We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #217 of 1,074 Hotels in London
Barnoldswick
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for one night - check in quick and easy and was given a hot cookie as I was a returning guest. Noticed on my way in a lot of building work going on opposite to the hotel, was concerned about the noise, but once in my room it wasn't a issue.The room itself was fine - but I was unwell and just wanted a bath and bed - no bath just shower rang down to reception to ask to be moved and guess what no other room in the whole of the hotel with a bath was available, very disappointed, room service prices not to bad but in small print they charge £5 to the bill to deliver - joke! - since my last visit the mini bar has gone, and the ice station was on a different floor!
Breakfast was ok nothing to write home again - To be honest for the cost of this hotel it left a lot to be desired and won't be returning. Always have gone for the Hilton hotels maybe I need to look at the others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    1,371
    290
    100
    30
See reviews for
489
1672
217
691
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for one night in May, efficient check in, with nice touches for HHonors members. Located a mere 10 mins from Pimlico tube and a few minutes from the Tate, central but without all the noise that brings. Perfect for a quick get away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear jaysteruk,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It's a pleasure to welcome you, and we're very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you will visit us again in future. Thanks once again, and enjoy the rest of your week!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really liked this hotel. Very clean, very quiet and close to so many sites. We enjoyed the free breakfast, not just pastry, but eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Staff was pleasant and helpful too. The bed and pillows were most comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Doubletree Westminster is actually in Pimlico and about a mile away from Westminster. Having said that the location is quite nice but not in an area well served by pubs or restaurants and is also next to a building site.

Had some initial problems at check in but these were eventually sorted. I had a room on the 13th floor with a great view of the building site next door. The suite consisted of two small rooms which were furnished and decorated in a minimalistic style. There were two Apple TV’s but unfortunately only one worked. There was a free minibar but I wasn’t aware that it was free until I checked out as there was a price list in the minibar!

The room had a safe which was large enough to take a laptop and plenty of storage room. The bed was fine and the room was actually surprisingly quiet. The bathroom had a bath and a shower but I think baths are not in standard rooms.

Room service breakfast was pretty good and reasonably good value.

Overall a nice place for a London city break as long as you don’t mind the 15 minute walk to the nearest underground. Staff were pleasant and apart from the restaurant the service was pretty good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 13th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear AFrequentTraveller,

Thank you for your recent review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate your positive feedback, and are pleased to see that you generally enjoyed your stay.

I have noted your comments on the works taking place in the local area. London is a thriving city and rejuvenation is currently taking place all over the city; but when you arrive at the Hotel, we are an oasis of calm and all our staff are dedicated to ensuring that you have the most comfortable and quiet stay possible.

I am sorry that you were unable to get one of the iMacs in your room to work. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to resolve any technical issues at any time of day, so please feel free to utilise this service for future visits.

Thank you once again for your input. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future, and wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Ideal location. Staff so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choices. Room very clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, price and it was a memorable stay. Thankyou to all the staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and i are celebrating our 40th wed anniversary here and It is just perfect.
Location 10
Staff 10
Only point to make is no bath but a shower. But can live with that for another 2 days. We are on 9 th floor and the room is wonderful. Where else do you get an Imac and free web access.
Fridge and water replenished daily.
Thanks to staff here and may it continue until end of our city break
Maronnie54

Room Tip: Ask if possible for a high floor and odd number .919 was excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Doubletree with my partner in January for two nights; we arrived to a warm cookie each which was a nice touch. The staff that greeted us were polite, efficient and well mannered.

We found that the hotel was a little out of the way for our liking it was a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest tube station which isn't far admittedly but we have found it easier in the past being located nearer to the tube - to save time. However the benefit of this was that the hotel is in a quiet spot as it is tucked behind buildings, so the usual central London noise was minimal.

We had an Apple Mac in the bedroom which doubled as a TV, although it didn't work properly and we couldn't change the channel! A straight forward TV would have being sufficient? The hotel room was spacious and clean, there was nothing remarkable about it or anything wrong with it either, it was modernly decorated in natural tones.

Overall it was good value for money and we would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Reeny161081,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that you were unable to operate the iMac in your room. We have a Duty Manager on 24-hour call, so please bring such issues to attention on any future visits and we will be delighted to assist you, no matter the time of day.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in London
#143 Family Hotel in London
#158 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.