We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart stay for central London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London Stratford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #462 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Smart stay for central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

As finding availability in central London hotels requires more advance booking, this Holiday Inn Express in Stratford - home of the London 2012 Olympics - is a smart alternative for one night stays on business in the capital. Only about half an hour from north London rail terminus stations by tube and about the same on Jubilee line to Waterloo, Stratford is well connected yet quieter and with better availability. Usual Holiday Inn offering which works for nomadic business travellers in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Tripadvisor and the great scores on Value, Sleep Quality and Cleanliness.

We looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    227
    99
    32
    15
See reviews for
101
110
26
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for a week with the family and experienced good service by the hotel staff. Breakfast was good and they have got nice menu for Lunch and DInner as well. Super convenient for linking to other locations in London through the Stratford station and Startford High Street DLR. Westfield Mall and Stratford Centre in the vicinity are additional positive points.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are quiter with a view of the Olympic stadium from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We strive to give a great and impressive service to all our guests and it makes us happy to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Near stratford tube station and obviously aimed at the olympics park for location. Hotel room was modern, albeit cold. Staff were friendly and basic breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Stratford. I do apologize for the discomfort you experienced due to cold room temperature. We are grateful for you bringing this to our attention and we hope this will not deter you for using our hotel again.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wife and I stayed there for weekend in London. Hotel clean and tidy. Very quiet inside despite busy main road outside. Parking is a bit of an issue, but then I suppose this is the London way ........!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing experience at Holiday Inn Express Stratford. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward welcome you back again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending an event at the Excel. It's well placed for this as it's an easy run down the DLR to the Excel and isn't as expensive as some of the hotels in the immediate vicinity of the exhibition centre. I enter London through Kings Cross station and it was a pretty straight forward tube journey from here to Stratford (one change if I recall correctly).

The staff I dealt with were pleasant, the room was fine and the bathroom clean which are the main things I look for. I didn't eat here but on arriving back at the hotel after they had stopped serving food they seemed happy to help other guests arrange takeaway meals.

The only thing I mark the hotel down on is the breakfast, it's nice to see it included in the price (so many of these hotels charge extra for it) but it was horrid. Scrambled eggs weren't nice, beans cold and sausages indifferent. Still, I didn't visit for the food so was still fairly happy with my stay.

Room Tip: As per other advice on this site I requested a high floor, rear facing room. I only got the high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Holiday Inn Express Stratford and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. However I would like to express our sincere apologies that the breakfast service was a let down. We truly value you experience shared as it gives us an opportunity to improve. We will address your comments to F&B department and I sincerely hope when you return you will see improvements made.

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the holidays.
There was little decoration going on, except a xmas tree hanging from the ceiling (yes hanging).

The hotel seems to be clean, no stains visible, or dirty carpet. The staff did a little bit trouble for letting us ( my family with 2 children, total 10 persons ) sleep on the same floor. We had a handicap room, this is a big room to stay in, but i would prefer to stay in a 'normal' room because we did not had a normal shower, not a cabine or something, but the whole badroom was the shower. Not so enjoyable to stay in. And also, the room had a verry bad smell, there was clearly something wrong with the drains, did not understand that the maids didnt smell it.

The room had all the basics, tv, koffie and thee.

The breakfast was not bad, simpel and basic, little bit tired of it after 4 days. The fruit on the other hand was not oke.

Would not immediately go back, but if you have no choice, it woudnt be the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We are sorry to hear we did not fulfill your expectations. However, we highly appreciate your comments which will help us to improve.
We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express, Stratford was built in time for the London 2012 Olympics, so still has a clean, tidy appearance.

My friend, visiting from the USA, and I booked a twin bed room and were lucky enough to be placed on the 5th floor at the back, looking onto the Olympic Stadium. TIP: On check in try and ask for a 'rear room' as these look onto the park (slightly obscured by a building) and then cuts down on the traffic noise from Stratford High Street.

The breakfast was a typical continental/full English buffet, included in the price. However on the Sunday morning the staff were a bit lapse in ensuring there was enough cutlery and one of the two toasters didn't work.

Otherwise, a very nice hotel. Only picked it as it was cheap but I'm glad I did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and leaving a feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the views from your room!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.