We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but slightly pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #218 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel but slightly pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Standard Hilton hotel with generic non- offensive décor but we enjoyed it. Our room was upgraded by the hotel as there was a noisy party located on the ground floor (thank you - much appreciated). We received a warm welcome with a quick check in. Room was Clean, modest décor, spacious rooms and very comfortable (we had a great nights sleep). Quite a walk from Pimlico and Westminster tube station but you can catch a cab for a modest amount if making your way back to the hotel late at night. We opted out of the breakfast option as it was rather expensive. We found a number of good alterative breakfast places in and around the hotel for much less.

My husband and I will most defiantly be staying at the Hilton/Doubletree again if the deal/price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    1,447
    314
    107
    31
See reviews for
520
1,743
221
750
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This particular Doubletree location is in the right place to have access to London without the noise and rush of London life. It is located on the 88 bus line that takes you to Westminster Abbey or the Parliament building within five minutes. From there you can catch the Underground to anywhere. Westminster Abbey, Parliament, and Victoria Station are all about a 10-15 minute walk if you chose. There is construction around the hotel, but we never heard any noise and it doesn't interfere with your walk or bus trips. The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot as far as tips for getting around or ordering a taxi for early morning trips. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Honestly, we never heard anything going on around us. The Tate Britain Museum is on the same road, about one two minutes away. Overall, this was a fantastic trip (eight days) and the Doubletree was an excellent place to start our daily adventures. Oh, and the cookie upon arrival was a nice touch. We WILL use this hotel again for our next trip.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and is was super quiet. There was ZERO noise in our room...ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice enough hotel, but becoming a bit tired.I would rather TA would have the markings out off 10 rather than 5, as I would have given this hotel a 7 out of 10, I feel 3 out of 5 is too low and i dont think it was worth the 4 out of 5 I have given it.
We both felt our room could do with a lick of paint as the walls were a bit grubby, and also new bed linen which was supposed to be white, the sheet, duvet cover and pillow cases looked like they had been washed with a dark load. The duvet was also rather flat, and the towels were quite rough.
There is a computer in the room which doubles as a tv, the computer did'nt work very well as there is no mouse mat, I complained to reception and the guy told me to use the mouse on a bit off paper and it should work, well it worked a bit better but still not very well, we ended up using our phones for the internet as it was a lot easier. When i first saw the desk in the room I thought it was covered in dust, but it was marked, i think it may have been damaged with the sun.
The breakfast was very good we thought, good quality bacon and sausages, even though it was buffet style, the breakfast was piping hot which is'nt always the case.
The staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A quick check in at reception and a nice introduction to the hotel with a warm chocolate chip cookie. We upgraded our room which was in a quiet location although if you're planning to rest in the daytime you maybe disturbed by the extensive building works which are being undertaken both to the front and rear of the hotel but workmen finish at 5pm and only work a half day on Saturday.
The breakfast was an extensive hot and cold buffet but no option for special orders from the kitchen due to the busy nature. Service in the restaurant was a little slow.
Although the hotel met our expectations we're likely to stay elsewhere next time for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Warm cookies on welcome, brilliant! Room was a good size, had computer/tv with internet access, water, toiletries, clean and comfortable. Had lunch in the bar area, best club sandwich I've had, it was delicious. Could do with a slightly nearer tube station, but we had no problem walking to theatre near Victoria Station. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having stayed at a number of London hotels where the rooms resemble (small) shoeboxes, we were impressed by the modern decor and spacious rooms of this Westminster hotel. Good value on the weekends. Suite room on 12th floor was very comfortable with excellent bed and modern bathroom. Pleasant views over London, though there is a good deal of construction in the area at present. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Suite upgrade well priced and worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and there were not many 'tourists' staying at the time, most others were also on business judging by all the suits at breakfast!

The hotel is in an excellent location, minutes from the Tate Britain and a 10 minute stroll from the Houses of Parliament.

The room was ok but nothing special and the shower room was fairly small (I was also expecting a bath for the money). The shower itself was however very powerful which i liked. There was an Apple iMac in the room which was more of a novelty as I only used it to listen to the radio and watch tv!

Breakfast was nice and had everything you could want on offer including full English, toast, bread rolls, hams, cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and muffins.

Don't expect much if you are planning to use the fitness suite. Although it has several running machines, rowers and cross trainers, the free weights and weight machines were somewhat lacking.

I would stay at this hotel again on business but would definitely stay elsewhere if I was planning to visit London as a tourist. I am probably being generous giving this hotel 4 stars and would given 3.5 if I could.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Business Hotel in London
#140 Family Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.