We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, okay location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 1,073 hotels in London
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel, okay location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel itself is adequate -- a couple restaurants, limited room service, free wifi (somewhat slow). The rooms are kinda small, but meet all your basic needs and are clean. They also provide you with a mini bottle of water each night which is nice. I did get charged for making a local call -- only 25 cents but I guess it's something to be aware of.

However, my husband and I found it to be a little far. It's about a one mile walk up to Wesminster Abbey/Parliament area... which is also where the closest metro stop can be found. So as long as you are prepared to do a bit of walking then you have found a great hotel! The hotel is also a little hard to find as it is in a "business" area -- there are also very few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,902
    1,306
    267
    91
    28
See reviews for
449
1602
208
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CarlyMurray
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We thought this hotel was incredibly good value for the location - a short journey on the Victoria line from KX & 5 mins walk from Pimlico tube. Public areas of hotel we're modern & well kept. Service was great and taxi rank outside the hotel was a real bonus. However the terrible nights sleep let it down the bed was ROCK SOLID and the room was so noisy we were at the end of a corridor so thought it might b quieter by there were doors slamming all night! There was also a load noise coming from the plumbing which sounded like someone was constantly running a bath!!! So unfortunately not the greatest experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very welcoming staff on reception, bar staff very helpful and breakfast was great, I only stayed me night, but all in excellent. There was an Apple Mac in my room, which was brilliant, the bathroom was small bet Bert clean and adequate. Location was a bit far out....but no trouble.

Room Tip: My room had an Apple Mac which was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I used to use this hotel all the time when it was the City Inn & it really was excellent. The for some reason the owners decided to change the name to Mint & then it was taken over by Hilton. During this period standards really did slip, I'm happy to say however that they appear to be back on track as this stay was faultless.

The polite & professional reception staff checked me in quickly, offering newspapers, wake up call & assistance with my bags - oh & a chocolate cookie... My room was spotlessly clean & the air conditioning worked well without being too noisy. The bed was comfortable & the pillows were firm which is just how I like it so I had a decent nights sleep. No bath but a decent shower with quality toiletries provided.

Would definitely use again - perfect for the solo traveller IMO.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

By London standards, we had a spacious room. Everything was clean and bright and contemporary. And it was very convenient to both sites and public tranportation. The only complaint was the Apple TV. The front desk brought up four remotes when we called to state that ours was missing. Only one of the four functioned and then only sporadically. The staff's response made it appear that this was an ongoing issue for them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at the hotel midweek and thought it was excellent! Only downfalls were no bath in the room and the rooftop bar is only for private parties not a bar as we thought. Apart from that great location and very clean. Like I said almost excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was previously a City Inn, the brand that changed its name to Mint and was then bought by Hilton to market as Doubletree. All City Inn/Mint hotels in other UK cities and including this one, that I have previously stayed in have always provided excellent quality and value for money. The hotel is brilliantly located for tourist attractions in Westminster and the South Bank. The hotel offers parking but on bank holidays when I usually stay, it is possible to park in the street for free until early the next day. It is a 10 minute walk to either Westminster tube for the Circle/District line or Pimlico tube for the Victoria line. Westminster itself doesn't have a whole heap of restaurants/bars but with a short walk or tube journey, you'll get exactly what you want. Its really convenient for the clubs and bars of Vauxhall, just a short walk over Vauxhall bridge. Not sure about the hotel restaurant at other times, but breakfast is fine. Good quality a la carte and buffet. Hotel rates are often much cheaper than other nearby hotels. Rates can be as low as £99, which for a London hotel that is not a budget brand, I think is brilliant! You can easily pay much more than this for a Premier Inn room and this is much more comfortable. Reception staff are usually quick, friendly and professional. Standard rooms aren't huge but are comfortable in a neutral style, with light wooden furniture, Apple iMacs, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing boards and good beds! They are not newly refurbished, I think the hotel must have been built some time in early 2000's, but are by no means on their last legs either and have been kept well. Bathrooms are basic, clean, small and functional with a just a good quality shower, no bath and The White Room toiletries as well, which are lovely!! I hope Hilton don't get rid of these, as these were a City Inn/Mint touch! The next room grade up gives you a larger room and I had good city views, so these rooms are lots better. I got a larger room complimetary by having the Hilton Honors card, so worth flashing it if you have had some previous Hilton stays. These rooms are perhaps not worth the extra if you have to pay for it and staying just for a night out, but for a longer stay, definitely a plus. Never was upgraded when it was the CIty Inn/Mint despite having stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions. Definitely recommend. Go for it, if the location is right for you, don't want to break the bank but still want a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with good city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Camden / Primrose Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
City Center, Ch...
Show More
London Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#126 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Family Hotel in London
#131 Business Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Our own attractions are impressive, too: Enjoy innovative, modern-European cuisine at our Award-Winning City Café offers fresh, seasonal, imaginative menus and a separate terrace for stylish al fresco dining. Enjoy a drink and more at the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of Millbank Lounge, and the on-top-of-the-world feeling of the Skylounge for a rendezvous with a view. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like an Apple iMac and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late night room service, state-of-the-art meeting facilities and private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London - Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel London - Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.