We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #212 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As expected of a Hilton property, the Doubletree, Westminster, offers good, clean, shortstay pad for the business traveller. Has a reasonably well equipped private gym that can be accessed 24x7. Its located off the main road giving it a quiet environ. Staff are friendly and would happily extend your room for a couple of hours if the hotel isnt full.

However, was not impressed with their baggage storage service. The attendand went searching for my bag all over the hotel and returned after 15 minutes, without finding it. As soon as he set out on his retrieval exploration, I discovered it still lying in the lobby - a good five hours after I had left it with them! However, I couldn't take possession of it till he returned as the receptionist refused to let me take it despite showing her the receipt! Except for this one annoying experience, the stay was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear OffroadTraveller,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your stay, and are pleased to see that you generally had an enjoyable visit.

I am sorry that your luggage was not properly stowed prior to check-in. Please be assured that this is not how we usually operate and we take your feedback very seriously. I have spoken with the Guest Services Manager, and re-retraining has been implemented within the team to ensure that such a scenario does not re-occur. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your kind comments with the team. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    1,477
    323
    107
    31
See reviews for
527
1,755
222
780
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for three nights. The rooms are small and bathrooms very small , however, they were well appointed, clean and comfortable. The Mac computers/TV were perfect and a nice upgrade. The location is perfect. It was quite and while we walked a bit for the underground and restaurants other than the hotels, we were in walking distance of Buckingham Palace, all sights at Westminister (Abbey, Parliament House, Big Ben) and the London Eye. We took the underground to shopping on Oxford-great, to see the Crown Jewels, etc. The Concierge at night was amazing. he basically helped us plan every step of our next day including advice on taxi and train times to Stratford Upon Avon during a day trip. He gave us a recommendation to go to the White Swan one of our favorite places to eat while there. The Executive Lounge was excellent. Breakfast, snacks and appetizers were plenty for a meal.
Definitely would recommend and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Floor seven was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Darien2014,

Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback following your recent stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always very rewarding to hear directly from our valued guests when our efforts have been recognised, and I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are delighted to have made such a good impression.

I am sorry that you found the room rather compact for your needs. This is a common feature with most London properties, and I can recommend upgrading to one of our King City Suites if further space is required as the Suites are significantly larger.

I'm delighted our location is suitable to your needs. We are often described as an oasis of calm within the City, as our guests get the benefits of a Central London hotel whilst maintaining a peace and quiet that belies the hustle & bustle of the busy capital.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to have the pleasure of your company at the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night in an exec room but impressed with this chic hotel & its central location. Room small but well appointed with apple mac and free internet included. Exec lounge provided a nice breakfast in the morning with cooked English should you wish. Hotel rooms quiet at night which was great for a good night's sleep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Captain587,

Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your recent stay, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm delighted our location is suitable to your needs. We have often been described as an oasis of calm in London, as you get all the benefits of a Central London hotel without the hustle and bustle of the city that usually accompanies it.

Thank you once again for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in Oct 2013. Hotel is nice, modern & clean and is situated within walking distance to some of the main attractions in London such as Big Ben,Trafalgar Sq, Piccadilly Circus, etc. Only issue we had was the first room smelled of a bathroom/sewage. Front desk gave us a new room with vouchers for breakfast which was great. The other issue which is common throughout London are the rooms are pretty small, I guess we're used to the big, spacious hotel rooms across North America.

I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear marky_mark17,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It's a pleasure to hear from you, and to see that you enjoyed your visit with us.

I am sorry that you were initially checked into a room with an unpleasant smell, but I'm pleased that my colleagues resolved the problem swiftly and to your satisfaction. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience. The room in question has since been refurbished by our maintenance team and all is now in excellent order. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Other than this, I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A good quality hotel with modern spacious well equipped rooms. While slightly off centre, transport to the City is not far away. Staff are friendly and helpful should assistance be required. The hotel benefits from a quiet location. It's extremely convenient for the refurbished Tate Britain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear John W,

Many thanks for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster following your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to London.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved and our efforts kindly recognised by valued guests such as yourself. I have shared your kind comments with the team, and we are all very encouraged by your kind words.

Many thanks once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalmaggiore, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

very high level rate! a great trip, profitable and comfortable too, business oriented and human feeling direct. I advice people to try it because of several factors: centretown, peaceful, warm, convinient and more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Giancarlo B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities suitable to your needs.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Booked this weekend through tesco clubcard. Great hotel and service. Problem was when we went to book out on the Sunday morning. We had many emails confirming the booking when we paid over the phone but were then asked to pay the full amount !! We annoying for us and took a while for reception to find the confirmation on their system. Spoilt what was a great weekend . Emailed the hotel when we got home but to date have no apology from them !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear trevor j,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to share your views with the TripAdvisor community, and are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.

I am sorry that you experienced some difficulty during check-out regarding the use of your Tesco Vouchers. Your feedback is important to us as it highlights areas of our service in which we may serve you better, and I have forwarded your comments to our Front of Manager for training and quality purposes within the team. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust the rest of your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.