We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So easy to get to and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London Stratford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #441 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So easy to get to and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My first trip to London, we were going to see a concert in the O2 and i found it impossible to find any hotels on this that would be recommended for this purpose. I can reassure anybody who is going to see a concert in the O2 this hotel is perfect. It is less than 10 minutes on the tube to Northern Greenwich which is where the O2 is located. It is on the opposite side of the city so you wont be waiting for ages to get on the crowded tube when concerts are on.

The Inn itself is lovely, clean, comfortable and the staff are very friendly. There is FREE wifi in the Inn which was a brilliant bonus because most places charge you.The breakfast is FREE, which is a great bonus and you also get the choice of a continental or hot breakfast. I don't know of any other place I have stayed that would offer you a free hot breakfast. Ok its not the full Irish but a breakfast is a breakfast and it fills you until lunch what more could you ask for.

The rooms were clean and tidy, ok they are basic but a hotel room is a hotel room all you want is a nice comfy bed, a warm room and a hot shower and this place has all of that.

To get to the Holiday Inn is very easy you can go on the central or jubilee line directly to Stratford. If coming from Gatwick Airport like I was the train takes 20-25 mins to London Bridge and there you switch to the Jubilee line and it takes another 20-25 mins to get to Stratford and the Inn is a 5 min walk around the corner.

There is a massive shopping centre 5 min walk from the Inn, beside the tube station which was a massive bonus for me I love shopping :) Im guessing over 200 shops I couldn't go around to them all I didn't have the time, but all the big names you would expect to see in any shopping centre. Loads of choices for different meals everything you would want under one roof.

This Inn was perfect and as it was our first trip to London we didn't have a clue where anything was. We will definatly be staying here again any time we visit London. It so easy to access

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors and at the back has a nice view of the Olympic Grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Stratford and thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I agree with you that hotel is in perfect location for visiting O2 Arena. It is a good point you have made regarding no crowds when getting back to hotel after the concert.
Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    255
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
112
124
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here with my 9yr old twins for a family get together, I was paying for my niece's room, which was no problem even though they had not arrived yet. We went out for a meal nearby, and returned for drinks in the lobby bar. My children were quite loud and boisterous, but again no problem to the ever smiling receptionist. The rooms were spotless, plenty of space for four of us in a double with sofa bed, bathroom gleaming and everything you could need was available, including cartoons on tv for the kids. Breakfast was plentiful, with hot and cold buffet options available and a never ending supply of coffee (handy for the hangovers). The location was ideal, close to Stratford International, and of course, the splendid Westfield! All in all, a value for money hotel that I recommend.

Room Tip: If looking for somewhere nearby to eat, go to Dar Marrakesh, great food and great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel location is very good for the city center and the stadium. The rooms were nice spacious and clean and the breakfast really "British" scrambled eggs with sausage beans and much more!!! Nice decor in modern style! advised

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Stratford and thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place was ok, kind of far from central London (about an hour by bus, or 30-40 mins by train). We were able to get a train straight there (with one change) from Heathrow and to Gatwick airports. We were put in a disabled room, which was fine, but it smelled a little bit like urine, and it had dangling cords everywhere, which (naturally) I pulled and set off an alarm.
Its probably a 5-10 min walk from stratford underground station, and there is also a bus right outside the from door that goes to the city.
Buffet breakfast was one of the highlights of the hotel, and what was even better was that you can take it back to your room.
Not romantic, or fancy, or modern but definitely does the job.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a normal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not fully meet your expectations. All our guests’ comments are highly appreciated and it will definitely help us to improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and we do hope you will give another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

While usually avoiding chain hotels, this was a comfortable exception, booked by my friend.

Handy location from Standsted, only 5 min walk from the bus stop. Hotel is basic, but spotless, with a kind service. Versatile breakfast. Price-ratio very good for LDN.

Westfield, big shopping centre is place for a shopaholics. Also intresting Moroccon&Lebanese restaurant nearby. Underground to the Oxford street takes around 20min.

Plus; they said that children under 16 stay for free!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Stratford. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we fulfilled your expectations. I agree with you that the hotel is conveniently located for travel to and from Stansted Airport particularly with the 24 hour direct link coach stop only a five minute walk away. The transport links to central London and other key attractions are fantastic as well!

We look forward welcoming your friends and you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For the room charge we paid - couldn't fault this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice sized room with lovely crisp linen and towels, not a spec of dust. We were on the high street side but we slept really well and the traffic noise did not affect us. Lots of choice at breakfast, ok only a limited amount of hot food but was constantly being replenished. Well done HI Stratford - made us very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want a reasonably priced room in this area of London, this is not bad at all. The rooms are fairly spacious and the hotel is well maintained. The bathroom only has a shower and an all purpose soap/shampoo/body wash dispenser. But the towels are large and thick! I've had a lot worse in smarter more expensive places. Breakfast is ok but you eat it in a canteen atmosphere, some of us had to virtually sit in reception. If you need to be here on business this is fine and only 6-7 minutes walk from the Westfield centre with restaurants and shopping

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#357 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.