We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the river and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market
34 Park St | Bankside, Southwark, London SE1 9EF, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £117
Ranked #122 of 1,066 Hotels in London
DK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Close to the river and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed only one night at this Premier Inn hotel. The room was larger than normal for London hotels. Functionality was good. The room was quiet despite several restaurants and bars very close, and there was no traffic noise. The internet worked well - one hour is free, after that you have to pay. The continental breakfast was simple but good. Location is excellent just at the river bank, but you have to walk through narrow streets with your luggage. Best to arrive in daylight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ester,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy to hear everything was outstanding during your short stay and that you found our location excellent. You might be right about narrow streets but I need to reassure you that this area is quite safe should you be worried about walking late at night.

We do hope you would choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    281
    43
    15
    1
See reviews for
284
195
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only just decided to review this as I have been unsure if I should or not we were mistakenly taken to this Hotel by our taxi driver on a previous stay at the Tate Modern Premier Inn in December 2012 we noticed the beautiful outdoor seating area overlooking the Thames and we loved that straight away so after a brief discussion and realising how close it was to all the attractions My Husband and I decided that we would book this Premier Inn when we returned to London for our wedding anniversary in August 2013.

So with this in mind we made a booking for the 27th August and arrived early in the morning from the start the Staff were excellent they looked after our cases while we explored London until our room was available, The room like all premier Inn rooms was very clean and light and the Beds were very very comfortable the location was perfect as you expect from a premier so far so good.

All was going really well until we returned in the evening and changed to go and sit on that lovely outdoor area we were there about 9:15 on a lovely summers evening but as we asked the barman for drinks he explained that the Patio was closing in 5 minutes and we would have to go inside frankly we were beyond disappointed that area was our biggest reason for booking the borough Market, regardless we went inside the pub and found a nice quiet corner to sit and drink and 10 minutes later we were told again told that the lower art of the bar was closing and we would have to move at that point we left the bar walked along the Thames and had a drink outside at a Giraffe restaurant instead.

Now don't get me wrong everything else about the Borough market Premier Inn was great the staff were fantastic the room was great the location is brilliant and we would absolutely stay there again but it was that outdoor area that attracted us in the first place and the idea of sitting out there with a glass of wine and some nibbles watching the Thames go by really sold us and it was a massive disappointment that it closed when it did , regardless of that Breakfast there was very good and the staff in the pub are also nice and friendly and we would absolutly stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be pretty much the Premier Inn standard I would recommend any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Gail,

Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate the time you've spent sharing your comments and experiences with us. I was pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and the team delighted you with their service. As far as the Anchor Pub is concerned, I have to inform you that it has different operating hours and, unfortunately, Premier Inn has little control over their procedures, etc. But I would like to apologise for the inconveniece caused to you by their early closing times.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've often walked past this hotel and thought what a great spot it would be to spend a couple of nights doing London as tourists (even though we live at the end of the Central line!).
So that's exactly what we did and it was brilliant. We love the whole South Bank and Borough Market anyway but to be 'living' a few steps away from the Globe for three days was really special.
We had fabulous weather which did, of course, help enormously but even without it this would have been a great trip. We did galleries, exhibitions and palaces, the view from The Shard, an afternoon at the Globe, an evening at the National Theatre, dinner with friends, the Tate to Tate water bus.... Being able to nip 'home' for a bath after a day's sightseeing before a night out was absolute bliss.
The staff were SO smiley and charming. The room was much bigger than we expected, well equipped and well air conditioned. Would not hesitate to recommend this Premier Inn - especially to foreign visitors. The location makes for a really fabulous London experience at an affordable price.
PS Visit the Perkin Reveller restaurant at the Tower of London. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor overlooking the car park (there aren't any river views proper) for maximum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review. It was lovely to receive such a positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you immensely enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to make every guest's stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and we are absolutely pleased to have received your 5-star review. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you decide to stay in Central London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A really nice, friendly hotel with a touch of class. Breakfast served in a effect shake serial pub, rooms comfy and staff amazing!!!!! Could not complain about anything and wished we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Gina,
Thank you for wrting your review about Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great location on the south bank of the Thames, just along from the Tate Modern, good views of the City, lots of adjacent pubs, restaurants, etc, etc. however don’t expect regular Premier Inn rates, you’ll pay through the nose for this ‘premier’ location – central London prices I guess.
The hotel itself is fine, the usual setup and formula: nice rooms, good beds, clean and comfortable-ish. The bathroom was a fair size with a good mixer shower.
The hotel however is built round a courtyard which is the back yard for the attached Anchor Inn public house. In the morning the Anchor empties their glass bin – that’s exciting! - sounds like all hell breaking loose out there. On other days the Anchor restock their beer barrels – well they are big metal things aren’t they? - so that’s a hell of a racket too! I thought Premier Inn guarantee a quiet night’s sleep don’t they?...
Getting in to reception is an adventure in itself (there are no directions or signs that we saw): go through the big double gates into the courtyard, cross the cobbles (high heels add to the adventure-factor here), past the kitchens of the Anchor where the kitchen staff - gathered to have a fly fag and watch the new-meat teeter across the cobbles - will helpfully direct you (or stare blankly depending on the mood) to swing round to the left where you’ll find reception cunningly concealed round the corner, no doubt where it’s quiet.
The hotel staff are excellent however; friendly, helpful and always a pleasant smile and a cheery hello.
But the excitement just never stops: breakfast is taken in the Anchor Inn (not sure if this is part of the actual Hotel, it could just be an attached business) which is reached through the hotel via a maze of twisty passages, all alike. The dining room in the Anchor is absolute piggin’ chaos; a complete farce. No plates, no juice, no control. I’d made the mistake of paying up front for brekkie but who’s to know? - people wander in and out, have brekkie, wander off, nary a word! – boy, did I feel ripped off!
So the Hotel is good (but noisy) but the Anchor Inn really needs sorted out!

