We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Cheap, Cheap!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #708 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheap, Cheap, Cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you have a jammed packed schedule and literally want somewhere to rest your head you can't go too wrong. I paid £60 for a single room with shower and sink (no toilet.) It was clean and had everything I needed in it for a night stop over. I was nervous about the shared toilet however it was very clean at ALL times, if very small! The breakfast was good for the price of the room and the dining hall was immaculately clean and presented nicely.
The hotel overlooks a classic London square, a nice view except for during my stay it was nice weather and the local street drinkers conducted a leisurely afternoon which they did not interrupt with trips to the loo (why would you it seems when you can wee in the gardens!) Late at night the street/square filled with young adults who were not particularly obnoxious but were just noisy by their sheer volume. This noise went on until past 1 am.
The hotels walls are thin and you can hear your 'neighbours' however during my stay the people in the hotel were all very quiet and I only heard noise at reasonable times.
If you are looking for somewhere cheap to rest your head it's an OK bet... Just tire yourself out in London and you will sleep like a log!

Oh and before I forget on the plus they had tea milk and tea bags for 5 cuppas.... not bad for a single room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    114
    129
    64
    39
See reviews for
59
119
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Customer service is Soviet style.

Location is good, but street/park outside frequented by aggressive drug dealers. Other guests in hotel are drunk and loud. Doors banging all night. Shared toilet is horrid. Beds are child size and not full length. No mattress protector. One rubbish pillow which had to fold in half. Shower in the room makes room damp and shower smells. No shower gel. Nowhere to hang wet towel. Gum all over room carpet. Room stank.

Breakfast was disgusting.

Tip: book earlier and stay at the nearby Crescent Hotel in Cartwright Gardens. Amazing what difference you get for same price just gets booked out too quick)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

First off, its cheap! So I'm writing based on that. I booked a twin room with shower at 24 hours notice for 65 quid - in a quiet square near Kings Cross, I think that's a pretty good price. I had B4, so down in the basement. Decent size to be fair - I've stayed in smaller rooms in more expensive places! Shower and sink in room but no loo - up 1 flight of stairs. So not ideal. To be honest for 65 quid I wasn't grumbling but would have given 5 stars for a loo in the room. Room was clean and tidy, bed fairly comfortable and there was a spare pillow if you needed it.

Quiet apart from the lack of noise isolation from other rooms - I could hear footsteps upstairs occasionally and woke up to upstairs (or next door, not sure) using the shower or running water in the sink or something. Otherwise no real complaints - was cheap, I slept ok, and it was clean. And the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water, although for a 6 ft chap like me it was a bit cramped. Just as well I'm not overweight!

Great location 3 minutes walk from Kings Cross. Ideal for a cheap bed for the night, which is all I needed. More than 1 night, I'd go a bit more plush.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are 4 ppl with big luggages and I saw the bad review about room in the basement. So when I booked the room, I ask for the room that's not at the basement, and ask for quiet room. When i arrive the hotel.. I have a big surprise becos they put us into the basement room, street-side noisy all time. Exactly the contrary of what i asked for.. All of us are disappointed and hopeless. The room at the basement that i mention here is room number 3, it's the worst room of this hotel. From this room u can here every single things which take place on the street, the room above u, ppl eating in breakfast room. Even exhausted traveler like me, still found difficulty to sleep peacefully all night. It's very budget price for good location but for me.. it's my worst mistake. Destroy good atmosphere in London every time we came back and sleep. Unfortunately we booked for a whole trip which is 3 nights. After we complain about the room. They change the room for us but at the 3rd night. first 2 night was a nightmare in London. Finally last night we can really sleep in the room number 4. The wifi is poor quality. Anyway the breakfast was rich and great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a family room in the BASEMENT of a tired old building with far too many doors. Staff spoke awful english. Breakfast 7-9am on the weekends?? Dirty room. Great location. £140 I paid and feel completely ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

2 minutes walk from kings cross. £65 for a double room overlooking argyle square with breakfast included. Very friendly staff. If you want luxury you'll need to go elsewhere but if you want a very convenient, friendly place to stay you can't go wrong

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We did not pay a great deal for our 1 night stay. I booked online and thought that the room included a basic ensuite but I think this is a fault with the websites advertising this hotel and not the hotel itself. Our room (G6) was a double room with a TV with a freeview box, tea making facilities and a bathroom style sink. The toilets and showers were shared between 3 rooms and located very close by. I concidered our rooms to be clean & secure but basic - just what we required. The hotels decor is worn and dated but the staff very helpfull and pleasant. We enjoyed a good nights sleep in comfortable beds. When my friend and I went for breakfast it was busy and we joined a table of 6 which already had 4 people sat down for breakfast. The people we joined for breakfast were very pleasant and we enjoyed their company. The breakfast was delightful! Full english breakfast buffet cooked lovely - (I think this was the reason why the breakfast room was so busy as people were tucking into seconds. Also I noted that the toilets and shower were cleaned often. If you are on a budget this is a decent hotel. I have paid slightly more for better in this area but you get what you pay for. I left this hotel feeling very happy that we got value for money. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: 16 - 18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #708 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London
Hotel Montana London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.