We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #215 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We only stayed one night. It is centrally located but on a quiet street. I would stay again next time we are in London. The charge for a cot was a bit high though! Restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    1,485
    325
    107
    31
See reviews for
528
1,763
223
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived early, and received a lovely welcome (with cookies) by the friendly Reception team. With an upgrade at a reasonable price, we had a City Suite on the top floor, with a view of the river; and our room was ready for us straight away. We have stayed in many London hotels, and we felt that the welcome we received here was the best we have experienced.

Our room was a good size, and free Internet was available.

On returning in the evening, we decided to have room service from the restaurant menu - at no extra charge. This was excellent, and once again delivered by a friendly and courteous member of staff. My only disappointment was the types of beers available. There are some lovely beers brewed in London, but there were only two beers available that night, and you could have bought those beers anywhere!

A reasonable choice at breakfast, but some of the cooked items were very dry - and the fried eggs were dreadful. There was no time to complain, as it was off to meetings. But the quality of food was completely different to the previous evening.

With the calibre of staff and the location, we will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider paying a supplement to get a suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear CalellaDePalafrugell,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We're delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, and are pleased you took the time to provide such detailed feed back regarding your time with us.

I have noted your comments about the quality of breakfast items during your stay and available beer brands, and have forwarded this to our Food & Beverage Maanger for action. Your honest feedback helps us improve our service, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future, and wish you a very pleasant day!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

super location. Most rooms nice and quiet although completely characterless. The lobby and views are impressive. The breakfast at £21 p/p is ridiculous. The staff were really charming but there was some difficulty with language and understanding the subtleties of their upgrading policy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A friend and i stayed here for two nights to participate in a charity walk. We managed to pay about £100 a night from booking in advance; which was a bargain as it had shot up to £200 a night on the day we were going. the hotel was lovely very clean and staff were great. i did have problems when i booked it a few months before where they said id pay on arrival then all of a sudden the money was taken out of my bank account, i wasn't impressed with how they dealt with my complaint. on arrival they were good, they extended our checkout time so we could get extra sleep after doing a walk of 26+ miles. There's a cafe in the hotel, although the prices of it are so high! don't have breakfast there there's a lovely cafe near by that does great breakfast. the Tate modern is not far either. so easy to get to the west end too.
i would stay here again, Im actually thinking of booking it again for a night in london. its best to book way in advance if you can to get the cheapest price.
the room it self was lovely. theres an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, imac tv/computer, tea/ coffee. the bathroom was lovely nice shower. very clean and a good size. the maids replaced towels the next day which was nice.

Room Tip: they have parking i think? ask them if your driving down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinge, Wigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A very modern and well presented hotel. Room was in good condition nice and quiet as requested when booking. Bathroom had a good powerful shower and usual bathroom amenities. internet and i mac keyboard and flat screen present in the room for free and good range of tv channels available. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and ice making facility available in the corridor. Did not use the hotel facilities so no comments on restaurant, fitness centre etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked using Hotels.com, overall good price. Not great views, but nice quiet rooms, and in a quiet part to get away from high tourist area. Everything was in walking distance (a longer walk, but worth it on a nice day). And I swear I need to find out what they put in those cookies, because those are all I want!

Room Tip: Great for Westminster area and being near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear MangoSlicePdx,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and love that you are a fan of our signature DoubleTree Cookies! These are available to take away in a customised DoubleTree Cookie Tin for a small fee, so please feel free to take advantage of this on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future. Thanks again, and enjoy the rest of your week!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for only one night, due to its convenient location, which is in my opinion its main positive aspect.
The recepton staff was corteous and professional and checked me in no time.
About the room, I was shocked: far away from what I experienced in the past, when staying in other Doubletrees. The room was small, with cheap and the minimal furniture. The bathroom was also very basic.
I went to the bar on the first floor before 10pm, looking for a bite, and although kitchen was supposed to close at 10pm, the staff refused to serve me food, claiming that the kitchen was already closed. I had instead a glass of wine, but couldn't avoid the feeling that I was annoying the staff...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear hazinheira,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am sorry to see that you were unable to dine in our Millbank Lounge. Your feedback is important to us, and I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager for action. He in turn has addressed his team and emphasised the importance of providing a friendly, flexible service at all times. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

I have noted your comments on room size; we have King City Suites which are significantly larger than the standard rooms and are available at a supplement to the regular room price.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back in future so that you can experience the full hospitality of Westminster DoubleTree. Please let us know when you plan to return, so that we may welcome you personally.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Family Hotel in London
#148 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#161 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.