We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for eurostar stop over.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #702 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect for eurostar stop over.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

we stayed at the hotel for one night between our train and eurostar journey. Very quick and easy toget to from Kings Cross tube station and 24hr check in for our late arrival. room small and clean with just a shower. Shower in room with just a curtain so not so great if you are travelling with someone you are not that familiar with! toilet about two doors down which was fine. Tea, coffee and tv in room. Did not make breakfast asleft too early. Perfect hotel if you just need a couple of hours sleep at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    113
    129
    63
    39
See reviews for
57
119
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My partner booked us into this hotel when we stayed in 2010...the receptionists were fairly friendly...it was a lot smaller than i had imagined but it was cosy. The rooms only had a shower in the corner. The toilet was in the corridoor outside for eveyone to share, which id never experienced before so that was different. Been 8 month pregnant the toilet was visited a lot during the night so a lot of people must have seen me in my wacky pjs ....there appeared to be a lot of students staying so it was a bit noisy at times. The rooms were fairly small too.
The location of the hotel was near euston and kings cross station and a ten min walk from oxford street. So if you are planning to go for a shopping hol it is ideal.
The breakfast was pleasent. nice variety of cereal and a nice little buffet of full breakfast items.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!!!We got the basement room, no natural light, very hot and stuffy, bathroom was good size but massive window which was onlooked by other rooms in hotel. We were woken up many a time throughout the night by people running up an down stairs and also woken very early as room was next to breakfast room.

Breakfast was basic which is fine but was not enough for all guests. It is over priced for what it is. Staff on front desk were lovely and helpful, but we would NEVER stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Arrived around 20:30 and left at 06:00. Ok for one night. wouldn't recommend it for more than that. Location is perfect for the train station. Shared toilets should be a thing of the past in London, price a bit steep for what you get. Rooms had a stale smell as if somebody had been smoking in there and they provide a kettle and teabags but no cups.
As I said its ok for one night if you have an early train to catch, but if visiting London for a few days I would go else where.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver British Columbia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel has an excellent location. It is on a quiet street with a park across the street where my kids played. It is a block from the Kings Cross tube station and just across the street from that is the St Pancras station where we caught the train to Calais. The neighbourhood is full of little restaurants and other convenient shops. The hotel has a nice breakfast. The room was tiny but we had a window looking out on the street. The price was reasonable for London. This hotel is not to be mistaken for another hotel in London called the Montana, a 5 star hotel. Somehow I got to that hotel's website when I was looking up information just before leaving for London. When I got to the Montana Excel I asked, "Where is the swimming pool?"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

An ok hotel for one night and low price for central London.

Good bits
* 24 check in - good for us as we arrived late and left at 6am for Eurostar (too early for breakfast)
* Location - ideal for catching the Eurostar
* Clean room, toilet (shared) and shower
* Not too noisy - not on the main road though you are in central London so it's never completely quiet
* First floor room - large window

Not so great
* The big let down was the matress which was really poor quality and needed replacing. There were several uncomfortable springs sticking up.
* Towels / bedding were very tired and although clean were ripped in some places
* Shower in room was not lit - a small cubicle in the corner of the room with no separate lighting so when the shower curtain is drawn you shower in semi darkness.

As long as you don't go expecting much you won't be dissappointed, at the end of the day you get what you pay for and this hotel was ~30% cheaper than the others I looked at in the area. If you are planning on spending very little time at the hotel it certainly does the job as a place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Booked a room for four people for three nights and paid 345 British Pounds, little more pricey than we wanted to pay for pretty good for London. Room was alright, it was in the basement so therefore it felt damp and we were right across from the breakfast room which was alright for going for breakfast but not good because the walls are not sound proof so we were woken up early from people going to eat. Breakfast was only from 0700 until 0900, which we thought was too short but oh well.
There was only a tub in the bathroom, no shower. Not a problem for us but maybe others.
The hotel is really close to King's Cross/St. Pancras station which is very handy and also only a 40 minute walk from Baker Street if you take a bus from the airport to city centre.
I would stay here again because London is hard to find decent/affordable hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: 16 - 18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #702 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London
Hotel Montana London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.