We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 1,073 hotels in London
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overnight business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, very central location, useful for Houses of Parliament and London Eye. The rooms are comfortable with everything you need. The restaurant has excellent food with very good service and a nice wine list. Lovely buffet breakfast but no yogurts were available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,895
    1,304
    266
    89
    28
See reviews for
449
1603
209
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to be a very regular guest at the City Inn/Mint Hotel at Westminster and I decided to stay recently now it has switched to Hilton.

We were a party of six and had booked and paid in advance. I had a suite which was very comfortable and clean as, indeed, we're all rooms which had river views as requested. Service at reception, the bar/lounge and breakfast was very good and eggs were prepared at my request to my liking.

The hotel is smart and, as we were visiting Tate Britain and the South Bank, very conveniently located. Food and drink was enjoyable. Excellent atmosphere.

The hotel has long been a favourite of mine and so I wondered if it would be as good as a Hilton which in my experience are very inconsistent. Happily, they have largely left well alone and much of hat was already excellent about this hotel still remains. However, the mini bar is now disappointing in comparison to Mint Hotel days with much more limited range and variety as is the fact that breakfast is now fully buffet style complete with sloppy scrambled eggs and the chore of making your own toast! There is a good range of food at breakfast though, individual requests are acted upon and everything else we ate was delicious.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear sally-ann61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent DoubleTree Westminster experience. It is a pleasure indeed to wecome you back, and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to have the pleasure of your company at Westminster again in the near future!

Kind regards,

DolaO
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was booked this hotel as a christmas gift as it was fairly close to the theatre at Victoria. The hotel was excellent and the facilities as you would expect from this top class hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful and we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: As our visit was pre-booked by someone else as part of a Theatre/Hotel gift we cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Doubletree - Westminster and our only wish is that we could have stayed longer. It was truly a pleasure to stay here. The hotel is only a few blocks north of Lambeth Bridge in a quiet, upscale area. It is almost next door to the Tate Britain and is near the Home Office, Westminster Abbey, Parliament and many other government buildings, both UK and foreign. During our stay, the staff was exceptionally well-trained, courteous and helpful. The entire hotel was very clean from top to bottom. Our room on the 10th floor included a safe, mini-fridge, upgraded toiletries and towels, an iMac which doubled as a TV, a very comfortable mattress and pillows, and a slightly-oversized chair for reading. Although our windows did not face the Thames and 2 mid-rise office buildings were under construction almost directly across the street, the views were inspiring nonetheless. The breakfast buffet in the hotel was excellent every morning and offered more items that we could possibly have sampled. There were always a few cabs ready at the front door which we could use if we were running late. Nearby, there was also a Barclay's-sponsored bicycle rental station (UK L1 or US 1.60 per hour) for touring the area, especially the nearby Victoria Embankment along the Thames. As other reviewers have stated, the location of the hotel is convenient to both Waterloo and Victoria train stations as well as the Pimlico and Westminster Tube stations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear WorldwidetravelerUsa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate your kind comments, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have shared your kind comments with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company at Westminster again in the not too distant future. Thank you once again!

Kind regards,

DolaO
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in this hotel using our KLM airmiles as payment. The hotel is located in a very quiet residential area about 10 mins walk from Pimlico tube and about 15 mins walk from Wesminster tube. The hotel room was on the ninth floor at the back of the hotel and although the view from the window was only of the rest of the hotel, it forms a square, it was very private and quiet which is what we prefer. The room had an apple mac computer/tv which was very handy for weather updates, there was a lot of snow , and for finding local restaurants etc. All the facilities in the room were very good with all the usual toiletries provided, a fridge, hair drier, iron and ironing board, coffee/tea and complimentary water everyday etc. The room size was adequate but the bathroom was small with an excellent shower but no bath.

The reception staff of the hotel were friendly and polite. We did not use the restaurant or bar as it was expensive and lacking atmosphere. Breakfast at £22 per head was ridiculous when you could get a very good breakfast close by for £6.25.

There are not many restaurants within close walking distance but there are a few good ones which are inexpensive. The Barley Mow Pub, 5 mins walk, is great for a bar meal and has a good atmosphere whilst the Firecracker Chinese Restaurant, even closer, is also an excellent place to eat...........really nice ambience and nice people. There is a also a very good Italian restaurant called, I think, the Austerity..the hotel staff know this restaurant.

All in all we thought the hotel was in a great location close to Big Ben , Westminster Abbey, Whiteall etc but out of the way so at the end of the day you could leave the hustle and bustle of London City Centre behind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in January. The location is great, easy 10 min walk to either Pimlico or Westminster underground stations. Even more convenient was the number 88 bus that stopped just by the hotel and was a 24 hour service, the route went through Trafalgar square, Regent street and ended up in Camden.

We were greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie.......that's my sort of check in! The rooms are nicely decorated and have Mac computers. The bed could have been a bit bigger. Overall great value for money, I booked via Hotwire. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor, you might by lucky and get a river view overlooking the MI6 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I struggled with explanations offered by the staff on reception over what happened with the deposit money and the money paid for the upgrade. I'm English.

This conversation also lead to the shift supervisor revealing the price of the room to my girlfriend, which dissapointed me as it was part of her Christmas present.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#133 Business Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.