We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality and Position.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster) (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #245 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality and Position.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked this 6 weeks in advance and comparitively it was one of the best prices for the weekend we required, even better than a Premier Inn. Upon arrival the staff were extremely courteous, helpful and gave us discounts on the restaurant and some free cookies, which were still warm and very moreish. The room was a reasonable size, with the floor to ceiling windows making it look spacious and modern. There was a fridge in the room and all things you would expect of a hotel of this standard, wine glasses, kettle, makings, hairdryer etc. A superb feature was the Imac TV/Computer ..very impressive. The bathroom was a bit on the compact size but the shower was powerful and hot. The only let down was the breakfast at £21.50 PP, therefore, we had 2 full English at the superb Sapori's just around the corner for a tenner!
Overall an excellent visit and will certainly look to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the side away from the river so the views were not very good, however the room was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Don_627,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such detailed positive feedback of your stay, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the number of positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number. I have shared your comments with the team, and we are all very encouraged by your kind words.

I have noted your feedback on our breakfast prices. We do regularly conduct surveys with regards to our pricing structure to ensure we remain competitive with similar properties in the London marketplace; however, I am sorry that you did find this to be expensive. Please note that we now offer Breakfast Vouchers to our guests at the heavily discounted rate of £15 per person, so please feel free to take advantage of this on your next visit.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    1,611
    370
    111
    34
See reviews for
588
1,851
230
863
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my mother. We had a quite generously sized twin room and were impressed by the chic style and streamlined bathroom- although there were a few small wall cracks and touch-ups needed. The room was however, very clean and equipped with facilities expected from a Hilton- as well as an Mac computer with free wi-fi! The beds were comfortable, but we were glad of the air con, as it does get very hot at night under those thick, plush duvets.
Breakfast was ok- adequate, but I've had better at other Hilton hotels.
Staff we're very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear ZoePincombe,

Thanks for your kind review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit.

I am sorry to hear that there were some cracks in the wall in your bathroom. If you could kindly contact us with further details on the room you stayed in, we can investigate this in further detail and make any repairs if required. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust that the rest of your stay was satisfactory and I have shared your kind comments with the team. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to personally welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Our 4th visit to this hotel for weekend London trips. Great location thats ideal for lots of the amenities / sight seeing options central London has. Another great selling point for weekend visitors by car is that parking in Westminster is free after 6:30pm on Friday to 8am Monday. The area is quiet at weekends and we regularly park up for free. The hotel offers carparking but its pricey.
Rooms clean and modern, decent beds and nice toiletries. The bar has decent cocktails and nibbles.

Breakfast is a large buffet affair with lots of options for full English or continental, regularly topped up and tasty. Definately worth including that in the price so you can fill yourself for the day ;-)

Only thing I would suggest is more than one type of free cookie on checkin. A lovely touch and provided still warm, but only chocolate cookies available and as my partner has a chocoolate allergy I had to eat them both ... O well ;-)

All in all for value for money when you consider other options in the area the DT Westminster wins hands down.

Well done

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear smithn05,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It's always a pleasure to welcome back a returning guest, and I'm pleased to see that you had another enjoyable stay and found our location and facilities useful and convenient.

I am sorry that your partner was not able to enjoy our signature DoubleTree Cookie due to her chocolate allergy. We do offer apples as an alternative welcome snack, so please feel free to request this on your next visit.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Full of praise for this hotel, everything clean and new, efficient check in, food nice and meeting facilities also work well. The room is also well designed, quiet and has a good shower, for the level they are aiming for in the market I was pleased.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear 27steve118,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are particularly delighted that you found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs, and I have forwarded your kind comments to the team.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Thanks once again!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Would like to be able to give 3.5 as a review: Average may be a little harsh, but I can't justify rating the place as very good.
Long queue at check-in with 2 x members of staff trying to resolve 1 x guest's issues. I never understand this - where is the value in 1 of you standing and watching?
I am a Hilton Honors member so went to the dedicated check-in desk, only to be told by a member of staff that I'd have to join the main queue. He then busied himself plumping up cushions in the reception area.
When we did reach the front of the queue, it felt as is priority was to sell us taking breakfast in the hotel.
Room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and went out for the day (not a problem - we arrived before the advertised check-in time).
We didn't get back until approx. midnight and found that we'd been allocated a disabled-access room. The room was small though clean and well decorated. However, the bathroom had all that you'd expect from a disabled access bathroom, so not very attractive. It also wasn't very clean.
As a HH member, I was offered a complimentary newspaper which didn't appear in the morning.
Overall - I may sound like I'm being picky. However, I use hotels frequently and stay in many Hiltons. This didn't quite make the grade for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My daughter and I stayed just for one night. She is a wheelchair user so we booked an accessible room. The room wasn't big enough to get all the way around the bed, if we were staying for longer It wouldn't do, but the bathroom facilities were very good. And the staff excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have come back from this hotel today and am pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a premier room which meant we could have free breakfast in the executives lounge. The room itself was very nice-included a mac computer which I obviously had a little play with!!! It has a nice brasserie on the ground floor, and also a nice cocktail bar on the first floor. The cocktail range is good (but expensive) and the cream teas are delicious so would definitely recommend stopping by for one of those.
The only let down was the "executive lounge" which turned out to be a very badly designed room, with limited space and bland walls. It was boring and offered somewhat rubbish coffee and tea facilities. Wouldn't waste my time with it again.
All in all the hotel is very nice and worth a short stay, is close to most amenities and tourist attractions. I would go again of not only for the warm cookie on arrival!!

Room Tip: Go premier, worth it for the free breakfast otherwise will be forking out a huge amount for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Business Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#179 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.