We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and truly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgian House

Save Saved
You added Georgian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgian House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 - 39 St George's Drive, London SW1V 4DG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct for 10% off!
Ranked #64 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Huelva, Spain
1 review
“Excellent location and truly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Their really helpful and welcoming staff, cleanliness of the rooms and perfect location more than compensated for the fact that our room was quite small and the bathroom tiny. Beds were really comfortable which should be a priority for any traveller I believe.

Room Tip: Ask to be sent photos and size of the room where you are going to stay, that way you know what to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay.

In regards to the room sizes, we can provide a room more suitable to your preferences if told beforehand, so we encourage guests to tell us what they want exactly in a room when booking. Of course room depends on availability. :)

Thanks anyways for your review and we do hope to see you again!

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    318
    122
    47
    42
See reviews for
203
120
61
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel last October for a two night family theatre break, and we were so pleased with our overall experience that we have recently returned from our second stay at the Georgian House. We visited for four nights this time, and although we had to change rooms during our visit, as we had left our booking rather late, they still managed to accommodate us and made changing rooms very easy, as they just moved all of our luggage to the new rooms for us, meaning that we could just continue to enjoy our holiday to the full.
All of the rooms were good, clean and the ensuites were once again spotless. The breakfasts were just as good as we remembered them from last October, and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We will certainly stay at this hotel again when we next return to London for all of the above reasons, plus its excellent location for sightseeing in the capital, and we have already recommended it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for this review as we always appreciate feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are also glad that our service met your expectations! We always strive to deliver excellent service so that our customers feel at home. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast.

Thanks again for this review and we hope to see you again!

Please take note that you will always receive the best deals when you book directly with us.

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Georgian House for 5 nights in August in a family room. Although we paid for an upgraded room (Belgravia), I do not believe that this is the accomodations that we were given. I can appreciate that the size of the hotel rooms are different than hotels in North America. However, our "upgraded "family room was very small and hot. Despite several requests, we did not receive a fan that worked until our last night. We did like the fact that we had a safe in our room. The breakfast was included in our rate and it was satisfactory. The location of the hotel is convenient to the Victoria Coach, Rail and Tube stations.

Room Tip: If you book directly with the hotel, the breakfast is included in the rate. Apparently some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, and you are right you get the best deals when you book directly with us! Which also means breakfast included.

Sorry about the room situation and the fact that it is hot, we usually provide fans to guests ASAP but that also depends on availability.

Thanks again for this review and we do hope you will stay with us again!

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Georgian House is a friendly, well-located hotel. We have stayed here several times. It is situated around a couple of corners from Victoria Station, theaters, and a large shopping and eating area in a "neighborhood". The employees are very nice and accommodating. The breakfast is made to order and is excellent! The bathrooms are clean and nice. Things to consider - There are no elevators, and they have MANY stairs. Our group was prepared for this, but if you have health issues, or can't climb stairs, ask for a room on the level with the entrance. The entrance, however, does have stairs to go inside. Also, although we had never had this experience here before, our rooms were extremely HOT. Our chocolate from Belgium made it through trains, subways, under buses, but was totally melted sitting in our room on our stay (See my chocolate bar picture when I picked it up). We are from Texas, so we are used to very HOT weather, but fans were not available for many of the 38 people that were in our group (thus, the service quality not a 5). Fans should have been provided in each room.The fans were "first come, first serve". We heard one person say they had two fans and were soooo hot, where we had many in our group that did not have one. Other than the heat, it is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for this lovely and detailed review.

Yes, we always do our best to accommodate our guests, and yes, our place is definitely in a nice location.

We are sorry about the temperature situation as we only have a certain amount of fans and do not have air-conditioning. We will find a way somehow to rectify this in order to provide guests with a more comfortable stay during this hot season. In the meantime, we suggest guests to bring a fan or keep their windows open.

Anyways thanks again for this review.

Please take note that you will always receive the best deals when you book directly with us.

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Georgian House Hotel for around 2 weeks, and it was absolutely enjoyable. The highlight would have to be the people, may it be the helpful receptionists, friendly porters or cheerful breakfast staff. Also to mention, there was a wide range of breakfast choices, including freshly made breakfast that were of a great standard.

Rooms were clean and new, and the 5-10 minute walk to Victoria Station proves extremely convenient.

We would really like to thank all the staff members once again, especially Jo and Chris, porters who have gladly moved our luggages around the hotel multiple times, and Mercedes, for her heartwarming greetings every morning during breakfast.

If we were to be back in London, we would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for this kind and lovely review! :)

We are all happy to know that the staff was accommodating and helpful to you! Yes Jo and Chris are excellent as well, aren't they? Well we all make sure that we make our guests feel as comfortable as we can.

We are also very happy to hear that you plan on staying with us again!

Thanks again for this review and we do hope to see you soon!

Please take note that you will always receive the best deals when you book directly with us.

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very good overall stay. After taking ages looking through the internet finding somewhere reasonable and decent looking I was getting a bit frustrated with the lack of nice places at reasonable prices. so I wasn't quite sure what to expect when turning up. I was very pleasantly surprised, front of hotel lovely, inside lovely, sophisticated and welcoming. the staff were always smiley, friendly and helpful too. The room: I stayed here for two nights with two teenage boys in one of their standard triple rooms (£329). All in all, no complaints other than it being a little stuffy and hot being on the fourth floor (no lift, but good excercise!), but a fan in the room helped a lot. Room was clean, tidy and more than adequate for our stay. My only gripe was that breakfast was not included as we booked through booking.com, which if you had breakfast basically wiped out any discount you might get from this site. If I stayed in future I would book direct with them as this way it is included. Breakfast is lovely by the way (I had continental), lovely fresh dining room and plenty to eat with good service. All in all from my personal experience in the room I had (56), I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your detailed review.

Breakfast will be included when you book directly with us! :)

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A really brilliant independent hotel which offers good value in a decent location for this side of London. We stayed just one night on a theatre break and would not hesitate in coming back in the future. Lovely, helpful staff, great breakfast, reasonably quiet location for London and only 15/20 minute walk to Buckingham Palace.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room which was nice and quiet, although with no lift some folk might find the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WazirAziz88, Public Relations Manager at Georgian House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy to know that you would stay with us again!

P.S. You will always receive the best deals when you book directly with us!

Happy Regards,

Wazir Aziz
The Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House

Address: 35 - 39 St George's Drive, London SW1V 4DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgian House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel, just 600m from Victoria Station in the centre of London. Built in 1851, the hotel is still run by the original family. Renovated between 2007-2010 the hotel offers modern facilities and comforts like hairdryers, tea and coffee tray, and free internet, but still with the beauty and character of the original building. There is a strong emphasis on comfort and warm service. The complex consists of 2 buildings with 24 hour reception in the main building. A freshly prepared full English breakfast, using top quality ingredients, is available daily in the courtyard breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel London
Georgian House Hotel
Georgian House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.