Room Tip: Get a high-up room away from the Anchor Inn's yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write such a constructive review about our hotel. I do appreciate it and am sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Our hotel is located in a very nice and lively area indeed with so many amenities just a stone's throw away. It is to some extent reflected in our pricing. As you might be aware, all hotels in Central London do tend to offer higher rates.

I am very sorry to hear that Anchor pub had a delivery on the morning of your stay and, as a result, disturbed your sleep. I absolutely understand your frustration but I am afraid that this is something beyond our control. We had a conversation with the Anchor Pub management but they informed us that their supplier has an allocated slot for deliveries, which cannot be changed, at least at this point. Please note these deliveries do not take place every morning, and I am sorry you were unfortunate to have it during your stay with us. As for the entrance to the hotel, it might indeed look a bit weird especially from a guest's perspective trying to find the entrance but I have to inform you that talks did take place involving CEO to consider moving reception to the front onto Park Street. Unfortunately, the decision has been made to keep reception as it is due to many complications pertaining to it.

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the customer service received at the hotel. Our reception team would be happy to hear their efforts were recognised once again. However, the Anchor Pub staff are not employed by Premier Inn, therefore we cannot guarantee the same great service. I understand your point of view ragarding the breakfast at the pub but as you might know our hotel is very small and does not have kitchen. on-site restaurant or even a small bar like the majority of Premier Inns across the UK. Therefore, we have no choice but offer breakfast in the pub next door. I appreciate your comments about your breakfast experience and would have to speak to the pub manager again to make sure thier service is improved and up to standard.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay whilst seeing a play at the Globe Theatre. Perfect positioning, lots of things going on in and around. Clean, tidy, friendly staff who are knowledgeable. Will definitely stay there again. Let the staff book you a taxi, much cheaper than the black cabs if you are travelling from the hotel to a particular destination that is too far to walk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I was pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the team here to be friendly and accommodating. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for central London (you can walk to London Bridge station iIt's just behind Borough Market, within walking distance of Tate Modern and Waterloo Station), it's clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, don't come here expecting luxury- there are no mini bottles of shampoo or even a mini fridge in the room, so I give it a four star rating with that in mind. But we stayed here for a week in a family room with a two year old and two month old and it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that our hotel was exactly what you needed for a London getaway being in a perfect location with so many amenities just a stone's throw away.

Premier Inn is a budget hotel chain, so we presume our guests know more or less what to expect. In the meantime, I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market

Address: 34 Park St | Bankside, Southwark, London SE1 9EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in London
#93 Best Value Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#253 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Southwark - Borough Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.