We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All mod cons, clean and near 2 tube stations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Space Apart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Space Apart Hotel to your Saves list
Space Apart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-37 Kensington Gardens Square, Hyde Park, London W2 4BQ, England (Formerly Ambassador Bayswater Hotel) (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All mod cons, clean and near 2 tube stations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Space Apart for 12 nights. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to a top floor room overlooking the trees In the square (the square itself is not accessible to visitors). We were shown to our room and had all the appliances explained and shown where everything was. The room was very clean and there was a washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, 2 ring hob, fridge with small freezer compartment, small table and chairs, sofa, easy chair, wardrobe with safe, rain shower, heated towel rail, demisting mirror, towels, toiletries, and a double bed with a raisable head and storage underneath. Our only complaint about the hotel was the extremely hard bed and poor quality bedding. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs, supermarkets etc very close to the hotel. And the area felt very safe even late at night. The room was only serviced once during our stay, but we knew that when we booked it, and we set the machine to wash and dry the towels while we were out. The room was very quiet with very little street noise and no disturbance from other rooms. The air con was very efficient as it was very hot in London during our stay. There was plenty of hot water at all times. The reception was open until around 9pm and we were told one of the owners lived on site and could be contacted out of hours if needed. Overall we loved the flexibility of staying in a well equipped studio and would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

Room Tip: The top floor room at the front was lovely but we didn't see any others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpace, Manager at Space Apart Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you were able to make full use of all of the facilities provided in the studios. We hope to be able to welcome you back again on your next London excursion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    122
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
169
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A great hotel in the heart of london. Two gorgeous houses blended into one. The apartments are equipped with all conveniences. These are quite larger than a hotel room in London which is a +, and the hotel is decorated to a very high standard. Just on Kensington High St you have a choice of two Tube Stations - another +...all in all a very good option for those of you who want plenty of Space in your room with all the advantages of an apartment, with very good tasteful decor. The area around the Hotel is very safe and you can walk your heart out if you want. No restaurant or pool - but its not needed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and sound proof. Street area is not noisy anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Me and my family choose this property based on the reviews here, as per we expected the hotel's location is very convenient , closed to many restaurants and shops , slightly away from the crowd , clean and well equip , love it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to London. We found the Space Apart Hotel chic and hip without being at all pretentious or too over-the-top. We really felt "at home" there!

Most of all, it was comfortable, while still adding a little character and ambiance to our first 5-night London experience. The room had all kinds of neat bells and whistles like adjustable bed, DVD player and ipod dock, towel warmers, and of course, the well-stocked full-service kitchen. The free wifi was definitely a plus!

The gentlemen at the front desk were always cordial and friendly, and very welcoming checking us in. They not only made us feel welcome at the hotel, but welcome in London as well!

We booked one of the standard rooms (at the least expensive rate), and we were worried that maybe we should have booked the Premium room after hearing how small the standard rooms are. But it turned out to be surprisingly roomy. We had a room on the ground floor, (the door directly next to the staircase) and we found it incredibly spacious.

The bed and pillows were SO comfortable. I slept really well there, which is not even something I can always say for myself at home. I'm a bit of a restless sleeper, but I felt comfortable, safe, and relaxed at the Space Apart. The worst noise we heard was the sound of birds singing early in the morning. And by "worst", I mean "quite lovely." :)

Unfortunately we did get the one room without the in-room washer/dryer, but the very nice gentleman at the front desk told us we could use the washer/dryer on the third floor any time. We ended up having more than one small load of laundry anyway, so my husband very easily found a laundromat nearby and popped out to do some laundry while I was getting ready one day, which didn't take long, and he didn't seem bothered by it. :) We used the third floor washer to do our towels. I had thought the in-room washer/dryer was going to be one of the key features most utilized by us, but not having it really didn't take away from our enjoyable stay in the least.

It is to be noted that you are in charge of your own housekeeping at this hotel, because it is actually a "service apartment." A bucket of cleaning supplies is provided in your room. Again, this did not take away from our enjoyment of our stay whatsoever. We managed to keep the room tidy.

The bathroom was kind of small, but efficiently designed, and really cool. The wall texture and the cool lighting really added a fun funky vibe to the room, and the raindance shower was roomy enough, and very luxurious and relaxing after a long day walking around London. I also found I had plenty of room to do my hair and makeup in there.

The hotel also had a DVD and book library with a great selection. We were delighted that they even had four seasons of our favorite British show (Peep Show) in their DVD library!

We enjoyed stocking up on a few food items (and having cold drinks in the fridge!) and eating some of our meals in the room. We didn't go to great lengths to cook anything too elaborate, but you actually could if you wanted to. The kitchen comes with a full range of cooking equipment.

There are plenty of little grocers and markets around within easy walking distance. We bought some delicious and fun "specialty" food items at Marks & Spencer (loved that store!) and some great basic fresh groceries at Sainsburys as well.

The hotel is also in easy walking distance to the Bayswater Tube station, so it is really easy to get anywhere you need or want to go in London! The Kensington Gardens Square area is a lovely neighborhood of white-columned buildings, and there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops nearby. (Even a small, stylish shopping mall! Look for Marks & Spencer there.) Just walk out the door and see what strikes your fancy!

I am really glad we chose the Space Apart for our first stay in London. I compared rates and reviews of many hotels before choosing this one, and for the money, you can't beat the quality and location. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This apartment was in a great location, close to underground and within a few minutes of lots of restaurants and bars. Accomodation was spotless, well equipped and although small (this is normal for London) it was a good use of space, although the bed which was on a mezzanine level was a little difficult to get into as you cant stand up straight! Just as well Im only 5,2!
On the whole I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful, and as a single female traveller, I felt very safe.

I had a studio apt. on the ground floor and was delighted with all the facilities, which included a dishwasher and washing machine. The apt. was clean and attractively furnished. I really appreciated the consistently piping hot water and heated towel rail. The weather has been chilly and wet and it was great to return to a warm room, and have no problems drying my coat etc. The free WiFi is also a big plus.

The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful, and the hotel is part of an attractive square. It is only 5 mins walk to Bayswater tube and central London can be reached within less than half an hour. There is a Sainsburys Local in Westbourne Grove nearby.

I had a lovely stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the square. My room was towards the rear of the building but I ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Space Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Apart Hotel

Address: 36-37 Kensington Gardens Square, Hyde Park, London W2 4BQ, England (Formerly Ambassador Bayswater Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#182 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Space Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Apart-Hotel offers luxury-serviced apartments in Hyde Park. The apartments are suitable both for corporate accommodation for business travellers and for tourist visitors to London. The apartments combine the independence and control of your own home with the service of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Space Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Space Apart
Space Apart Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.