact you directly through TripAdvisor's internal messaging service.

Let's hope we'll make it up to the whole family soon. Thank you.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wanted a last-minute break in London and fancied seeing Camden. his is perfectly situated in the heart of Camden, overlooking the lock and markets. Can't recommend enough (Weatherspoons opposite too!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I loved the location of this Holiday Inn, service was good and the staff at breakfast very accommodating. For me it was the basics that failed here: the bed. It was hammock-like with a selection of lumpy pillows that had me tossing and turning and gave me real back and neck ache in the morning. What a shame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
What a shame indeed. Can I get in touch directly through Trip Advisor's internal messaging service please? I'd love to have your room number so we can do our due diligence (also like to engage).

I personally stay in the hotel regularly and try different rooms every time. Plus we have a constant bed replacement plan so none should get through our net. Pillows follow similar plans.

On another hand, I'll share all the good notes here with the team.

Thank you for taking the time. I hope we'll speak soon.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay here on Valentines night. The hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from the tube station and you can see the lock from many of the rooms. Our room was good value for money, clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can’t comment on the food her as we went out for dinner and breakfast.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and use it for future stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Hi, in general I'm not a huge fan of holiday inns as they can vary so much but this one I one if the best I have stayed in. The location is brilliant for all the fun and atmosphere that Camden can offer. The rooms have been renovated recently and everything else works well. Starbucks in the lobby is a good idea too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just spent 2 days at this hotel and had a fabulous time. It was a perfect location to explore a different side of London with the markets, vintage shops and quirky restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and fun. Reception could not have been more helpful with tips for restaurants and local attractions; particular mention of Pablo. Also Mark Rolls for his exceptional attention to cleaning and brilliant local stories! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in London
#149 Romantic Hotel in London
#152 Family Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.