We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Park St | Bankside, Southwark, London SE1 9EF, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #152 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and has very helpful staff. The rooms are surprisingly quiet, the bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. Breakfast is served at the adjoining "Anchor" pub. The food is very good and the breakfast room has a great view over the Thames. The pub also serves pub food throughout the day, and has a restaurant for evening meals - check which days the restaurant is open!
The location is amazing. We strolled along the south bank of the Thames both nights of our stay - the views of St Paul's, Tate modern, the Shard, the bridges (including Tower Bridge), and the Tower of London all lit up, were fabulous! If you are wanting to get around London, London Bridge tube station is close to the hotel, or walk over the Millennium bridge to Cannon Street tube station. There are lots of cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and discount vouchers are easy to find on the internet.
I thought that the "normal" price at the hotel was high - but it is London, and I'm tight! I suggest that you plan your visit around any special offer dates if you can!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving a positive review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We’re extremely pleased that our hotel lived up to your expectations. We're happy that the location was to your liking, and we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    291
    47
    17
    5
See reviews for
296
213
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good breakfast choice but Borough Market is just next corner and is worthy having breakfast there.
Very poor wifi service: only 30 min free per day.
Tiny tv.
No amenities in the bathroom.
But the overall value is good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to improve our standards and to better meet the needs of our customers.

To keep the cost of our rooms as low as possible across all Premier Inns, we provide in all our rooms the standard amenties required to fulfill the very basic needs of our guests during their stay with us. Amenties such as additional wifi is offered at a small cost in order to provide a wifi service for guests who really require it - this ensures that you will consistently recieve a steady wifi signal throughout your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed in many Premier Inns so we knew what to expect and as usual it did not disappoint - a comfortable, clean, well run hotel. But the deciding factor of which Premier Inn to choose was its location on the Southbank. Just a few minutes walk to London Bridge tube station and en route you have Borough Market and wonderful night life. Perfect - we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're very happy to hear that you found the location of Bankside House brilliant for exploring London during your stay with us. I'm particularly pleased to read your kind comments about our clean and comfortable rooms. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. We look forward to your return to Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at a Premier Inn and what a very pleasant surprise. Clean, quiet, comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and will now in future consider other PI locations. We have normally stayed at 5 star establishments but when we are out and about most of the time and all we want is somewhere clean to lay our heads this will do just fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. I'm happy to hear that you had a clean, comfortable and quiet stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is well placed for a tourist visit to London, we were celebrating my husbands 50 birthday and there was some excellent restaurants in the surrounding area and it was a pleasant walk to any and all of the attractions. The only issue with the hotel is the noise from outside, early morning, bin collections etc, and in the evening the surrounding area is buzzing especially at weekend! The receptionist when we were there was covering and normally was at the Tate modern prem inn, but she was great, nothing was too much trouble. We had room 302 which was on the top floor at the end of the corridor and although it was next to the stairs, it suffered from little internal noise from other guests. The pub next door as very busy and although the fish and chips were excellent it has a limited menu, more options would have encouraged us to eat there more often, however on Saturday evening we did ask them to reserve a table for a set time and they did this, so can't fault them on that, cheap budget option, but you know what you are getting with a premier inn, would recommend to anyone looking for a great location for a goody, boozy weekend in the capital.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're very happy to hear that you found the location of Bankside House brilliant for exploring London during your stay with us. I'm particularly pleased to read your kind comments about the staff member covering at our site during your stay with us.

Unfortunately bin collections are an essential necessity in the mornings and we do apologise if this has caused any disruption to your stay. Despite our hotel's central location, we experience only a very minimal amount of noise. We have a 24 hour reception with staff available to help with any issue you may experience - please reference for future stays that room transfers can be arranged should you wish to have a room in a quieter location of the hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to serve you again in your future stays with Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was a cold room and I found the heating system too noisy to leave on all night. An extra blanket in the room would have solved the problem. The girls in reception were excellent and tried to please. The bath side was too high for my partner to get safely into the shower. There were no hand rails to steady you as you got in. the hotel was qiet in spite of being in a busy area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to a review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not live up to your expectations.

At Premier Inn we pride ourselves in having a 24 hour reception with staff on hand to help with any problems that may arise during your stay. Telephones are also fitted in every room with a direct link to reception. Upon request, we are able to provide extra blankets as well as silent, mobile heaters. We are unfortunately unable to store extra duvets in the rooms as there is a lack of storage space for them.

We would like to apologise again for your experience with Premier Inn. We're happy to hear that our reception staff were excellent in their service. We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to email us at: London.Southwark.pti@whitbread.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I work in London regularly and always stay at this Premier Inn. Very friendly staff always with a warm welcome. Very convienient location for good restaurants and pubs and easy access to the whole of the south bank.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience with us here at Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. I'm happy to note that you find your stays with us enjoyable, convenient and warm in regards to our team. I will take on board your comments and will share them with our team at Premier Inn. Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market

Address: 34 Park St | Bankside, Southwark, London SE1 9EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in London
#102 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.